We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandpiper Inn
Save
You added Sandpiper Inn to your Saves list
1 Beach | Costa Rica, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
San Clemente
2 reviews
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Best spot in Costa Rica by far! It was my fifth time to Costa Rica and my second time to Playa Hermosa. I have stayed at a couple of the other hotels in the area and was complete unsatisfied. This was my wife's first time in Costa and i wanted to make sure she had a comfortable, relaxing, and memorable time. Greg the owner treated us like family from beginning to end. The restaurant on property was amazing with everything made from scratch. I got to surf twice a day while my girl lounged on the beach and read her book's and magazine's in the sun. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to enjoy some true Pura Vida.

Room Tip: Any room is just step from the beautiful black sand beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I had one of the best vacations ever, after being dissapointed with your pick of a hotel in Esterillos Este. We called a friend that was at the Sandpiper, and asked if there was a room. And for your luck,line phone was dead so Greg(the owner) hadn't recieved reservations.
So there we were, in the most relaxed,clean and well mantained surfers hotel. The restaurant The Green Room, has a small menu, but don't think this is a minus, it is excellent, made with care, and as it's meant to be. The bread is baked fresh, and it's real good bread.
Beachfront location right in the spot for surfers, you can stay all day watching the boards rip the waves.Your vacation started wrong, but at the Sandpiper all was forgotten.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are quieter and have good ocean breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was the most amazing experience I've ever had on a vacation! The owner made me feel like we were "old friends", and the overall vibe was so laid back and relaxing I felt like I was at a friend's house! The ocean breezes coming across the sand while I was swaying in the hammock on the open air bar...it was just so awesome! I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a little adventure, and a little down time! You get the best of both with Greg, the owner of this great place!
Tanya
Redondo Beach, CA

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have to agree with all the positive comments! After several days in the rain forest we decided to leave our resort in favor of some sun. Upon finding ourselves in Jaco with no place to stay as all hotels were full we stopped into a restaurant for dinner. We asked our server, Raquel if she had any ideas where we could look and she sent us to The Sandpiper in Playa Hermosa where she just happened to open a restaurant 2 weeks prior.
The hotel is clean and located right on the beach and was priced way below what they could have asked. It has The Green Room restaurant that is very fresh and the service is inviting. It attracts locals as well as the guests from surrounding hotels.
We could not have been luckier than to have met Greg, Aaron, Kip and Raquel.

Room Tip: They have only 8 rooms. Definitely try to call ahead. Really worth checking out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you have not tried the new restaurant "The Green Room" , then you are missing one of the nicest surprises in Playa Hermosa. Sunday brunch features huge apple pancakes, fresh tuna steak, typical fare and the best,,,real Eggs Benedict, shirred eggs with a homemade hollandaise sauce on a whole wheat muffin, served with fresh out of the oven banana, strawberry bread. Try it today,,and,the chicken cheese melt is one of the best I have had. Take it from the locals, we know what is good!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Sandpiper is a great experience. Really nice and clean rooms with access to the beach less than fifty feet from the farthest room. A great little cabana fronting the beach with hammocks and a beautiful view to sit and relax. Greg, the owner is super nice and very helpful with arrangements or questions. They have just opened a restaurant (The Green Room) on the premises that looks fantastic. Beautiful beach and great spot to watch the sunsets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My wife and I spent 8 nights (5 at start and 3 at end of trip) at the Sandpiper. What a great place it is!!! A real beach hotel, our room was 30 feet from the sand with a great view. Rooms are quite nice, not luxurious but clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The "vibe" of the hotel is what makes it the best choice in Playa Hermosa and it all starts with the owner. The owner, Greg, is a great, but laid back, host. Brings you coffee in the morning, goes surfing with you, knows everything about the area from restaurants, horseback riding etc., takes you into town when you want to go, even did a load of laundry for us!! Really cool palapa right on the beach where we and other guests would hang out for morning surf report, lunch, book reading, email checking, evening beers or cocktails. Even if you are not a surfer, great beach for long walks and beautiful sunsets. We will go back and we highly recommend the Sandpiper!!

Room Tip: The two best rooms are the two oceanfront. Great view, ocean waves to sleep by and less than 20 step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
3.2 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#3 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fuego del Sol
Hotel Fuego del Sol
#5 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.5 mi away
Terraza del Pacifico
Terraza del Pacifico
#4 of 5 in Playa Hermosa
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
7.8 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
11.3 mi away
Encantada Ocean Cottages
Encantada Ocean Cottages
#1 of 5 in Esterillos Este
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 1 Beach | Costa Rica, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Playa Hermosa
Sandpiper Inn Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.