We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location quirky accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catembe Gallery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catembe Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Catembe Gallery Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua B 77 Catembe | Catembe, Catembe, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catembe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location quirky accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We picked The Gallery Hotel particularly for it's location away from the hustle and bustle of Maputo. We arrived on Friday and joined an empty boat that within the space of 30 minutes had thousands of locals heading for the beaches. Speed boat transfers can be booked with hotel. Transfers from the airport can also be arranged however we had a self drive car

On arrival we were advised that we had been overbooked due to a conference and were upgraded to Penthouse C which has been recently completed thus joining the 2 separate buildings.

The 4 of us were amazed at the large openplan duplex with a huge glass fronted balcony. A large U shaped sofa in the seating area ratten table and chairs huge double fridge and basic S/C facilities to the balcony side, a lovely bathroom with shower and a big double bed,
and a sofa bed that was speedily converted to a bed and mosquito net installed mafee up the lower floor.

On the upper floor was a 4 poster bed with a corner bath/ gand shower and Jacuzzi a separate loo, walk in wardrobe and small office area completed our home for the next 4 days.

The reception staff were delightful and very helpful despite being 1 man down. A new Portugese manager has been brought in to train and oversee the local staff. The delughtful owners though seem to be struggling the maintainance of the old buildings and have wonderful plans for the property. An architect is on site and he showed me the plans to eventually turn the The Gallery into a small boutique hotel. There are several "snaggings" that need to be sorted out however as they say "This is Africa"!

The food is very good the tapas at the pier restaurant delicious. Drink Is expensive but this is due to the high taxes for all foreign imports. The owner Konrad has just bought a farm intending to grow organic food to supply the hotel. The restaurant and bar staff are very attentive and a special thanks to Violetta our waitress.

We will be back before the bridge is built 2016????? and the area becomes too commercialised.

Many thanks to all for a wonderful stay we relaxed so much we didnt do any exploring giving us an excuse to return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Front Office Manager at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful experience with us at the Catembe Gallery Hotel.
We will let the rest of the team know about your positive feedback .

We look forward to welcoming you back with the same warmth and pesonal touch when your travels bring you this way again and will be very pleased to show you some of the upgrades and improvements that have already been completed since your last stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Jaqueline Conceicao,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    58
    13
    16
    11
See reviews for
17
54
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Visited Catembe in November 2013 and never expected that I will end up staying in such place.Rooms air con not working ,room very small and stuffy.To top up it's not situated in Maputo.Food nice and expensive.Some staff friendly but management suck.Won't recommend the place to my enemy.Don't think I'll visit it in near futur and won't recommend it to anyone!!!!Bad place!!!

Room Tip: Do not recommend this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Owner at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear guest. We are sorry you had this experience. We are happy to announce you that we upgraded all budget rooms and that last November we were in an intermediate phase of no real day to day management. Our new GM arrived in December and has made a very strong and professional team. Further we added new decks, one in the form of a guitar and the other a piano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was told by other guests that the had beautiful rooms. I think these must be very expensive ones as my room was drab and had a moldy smell. The breakfast was fantastic, on a pier with incredible views of Maputo. But this is the problem...this hotel is not in Maputo. If yuu wish to go somewhere in Maputo you must 1) find a awy to get to the pier or walk for nearly one hour 2) wait fro the ferry boat to onload with cars 2) cram into ferry and 15 minutes later you are in Maputo dock 3) get tramples as everyone runs off 4) look for a taxi that will extort you becayuse you have no choice... The hotel is run down, and a long way from Maputo. I would recommend looking elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Owner at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are definitely part of Maputo. Transport was an issue when you visited us. Normally we would have sent you our hotel minibus, but due to the heavy rains, the road was washed out and all our cars were in repair due to these conditions. We have recently bought 2 extra vehicles including a minibus for our guests. Furthermore, we are proud to announce, guests can use our private hotel boat straight from the hotel jetty that brings you in 7 minutes to downtown CBD Maputo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you are looking for spectacular view of Maputo while having a sundowner than this is the hotel that you should be considering. The hotel is located in Catembe and is accessible by a regular ferry ( if you don't have a car don't use the ferry, but use the smaller passenger boats that do the 10 minute trip on a regular basis) . If you are using your car the wait can between 1 -2 hours when things really get busy - yet on on one of our trips we got on immediately . What is great about this establishment is that it offers a number of different lodging options -so make sure that you book what you need. The cheaper compact rooms are affordable , but rather small. You probably get better value from the somewhat larger " en-suite rooms ". If you are going to book two rooms consider the newly refurbished pent house suites which are well equipped with fridges and the like . I would agree with some of the other reviewers that the prices at the restaurant are somewhat on the high side, but the quality is great. If you are looking for a cheaper restaurant option walk up the beach towards the ferry pier and you will come across the very affordable Restaurant Diogo ( which has existed since the 1950s) . The hotel is possibly struggling to keep up with the maintenance , and it is something that management will need to pay attention to . Also remember that this is not a " blue sea " experience - the river Tembe flows into the bay at close proximity and turns the water brown - but it is perfectly safe to bath. Bookings are undertaken efficiently and everyone is helpful. Also have a look at the great little museum at the hotel which provides an interesting overview of modern Mozambique history. Breakfast on the pier is a delight.

Room Tip: Make sure that you book the right type of room . The compact rooms are somewhat small , but you also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Front Office Manager at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Catembe Gallery Hotel.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to offer each individual guest a personalized experience and we have several accommodation types to suit each specific need. We are very proud to be able to confirm that upgrades and renovations have been undergone on the property that will offer each guest a more comfortable stay with us.
Did you know that Marisol Restaurant (our main restaurant) was very well known for its superb seafood dishes? We continue to uphold that legacy still today.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Jaqueline Conceicao
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A 15-20 minute car ferry trip from Maputo and a couple of kilometres from the ferry terminal the other side. The hotel has a nice beach location and views. I was allocated a room in a penthouse suite which meant a shared bathroom with another guest. There was a nicely appointed living room with balcony and a kitchen below but for one night none of that really mattered. The shared bathroom had a bath but no shower/shower attachment (impractical). More importantly there was no hot water the night I arrived or the following morning. The aircon unit in my room worked for about 20 minutes before spewing water all over the room, one of the bedside lamps didn't work, the room was small and badly configured. Dinner in the restaurant was acceptable if unremarkable and comparatively expensive. Breakfast is served along a jetty with a lovely setting and views. The (included in the room price) cold buffet breakfast was OK in terms of choice/quality of produce but again didn't live up to the surroundings. Hot food eg eggs have to be paid for as extras.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Owner at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have taken your concerns at heart and have been upgrading all the facilities at the hotel. We even shut down a whole wing of the hotel with the budget rooms and are currently upgrading them, to be ready middle of March. Everything is a mission, being a constrained environment in which we have to operate our business, and being an independent hotel. It is almost impossible to find good contractors and totally impossible to get loans from banks, for this reason it took us a few months to get where we are now. Hence we waited to answer you.
The technical problems that you mentioned are all related to a power surge from the network that has broken quite a lot of our electrical equipment at the hotel (same for our all neighborhood) during your visit. Most we could attend to directly next day, geyser element has been replaced within 3 days.
Hope you come to see for yourself to all the improvements we are proud of.
For the correct understanding, I believe the client was part of a conference which took the whole hotel, and the set up of the rooms in the penthouse and the breakfast was previously negotiated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Catembe is on the opposite side of the river from Maputo. This is a good thing. It would be an even better thing if both ferries were running so you didn't have to wait two hours to get your car across. The views of Maputo are outstanding as is the sunset. The beach is pretty inviting too with the locals going about their business fishing. There are even cows on the beach. The water looked a little cold so we didn't bother taking a dip. The hotel was undergoing some improvement work while we were there but the best improvement they could make to our (family) room would be to burn all the furniture and start from scratch.

The hotel had some nice new-looking glass-fronted rooms away from the main building but they were occupied otherwise I'd have paid the difference. Indeed if I'd realised they were available I'd have booked one in the first place. The snack-food was very good and the little restaurant/breakfast room at the end of the pier is very good and has great all-round views.

For fun I approached Catembe from the Bela Vista side rather than the Maputo ferry. This proved to be excellent entertainment surfing the sand, gravel and rocks for about 200km in a 2WD hire car. The belly-pan is still somewhere on that road. Picked up a puncture too. But the drive is worth it. Genuine African villages, proper grass huts. People pointing at the lunatic white people bouncing down the road.

The sole purpose of visiting Mozambique was my son pointing out they have an AK47 on the flag. Well - how could you not go?

Wife scared witless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Owner at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. In the mean time we are happy to announce that we are indeed upgrading all budget rooms. They will be ready in 2 weeks, mid March. Our luxury rooms and chalets are indeed stunning and note are not much more expensive. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is located in Catembe, on the other side from the river estuary, overlooking the city of Maputo. The view is very nice, the hotel is isolated and the transports are lacking (unless you use the ferry boat and a taxi, because the vehicles from the hotel are always out of service). The beach is not good for swimming, the sand near the hotel is dirty and full of draining waters (??) and the swimming pool is not clean (when I was there the colour varied from heavy green to white). The hotel has a bad smell equivalent to sewage all over. The quality of the rooms is variable, but can be very low. In general, the service is bad and very slow. To stay in this hotel with the objective of enjoying the beach and etc, is not an option. There are many other better options in Maputo/Inhaca for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages, they are new and better equiped then the old rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Owner at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
For your information, we have a new GM since December and is leading a great team. Further we have been working day and night to improve and enhance various facilities in the last months. We clean the beach every morning and the water although sandy colour is safe for swimming. As it is shallow the sand is always tumbled but it is clean and full of fish. There is not 1 factory and few houses in Catembe, and regularly the water gets tested. Myself and my kids are every weekend in the water, either kitesurfing, waterskiing or using the kayaks of the hotel. Actually being the Indian Ocean, the water is very warm and pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catembe Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catembe Gallery Hotel

Address: Rua B 77 Catembe | Catembe, Catembe, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Catembe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catembe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catembe Gallery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent Boutique hotel on the beach with stunning views of the Indian Ocean islands and city skyline. Rooms are tastefully decorated with art featuring local artists. The hotel has 2 restaurants, one famous since 1958 for the best seafood and LM prawns, the other is the new Marisol Baia, a cocktail and tapas bar at the end of the hotel's private jetty. Ideal for romantic getaways as well as family stays. Swimming pool, large garden and direct access to a safe beach. With free wireless and transport to any place in town, we are hosting a growing number of international consultants and business travellers. Easily accessible in 10 minutes from downtown Maputo by car ferry or private boat of the hotel. Safest and most inspirational place to stay in Maputo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Catembe Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catembe Gallery Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catembe Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.