We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catembe Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Catembe Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Catembe Gallery Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua B 77 Catembe | Catembe, Catembe, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catembe
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

At first we were a little shocked by the fact that the hotel is not located in the Maputo as we thought at the beginning, but on the foreland to which it was necessary to get on a ferry (we were travelling at night (or the deep evening)). But, arrived at the place, our speculation that it may be uncomfortable hotel dispelled. We met the owners of this hotel - a nice white-skinned family, who offered us a very nice room. Owners really worry about their business and sincerely try to help visitors in any matter.

There is no rush and madness of the capital, which can be seen across the strait. Warm ocean, caressing sun, a bar hanging over the water, beautiful lighting - all this makes your stay easy and secure.

Room Tip: We recommend you to book a lux - there is just one room with a balcony, ocean view and convenient ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    58
    13
    16
    11
See reviews for
17
54
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel was organised for us as part of a wider organised tour across Southern Africa. We got there as the sun was setting, and as a party of 18 tried not to all hit the reception at once. A couple of the solo male travellers went to check in first, and immediately we could tell something wasn't right. Our tour guide was called, and it turned out that the hotel had chosen to put the people that had booked and paid as 'singles' in twin rooms together. Isabel, who seemed to be in charge, played naïve and claimed this was 'always the way it was done' (but it turned out she had only just taken over). The tour group we were with have used this hotel on many, many occasions and this was the first time this had happened. We then found the people who should have been in twin rooms were in double rooms - but the room was barely wide enough for the bed, with no door between the bedroom and the bathroom. Isabel's approach was to shrug, raise her hands and tell us the hotel was fully booked so there was nothing to be done. It seemed obvious these two 'mistakes' had meant they could cram the hotel to full occupancy, regardless of the service the guests were receiving.

So the management is poor, the customer service is terrible, but this isn't even the worst that came from our stay in this place. Being a big party we agreed to pre-order our food so the kitchen could cope. When we came to sit down for dinner, main courses were coming out at the same time as starters, and in some cases my fellow travellers were served their main course before they had been served their starter. The girl I sat next to had to send her fish back as it was totally raw in the middle, and thank goodness she did, as about 50% of the party suffered food poisoning as a result of this place.

In the morning, breakfast is served in this beautiful hut out on the water, it looks amazing. Unfortunately if you are to venture to this place, I would suggest just looking. As I came to breakfast, which was continental, the cereal ran out. I went over to the waiting staff to let them know, but the response was another raise of shoulders. They were half an hour into the breakfast slot and they did not have any cereal at all. Or any substitute.

I understand it's difficult to get a decent room in Maputo, but I would seriously advise against booking a room in this place. Isabel is rude, has no idea about customer service, clearly took an opportunity to fill the hotel at the requirements of the guest's expense, and had I booked directly I would be pursuing this further with them. If you do book and stay, I wish you the best of luck, and health.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catembegalleryhotel, Owner at Catembe Gallery Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear guest. The management couple who were responsible during your stay and indeed started a month earlier, have not made it with us. We now can assure you of a great team with new GM since December 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We arrived in KaTembe after a hard drive from Ponta de Ouro. The views of the city of Maputo is the best. You can see the city, but you don't hear the noise. Best if you have a couple of days to spend in Maputo and can afford the time it takes to take the ferry ride to and from the city. The ferry ride in itself an experience that might soon belong to days gone by as a bridge might be built across the harbor of Maputo soon (I am writing in July 2013). Also if traveling to or from the holiday resorts of Ponta de Ouro this is a great place to relax a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful, tranquil retreat from the chaotic capital of Maputo. The restaurant is very good as well. Thank god because it seems there are no other options unless you want to go into Maputo. Know before you go that getting to and from Maputo is not an easy process. From the hotel you must take a 250 meticais cab on the worst road in the world and then take a cramped, hectic ferry or small boat to the Maputo port. The good thing is if you want to see the (limited and lackluster) sights of the city, most are in walking distance of the port. The ferries run from about 5:30 am to 10 pm I believe so keep that in mind when booking busses or flights.

The rooms leave a little to be desired, especially the compact room, namely reliable hot water and water pressure.

Isabel, the manager, couldn't be more sweet and helpful. She hasn't been there long but she is a good source of information and she always goes above and beyond.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The new beach villas are appealing and beautiful to stay in, but due ot the proximity to the beach they can be quite noisy in the morning with the fisherman leaving / returning as well as the port noises. Recommend a room in the main hotel building which are stunning and full of character and beautiful furniture being a "gallery" hotel with a museum.

Room Tip: The new beach villas are appealing and beautiful to stay in, but due to the proximity to the beach t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Summary:
If (1) Travel time (30-60 min) is not an issue, (2) You don't have the budget to stay at the Palano or Cordoso hotels ($200-450) (3) you have accepted you are in Africa so things don't always work/go the way you want, then this is where I would stay

Great:
-The views were spectacular both down on the pier and from my room. I woke for the sunrise and was able to take pictures from my room even. Wow!
-The front desk went out of their way to make it a pleasant stay. They provided a plate of food the night before because I was leaving before breakfast started. The were always willing to help and spoke English when needed. They provided an extra bed in the room for my daughter to sleep in. Electrical adapters were provided when requested. Isabel met me on the Maputo side to welcome me. Thanks Rui and Isabel!
-The trip on the taxi boat/ferry was a fun adventure (I was trying to show my daughter the 3rd world and this added some color) as were the road conditions and taxi cab to the hotel (it is Africa after all). Note this involves a taxi to the ferry/boat, taking the boat as a pedestrian, and catching a different taxi on the other side.
-The hotel organized travel to and from the airport for $30 and it went well (I was able to catch a 7:30 AM flight even).
-The rooms had mosquito netting
-The bath, though not functional, looked cool. :)
-Beach was great!
-I enjoyed going out on the pier to have a drink and sit and watch see the city.

Not so ideal:
-My room had limited light.
-The bathtub didn't work and the shower didn't drain adequately to the point that it flooded.
-The light over the bathroom mirror didn't work.
-The curtain rod was a little rusty and hard to open/close.
-The light was broken. There was no garbage can.
-They forgot to provide ferry tickets/fare on the way home
-Breakfast was minimal (bread, cheese, yogurt, ham)
I think these items would take minimal expense to fix and I strongly believe they will get done in the near future as there is clearly renovation going on. Furthermore, there are some higher end rooms that I believe have already been renovated where these things would no longer be an issue.

Finally, don't forget, you are in Africa after all... embrace it :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a nice stay in this hotel and found the ferry trip across the river quite an experience. The rooms were lovely and we had the use of the penthouse with great views. The food was nice but had to be ordered well in advance. When it arrived it was nice and staff were helpful too. Cats do wander around the restaurant but didn't bother us really. The breakfast was actually very good with great choices. One small negative was the shower was broken.

Room Tip: Penthouse for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catembe Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catembe Gallery Hotel

Address: Rua B 77 Catembe | Catembe, Catembe, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Catembe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catembe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catembe Gallery Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent Boutique hotel on the beach with stunning views of the Indian Ocean islands and city skyline. Rooms are tastefully decorated with art featuring local artists. The hotel has 2 restaurants, one famous since 1958 for the best seafood and LM prawns, the other is the new Marisol Baia, a cocktail and tapas bar at the end of the hotel's private jetty. Ideal for romantic getaways as well as family stays. Swimming pool, large garden and direct access to a safe beach. With free wireless and transport to any place in town, we are hosting a growing number of international consultants and business travellers. Easily accessible in 10 minutes from downtown Maputo by car ferry or private boat of the hotel. Safest and most inspirational place to stay in Maputo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Catembe Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catembe Gallery Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catembe Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.