We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience - highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catembe Gallery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Catembe Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Catembe Gallery Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua B 77 Catembe | Catembe, Catembe, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catembe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb experience - highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed for one night at The Gallery and were delighted with the experience. We went to Mozambique for a one-night 'look-see' visit and were quite nervous after reading several negative reports. We chose this hotel as the well known ones were far too expensive and The Gallery looked the most interesting/best value in our budget. What a great decision! We really enjoyed our trip and had no problems at all. After a beachside lunch and tour of the highlights of Maputo (tatty, colourful, friendly, hectic) we took the 4.30 ferry to Catembe with our car. What a hoot! Talk about sardines! In no time we arrived at Catembe and negotiated the road to the hotel. The receptionist was extremely friendly (as were all the staff we met) and we were shown to a lovely room with a magnificent view over the sea to the Maputo skyline. The newly refurbished Lounge/Tapas Bar at the end of the jetty was the perfect place for sundowners and prawn snacks. We had to go back up to the hotel for dinner, which was a shame as we would have preferred to have dinner at the Tapas Bar but it does not have a full kitchen. Dinner was fine, our first choices weren't available, but that was all part of the charm and what we had was good (nothing in Moz is 100% - if that's what you are looking for - don't go!) We had been told by tourists on the ferry to get up early as the sunrise from the hotel is spectacular and they were right. The rising sun over the glistening sea in front of us with the twinkling lights of the city to the left is a view we will never forget. After an early stroll along the beach we had a very good breakfast at the Tapas Bar, followed by another beach walk in the other direction, to watch the fishermen sort their catch. Too soon it was time to leave and we caught the 10.30 (less busy) ferry back to the city. Just time for a crazy hour in the city market before making our way back to South Africa. We would not hesitate to stay at the Catembe Gallery Hotel again and will recommend it to others. Given the choice of one of the very expensive hotels or the Gallery we would still choose the Gallery as it is a genuine, quirky, different sort of experience. No other hotel in Maputu can match it for position and the lovely jetty with Tapas Bar really makes it extra special.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with bathroom on the side, so our sea facing windows and balcony was the full w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    56
    13
    13
    10
See reviews for
16
52
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed at Catembe Gallery for 2 nights. I stayed at the Panoramic room and the view was amazing, especially at sunrise. The word "surreal" comes to mind.

Another perk worth mentioning is the pier house, where they have a fully functional restaurant; breakfast is also served there, again the location and the view makes up for the small inconveniences (some rooms are small, dirt road, no phone in the room etc) - it's a boutique hotel with a lot of personality and a great deal of warmth.

They offered me free pick-up and transport to the ferry, so that took a worry off my shoulders.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, and most of them speak English.

Room Tip: ask for the panoramic! if they have it available, it's worth every extra penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had a great stay at the hotel and everybody went out of their way to make me feel welcome, especially Jose at the reception. The food was wonderful and the view of the habour from the restaurant is out of this world. I will definitely pay them another visit with the rest of the family, Keep it up guys.

Dudu-Lesotho

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Catembe was a dream,

I remember when i wanted to cancel my trip to catembe cos of having to catch the ferry. Wow the ferry was the highlight of the trip, it was a memmory.

Believe me if you dont go to Catembe and experience the ferry, then you dont really know Mosambique.

The People at Catmembe Gallery hotel are friendly and welcoming.
thank you Catembe team for the loveley memory to Mosambique.

Room Tip: Choose a spacious roomm cos it can get very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We didn't stay over at the Catembe Gallery Hotel, but we took the ferry from Maputo and visited the hotel for lunch. When we arrived in Catembe, we negotiated with a taxi driver to take us to the hotel. We were glad we did, since the hotel is not within comfortable walking distance from the ferry. It took quite a while for our food to arrive, but everything seems to be a lot slower in Catembe. We spent a very relaxing afternoon at the hotel, who were kind enough to offer us a lift back to the ferry for MT50.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here on our last night in Maputo and it was amazing! We brought our car over on the ferry and coming off it, it was quite a bad gravel road through the village leading up to the hotel, but as soon as we arrived, we’d found Utopia. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (and spoke perfect English) and they paid full attention to detail. The restaurant at the end of the peer served a delicious selection of Prawn Tapas for supper (you have to try the beer prawns – I was very pleasantly surprised) and the view of the Maputo skyline from here is absolutely spectacular.
We had a double room (room 3), which was pretty large and had an aircon, a spa bath and a balcony overlooking the ocean. Only downside is that the mosquito net over the bed had a hole in it and thus wasn’t very effective. Considering that there really isn’t anything much else in Catembe, this hotel is the absolute gem of that side of the Bay.
One issue I would raise is that we had to leave pretty early the next morning and it took the staff a considerable amount of time to get Breakfast set up. We were told breakfast starts at 7:00, but when we got there at 7 the lady was still sweeping the floor and cleaning and hadn’t even started with the breakfast setup. We eventually only got to eat at about 8:00 and had to do so quickly, therefore we couldn’t enjoy the morning at the leisurely pace we would have wanted to.
Overall, this is an amazing place to stay, but I’d recommend you only stay over 1 night since it would be pretty hard to find things to do to kill time during the day in Catembe. Our room was large, clean and offered an amazing viewpoint for the sunrise and sunset, the food was awesome, the staff were very friendly and the entire experience was very memorable. I will definitely be returning to Gallery Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A pity because the location is great - it's restful and sunny, but we were disapppointed by tiny room, and bathroom which you needed to be a contortionist to use - it was actually quite dangerous! We had to ask repeatedly for the room to be serviced too. The restaurant was pricey and on numerous occasions simply did not have advertised items (bread, milk, glass of wine, icecream) Service was complacent and intermittent - staff did not always speak English. Sorry, I could not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catembe Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catembe Gallery Hotel

Address: Rua B 77 Catembe | Catembe, Catembe, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Catembe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Catembe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Catembe Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent Boutique hotel on the beach with stunning views of the Indian Ocean islands and city skyline. Rooms are tastefully decorated with art featuring local artists. The hotel has 2 restaurants, one famous since 1958 for the best seafood and LM prawns, the other is the new Marisol Baia, a cocktail and tapas bar at the end of the hotel's private jetty. Ideal for romantic getaways as well as family stays. Swimming pool, large garden and direct access to a safe beach. With free wireless and transport to any place in town, we are hosting a growing number of international consultants and business travellers. Easily accessible in 10 minutes from downtown Maputo by car ferry or private boat of the hotel. Safest and most inspirational place to stay in Maputo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catembe Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catembe Gallery Maputo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catembe Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.