We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, very relaxing and overall beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay to your Saves list
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Skinners Shoot Road, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, very relaxing and overall beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The room was a little small besides that everything was amazing. The deck opens right up to make the outdoors in and the room it's self was very clean, beautiful linen and the warm spa was much to enjoy! Over all we would happily stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi E & Z,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again! Yes our rooms are cosy but the views of the forest are amazing as you said and when you open up the doors to the balcony it really extends the room out to make it feel bigger and it feels like you are part of the forest. Great cosy rooms for a romantic night for couples or a quiet retreat for singles. Let us know when you would like to come back and we will give you a special return guest discount!

Thanks again!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    61
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
3
170
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This was a birthday gift from our children. We enjoyed our stay but felt it was overpriced for the standard of accomodation. A bit run down needs a refurb. Spa next to the pool was only lukewarm. Felt that there could have been more touches of luxury in the rooms eg nicer soaps than the cheap hotel standard. However massage & pedicure were excellent. Reception staff was very helpful & friendly but needed to be more proffessional in her appearance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Miklor,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your treatment in our Day Spa. We are sorry that you felt the rooms were overpriced. Azabu has just been taken over by a new owner in January and he is very much aware that the property was a bit run down and neglected previously. He has already began refurbishing the property and creating a beautiful nature walk through the forest behind the guest rooms. The first thing he has done is redecorated the main reception area and installed shoji screens around the spa baths in the rooms. These are bran new. Next he has begun construction of a gazebo in the yard where couples will have the chance to relax in a double hammock. He has now began creating a nature walk through the forest that leads down to a yoga deck surrounded by bamboo in the forest. The path will continue to evolve within a short time with many ideas coming forth for its completion. So yes the property is currently being refurbished.
As far as the amenities products we use; Our amenities are top of the line, local, all-natural products inspired by the Byron Bay hinterland. They are organic, vegan, eco-friendly, use bio-degradable packaging and food grade ingredients. We feel they are some of the best amenity products on the market and in-line with what we are all about at Azabu. We are sorry you did not appreciate their quality. We will definitely continue to use these products as not only are they local, organic & eco-friendly, they smell great too. We hope all of our guests enjoy them. The soaps are all natural, individually wrapped, palm-oil free and smell lovely. We feel they are perfect for our nature surrounding property.
Our Day Spa boasts some of the best therapists in the Byron Bay area so we are really glad that you enjoyed your massage & pedicure.
All of our staff are friendly and polite and do their best to help guests with any enquiries and make their stay enjoyable. The weather was very cold last week so the girls were rugged up in sweaters to stay warm. Through the winter we will be lighting our gorgeous fire in the reception area so everyone will stay warm without the offensive sweaters! :)
Overall we are glad that you still enjoyed your stay. Going forward both the owner and the management are in line to make Azabu the best that it can be and are in the process of many projects and minor renovations to make that happen. The owner is appreciative of all the feedback that comes his way and makes every effort to rectify any issues that may come up.

Thanks again for your review!

Azabu Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Me and my partner spend 4 days in Azabu and we had an extraordinary stay last week.
The place its peaceful, quiet, surrounded by nature. I could finally finish to read my books in the peaceful balcony that we had in our room.
We had also a fantastic couple massage, very professional therapists, and the staff from Azabu very friendly and attended to detail.
Thanks so much for our pleasant stay in Azabu.
We will definitely come back.
Highly recomended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Laura,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and are glad to hear you would like to stay again! Happy to hear you got to get some relaxing reading time in. Also very happy to hear you enjoyed your massages.

All the best!

Azabu Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Beautiful break with my gorgeous girlfriend to celebrate my birthday. Appreciated the quiet, luxury touchs and of course the spa. Felt relaxed and spoilt when we headed off the following morning. Love the Japanese spa feel of Azabu. Will be back for another break soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi Kaidrick,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a great birthday getaway! We would love to have you stay again. Very glad you enjoyed the heated outdoor spa!

Thanks!

Azabu Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Our stay here was a beautiful Tranquil and Relaxing Experience , I had an amazing massage (best I have ever had) by Dion. We enjoyed the champagne on our private balcony with a beautiful view of trees and wildlife, fed the peacock which was alot of fun have never been that close to one before. The large window in our room made for a lovely place to feel like we were right out with nature which we loved. We relaxed in the hot tub and enjoyed the pool area as well. Candice was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area so we got to do some exploring also and enjoyed some lovely meals at places she recommended. We will definetly return to Azabu our next trip to Byron Bay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed and appreciated the quiet beauty of our forest property. We were more than happy to share with you some of the excellent places to visit in the surrounding area and fun things to do. We are glad you took our tips and enjoyed your time in the area! Our Day Spa is very quiet and tranquil and we are lucky to have some of the best therapists in the area here on site. We often have great feedback about our spa and are super excited that you had the best massage of your life here on site! That is great you got to relax by the pool and soak in our heated outdoor spa. Sipping champagne on the balcony overlooking the forest lit up at night is one of the favourite pass times of our guests and one of the reasons why so many people love our gorgeous magical property.

Thanks again!

Azabu Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

we were very disappointed with our stay at azabu.The room was very small.It was also very dirty.The ceiling fans had obviously not been cleaned in months, they were covered in dust and dirty,There was mould on the tiles in the shower recess.There was cobwebs hanging from the mirror.They supplied tea and coffee facilities, but just barely,.No sugar was supplied ,only sugar substitute ,The spa and pool were dirty.We had been so looking forward to our stay and instead we were badly let down.I would definitely advise anybody not to go to Azabu.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hi Ian,

Thank you for your review of our property.

We apologise that you did not think the facility was up to your standards. We were training a new staff member on site that day and it looks like she may have missed the mark this time. We have a very high standard of cleanliness here at Azabu which we adhere to each day with each room clean. As you can see by all of our other recent reviews and ratings many of our guests have noticed and appreciated how clean our rooms and facilities are. We are sorry you did not feel the same and apologise if we were to blame on the day.

Apologies if the sugar was missed on the day. We have full time managers on from 8.30am til 5 pm and a duty manager on call only a mobile phone number away and could have rectified this oversight immediately. We also have sugar, salt & pepper in the main reception/foyer area always available for guest use. We provide 4 different types of local Madura Teas in all rooms along with a complimentary box of Organic Byron Bay Plunger Coffee.

We apologise that you found a spider web in your room. Surrounded by forest it’s a constant battle with nature re the webs and 99% of the times the cleaners pick this up. Apologies, this time but please be assured the girls are trained especially with regards to keeping an eye out but we do our best to keep the rooms clear of all bugs, spiders and spider webs every clean. We apologize that it was missed.

Our pool and heated spa is cleaned and serviced daily by our on-site management. An automatic pool cleaner is on all the time and we scoop for leaves daily, as well as monitor temperature and ph. levels. We are surrounded by bush and if a wind blows in before a guest swims there will be some leaf matter on the surface but the pool is kept very well maintained. Many previous guests have commented on the cleanliness of the pool and facilities. Unfortunately there is only so much one can control on an hourly basis once the morning daily clean has been done. The pool clean occurs every day of the year, No exceptions.

Overall we pride ourselves on our cleanliness as attests to the many great comments before yours but we take all comments seriously and we are sorry it wasn't up to your standard on that day and assure you it is an exception to the rule.

Thanks again for your review.

Azabu Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Azabu was a tranquil, secluded and refreshing place to stay in Byron Bay. The staff were friendly and inviting upon our arrival and made us feel welcome. We were informed that the resort is under new ownership and these new owners provided guests with a bottle of champagne in our room, which was an unexpected surprise! The rooms are spacious and have large windows to let in the sights of natures beauty. The balcony off of the room was also a great place to relax and sit with our champagne and wine! The gravel roads to get to Azabu are a bit bumpy and you question at times if you're going the right way, but rest assured you will not be disappointed when you arrive and find this very unique gem. We would stay here again on another trip to Byron!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Address: 317 Skinners Shoot Road, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Skinners Shoot
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azabu Nature Guesthouse in Byron Bay is a tranquil escape nestled in the coastal hinterland of Northern New South Wales. Located only a 5 minute drive from the trendy Byron Bay shopping precinct and some of the world’s best beaches, Azabu is the ultimate destination to enjoy all that Byron Bay has to offer. With only five exclusive boutique guesthouses elevated above five hectares of natural forest, Azabu is a unique accommodation experience. At Azabu you can immerse yourself in nature, be greeted by the local fauna including Azabu’s resident peacocks and take the time to appreciate the natural hoop pine forest that surrounds your private guesthouse. At Azabu you can relax in the outdoor pool and heated spa or retreat to our secluded meditation and reading deck. Upon waking you can enjoy our gourmet three-course breakfast, which uses organic local produce. We also encourage you to try our day spa, with local Byron Bay therapists available to treat you to a wide range of relaxation therapies using organic beauty products. Azabu is a unique holiday destination, for relaxation, a romantic retreat, honeymoon getaway, or for a little bit of Zen-time in a magnificent natural setting. Azabu Nature Guesthouse…your own private escape in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azabu Luxury Accommodation Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.