We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay to your Saves list
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   317 Skinners Shoot Road, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our stay at Azabu was positively delightful.
Upon arival we were greeted by a wonderful host and showed to our room.
We stayed 2 nights for a bit of a get-away from the busy Brisbane life.
The room we stayed in was of a high standard, with wooden finishes and a Spa Bath (very nice). There was also an outdoor balcony area, looking on to a forest area.
The only downside to the rooms was the lack of fly-screens. Luckily we were staying in the off-season for bugs, so they werent too much of an issue, but we did have a big spider creep in.
The included gourmet breakfast each morning was divine. There is a choice of several dishes from the menu, including a tasty fruit platter and coffee. Definately worth a stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    20
    12
    8
See reviews for
3
153
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice room. Quiet location. Staff very helpful and keen to make guests needs meet. Breakfast was fantastic both days :)

Only a couple of downfalls, floors needed a good clean, had dirt on my feet as soon as i took my shoes off and the road to get there is a bit rough full of potholes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AzabuBB, Manager at Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Azabu.

Every room without exception has the polished floorboards & bathrooms vacuumed and mopped when cleaned after a checkout. All rooms are checked after cleaning.

The Byron Bay region has had an enormous amount of rainfall during March & April 2013, thus causing potholes in the unsealed last 800m of road to the property. After numerous requests to council the road has now been graded.

Regards,

Amanda Kaye
Manager
Azabu Nature Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Farm, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a great and relaxing small resort in Byron Bay.

Delicious breakfasts, accommodating hosts and serene setting. Perfect for coming back after the Bluesfest!

Named after place in Tokyo in which we lived, it is stylish and includes a breakfast that is superb.

Strong recommendation to stay here when choosing a place in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary and we absolutely loved it!
The cleanliness of the rooms was great and our room was cleaned quite thoroughly each day, including fresh towels, new soaps etc.

The thing we loved the most about Azabu was the beautiful surrounds. Even though it was raining a lot of the time, because our room was practically in the middle of a forest of trees, we were able to open up the big bi-fold doors and listen to the rain, birds, frogs etc. This was a special treat!!

We stayed a week and received a complimentary bottle of champagne and a HUGE seafood platter on arrival which was absolutely outstanding. So fresh, very generous, could not fault it.

The staff were very professional, especially Tracy who gave us great advice on local attractions and made us fee very welcome.

Although Azabu is listed as a 5 star guesthouse, due to a bit of aging and perhaps a need for a bit of a spruce in general we would say that it wasn't 5 stars. We felt that it was proobably a 4 or 4 1/2 star. This however didn't bother us as we received a very good deal which included the seafood platter etc and we really loved the feeling of being in a small boutique guest house.

A few people have made mention that the tv's are very hard to see from the bed (the only place you can watch it from) It would be good if the brackets that hold the tv were changed to allow guests to watch tv in bed.

All in all we loved Azabu and would return without hesitation.

As an extra note, new Manager's started during our stay and we were under the impression that the need for an update etc would happen given the new Manager's passion for developing Azabu into a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Get the queen room a spa, makes all the difference if your a couple on a romantic weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Azabu is a 5min drive out of town making it a beautiful and peaceful place to stay however it also made it more difficult to have lunch and dinner and use it as a base for exploring the Byron area.

Breakfast was beautiful but there seemed to be no lunch or dinner options onsite.

Overall the location and Accomodation is peaceful and simple in what it offers but with a few extra local touches (maybe some locally made produce) could become a luxurious place to stay.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the massage at day spa was great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked a weekend escape with my partner who is currently living interstate. Azabu, just a few minutes from town by car, set against a rainforest is a silent escape from the weekend chaos of Byron. On arrival first impressions are positive. Do be wary of the woeful state of the road as you approach.
We arrived at 5pm, greeted by a white envelope containing a key which I found a little impersonal. That said the guesthouse is small, the rooms are easy to locate and perhaps easier to familiarise yourself with - they can only be describe as tiny. That said, they do open onto a reasonable sized balcony from which you can literally reach the rainforest. The rooms themselves are comfortable, clean but in my view the colour scheme and furnishing are beginning feel tired. The escape was a rare indulgence - I did expect more.
Onto more positive notes. On discovering an after hours number the response was very warm. My partner's luggage had not arrived with her flight, the evening manager kindly offering to wait for the arrival of bags and drove us into town when we enquired about a local taxi - avoiding the majority of the potholes we have introduced ourselves to an hour earlier.
The morning staff also very friendly. The breakfast was very good.
In short, Azabu is peaceful, the setting is beautiful and our experience with the staff very good. We were not entirely disappointed but did leave feeling a little underwhelmed by the room size and standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very disappointed with our stay at Azabu. The room was very dirty, needed refurbishment and certainly not luxurious. Spiders on the ceiling. The breakfast was excellent however. The experience of staying there could be great - but lots of cleaning needs to be done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay

Address: 317 Skinners Shoot Road, Skinners Shoot, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Azabu Guesthouse Byron Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay > Skinners Shoot
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skinners Shoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azabu Nature Guesthouse in Byron Bay is a tranquil escape nestled in the coastal hinterland of Northern New South Wales. Located only a 5 minute drive from the trendy Byron Bay shopping precinct and some of the world’s best beaches, Azabu is the ultimate destination to enjoy all that Byron Bay has to offer. With only five exclusive boutique guesthouses elevated above five hectares of natural forest, Azabu is a unique accommodation experience. At Azabu you can immerse yourself in nature, be greeted by the local fauna including Azabu’s resident peacocks and take the time to appreciate the natural hoop pine forest that surrounds your private guesthouse. At Azabu you can relax in the outdoor pool and heated spa or retreat to our secluded meditation and reading deck. Upon waking you can enjoy our gourmet three-course breakfast, which uses organic local produce. We also encourage you to try our day spa, with local Byron Bay therapists available to treat you to a wide range of relaxation therapies using organic beauty products. Azabu is a unique holiday destination, for relaxation, a romantic retreat, honeymoon getaway, or for a little bit of Zen-time in a magnificent natural setting. Azabu Nature Guesthouse…your own private escape in Byron Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azabu Luxury Accommodation Byron Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.