We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream farmhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara to your Saves list
Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara
Podere Il Colombaio 12, 53018 Torri, Sovicille, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leawood, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dream farmhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was hooked on the muesli and fresh yogurt. Breakfast was perfect, and the window in the dining room was lovely. It was a beautiful, rustic place. Very private and quiet. I would want to live here if I could move to Italy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose Room, which is right next to where the dog, Scooby slept. One night he barked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed there in may '11 and it was wonderful. It's simple, but the place is beautiful, quiet, friendly. Easy to relax. You get a very good feel of tuscany and everything is quite nearby, like Siena, Florence, Montepulciano, hot thermes and so much more. We also went to the famous tarot garden of Niki de St. Phalle from there, even the sea isn't far. Barbara (the owner) is super friendly and helps with everything you need. Scooby the dog is just fantastic. Breakfast was nice, too, and for the other meals you can visit one of the many nice restaurants nearby (one is just 100 m away) or prepare your own meal in the kitchen. We just LOVED it. Thanx Barbara!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Our visit to Tuscany began at Il Colombaio. Admittely, finding the agriturismo was a challenge, but as we drove up the cedar lined drive and the narrow drive we knew we would love the tranquility and privacy along with the central location.

Il Colombaio is rustic. What it lacks in modern refinements it has in character and beauty. The breakfast is wonderful and the owner has an abundance of recommendations of places to eat nearby.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The place is very close to heaven,take care not to fall in love otherwise you will never return home again !!! we loved it. Thanks Barbara for your quick check in help ;-) thanks carwyn for the nice talk we had.
Thanks tuscany you are a nice place on earth.
all the best for the future
fränz

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Loved it. The beautiful space inside and outside. The whole feel of the place is pleasant and calm. The resident dogs and cats add a familiar feeling to the whole experience [oops, almost forgot the fish :) ]
I was just what we expected from what we had seen of it on their website.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Flew to Pisa with my daughter, drove to Il Colombaio (2hrs) where we had initially booked the first 2 nights. Once there found out no need to move location as Montepulciano, Montagnino and all other places we wanted to see were no more than 1 hr drive from there and luckily they managed to accommodate us for the other 2 nights. Loved staying there, felt like living in a nice Tuscany house with beautiful surroundings. Carwyn and Barbara were great making us feel at home and giving us best advises on places to go, what to see and where to eat. Siena is just 10 mins drive and only 20 mins drive to the other side is the beautiful Petrolo Spa. We paid just over 300 euros for both of us for 4 nights stay including breakfast! Loved Scooby, the beautiful Newfoundland dog that guards the house. Highly reccommend to people like us that were looking forward to relax, get away from TV and computers and enjoy the best of Tuscany avoiding the crowded city hotels.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

Il Colombaio is a rustic house with a handful of rooms off of a shared lounge area. We stayed in the 'Lovers' room which was on the first floor with a private bathroom. The bathroom is separate from the room so you do have to go out of your bedroom door onto the landing to get to it, but it is for your use only.
It's set in beautiful scenery and is a good base to explore Tuscany from with Siena only 20 mins away by car. San Ganginano is also nearby which is a medieval town and a good place to go for dinner.
We were a bit shocked when we first arrived as we're used to the anonymity of hotels. The B&B is more like renting a shared villa as the owner lives in her house next door and the rooms are off a shared lounge and dining area. The private bathroom is small and not up to hotel standards but ok fo a B&B.
The resident dog 'Scooby' is a gorgeous Newfoundland who loves to be cuddled.
There is a restaurant at the top of the track to the hotel. Other restaurants are a drive away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara

Address: Podere Il Colombaio 12, 53018 Torri, Sovicille, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > Torri
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Torri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara is a really romantic, beautiful and charming farmhouse located in Tuscany, in the Siena countryside. The characteristic Tuscan stone house is 800 years old, renovated maintaining its original style, opened for guests in 1999. Accommodation in the farm house. For our guests we have the following available accommodations: 6 Rooms with private Bathrooms, Air-fan and Fridge, one Living Room, one Breakfast and Dinner Room, a Reading Room, a Kitchen (on request). Around the house a large Garden with swimming pool (also for children), a pergola with a big table for the summer evening dinners. The rich continental breakfast and the service is included in the room price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Il Colombaio di Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.