We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much happening on a Sunday” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US Hwy 41 Tamiami Trail, Tamiami, FL 33144
305-552-8365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Tamiami
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, Art Museums, History Museums, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not much happening on a Sunday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit the village on a Sunday afternoon and there was hardly anything there. The only demonstration was the gator wrestling which was okay. The chap was only interested in showing how brave he was (a bit OTT) That was it, the people on the reception should have advised us that nothing was going on. It is a long journey wasted.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    28
    14
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A liilte climpse into the past.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This would be a fun place to bring children/teens if you are certain the will be doing an alligator wrestling show...class first...it doesn't always happen. You can tour through an Miccosukke Indean Village. It is a long drive from Miami. They also have a great gift shop and air-boat rides

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Buffalo Tiger airboats the highlight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stopped at the Miccosukee Restaurant and had frog legs so fresh they were still jumping! The "village museum" is more a short walk-through but then there is a giant pit of alligators. The highlight, though, was Buffalo Tiger airboat rides. There are many on that road but this one is worth the extra 5 minutes to find it. They were professional, on time and best of all, our guide, Ernie was so knowledgeable and comfortable in the environment, he could call the alligators and they would come. The old one at the end, though, still gives me shivers. I am surprised he still has all his fingers (Ernie, that is)!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Airboat Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have been on this trip more than once with different friends. I've found a range of satisfaction depending on the person acting as guide. Although the ride takes you to a replica of a Miccosukee camp, know that your guide is not a member of the Miccosukee tribe or even a Native American. That being said, there are some guides who are very knowledgeable and skilled in presenting the story of the Miccosukee and others who need to learn the story and also be taught how to present it to the public. Elvis is one guide who has obviously made knowing the history of the Miccosukee and their family/clan way of life a priority. He easily shares that along with the story of their struggle to survive in the Everglades environment and also the points out the continuing respect the Miccosukee have for every living thing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Although we have lived in South Florida for almost 50 years, we had never been to the Village
until recently when our Colorado granddaugters (ages eight and nine) were here visiting.
We expected the worst: long lines, hokey exhibits and "shows," typical mediocre-to-bad food, and expensive, phony trinkets for sale. Quite to the contrary, however, we found a highly attractive and super-clean complex; a wonderful airboat ride; a clever and educational performance in the alligator pit; a museum full of wonderful history, including in particular the
many black and white historical photos of Miccosukee chiefs, children, and families; and even a pretty good restaurant and interesting store selling various authentic trinkets.
I highly recommend this visit for children of all ages!
Phil S., Fort Lauderdale

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miccosukee Indian Village also viewed

 

Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miccosukee Indian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.