We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Airboat Ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US Hwy 41 Tamiami Trail, Tamiami, FL 33144
13055528365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tamiami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
Westernville, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Airboat Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

From the other reviews it seems as if we really lucked out by choosing the Airboats at the Miccosukee Indian Village from the many others on Rt. 41. Our guide, Elvis,. was such a polite and knowledgable young man. He was patient and soft-spoken, answering all of our questions. It was fun floating over the sawgrass and water looking for birds and alligators. We saw many of each. But the most interesting aspect was getting off the boat on a small island, site of a Miccosukee residence. There were boardwalks all over so we could explore without getting muddy. We saw baby alligators, lots of fantastic vegetation, trees, flowers and handcrafted Chickees (indian dwellings). Elvis amazed us by calling a 12 foot alligator from the water and patting it on the head. He also explained in detail about indian life in the Everglades. Some of the other places had big, loud crowds and were much more expensive. We had a lovely tour with just the family and it was very reasonable. We laughed when Elvis told us his brother's name.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everglades Airboat Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We live in Fort Lauderdale but had some cousins visiting from Canada. They wanted to see the Everglades, so we went out to the Miccosukee Indian Village. Benny was our guide and, at first, we weren't sure what to expect. As it turns out, what a wonderful experience. We stopped at a little Indian Village and saw how the older generation survived back in the day, and got to meet Papa, Mama and saw some baby gators. Benny was very knowledgeable with the sizes and mannerisms of the gators. We then went to look for another gator in the wild that he had raised himself but she was being shy. We did see her babies, though, which was very cool! We went on a Tuesday, so we had the boat to ourselves, and $16 per person was more than reasonable for the experience. Highly recommend this, and ask for Benny - you won't be disappointed!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

you expect to see a nice exhibit of the glory of the indian nation, instead you get a few shops and big discounts on cigarettes - if you smoke. needs improvement

Helpful?
Thank etka777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, OR,USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elvis, Thanks for the best ever airboat ride through the Everglades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We are from Oregon so this was our first experience with alligators and the other living things in the everglades. We are traveling with family from British Columbia, Canada and we stopped at Mile Marker 70, U.S. Highway 41 Tamiami Trail Miamai FL 33194 to take our first ever airboat ride. Much was learned about the history of the Miccosukees and their way of life. Elvis, our Airboat operator, was very easy to talk with and he knew lots of interesting facts about what we were seeing. He never seemed to be a hurry and he actually enjoyed being our guide. Wish the website was easier to get reviews to the people who deserve them. Hope Elvis gets word that he did a good job.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Airboat Ride and More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family and I went to the Miccosukee Indian Village looking for an airboat ride, and had much more fun than we expected. We decided to see the Alligator show as well, which granted us access to the village (across the street from where the airboats are). The Village is rich in culture,and there is a habitat where you can see captive alligators. The show was educational, funny and thrilling. We even got to hold a baby alligator!

The airboat ride was much longer than I thought it would be. You are taken out to a little island in the Everglades where you can see wild alligators. Our return trip was longer and more scenic, and since the day was warm, our "captain" was playful and included extra splashes :)

I had a great time. I would recommend this location to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cass C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miccosukee Indian Village also viewed

 

Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing