We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US Hwy 41 Tamiami Trail, Tamiami, FL 33144
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tamiami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

you expect to see a nice exhibit of the glory of the indian nation, instead you get a few shops and big discounts on cigarettes - if you smoke. needs improvement

Thank etka777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, OR,USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elvis, Thanks for the best ever airboat ride through the Everglades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We are from Oregon so this was our first experience with alligators and the other living things in the everglades. We are traveling with family from British Columbia, Canada and we stopped at Mile Marker 70, U.S. Highway 41 Tamiami Trail Miamai FL 33194 to take our first ever airboat ride. Much was learned about the history of the Miccosukees and their way of life. Elvis, our Airboat operator, was very easy to talk with and he knew lots of interesting facts about what we were seeing. He never seemed to be a hurry and he actually enjoyed being our guide. Wish the website was easier to get reviews to the people who deserve them. Hope Elvis gets word that he did a good job.

Visited January 2013
3 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Airboat Ride and More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My family and I went to the Miccosukee Indian Village looking for an airboat ride, and had much more fun than we expected. We decided to see the Alligator show as well, which granted us access to the village (across the street from where the airboats are). The Village is rich in culture,and there is a habitat where you can see captive alligators. The show was educational, funny and thrilling. We even got to hold a baby alligator!

The airboat ride was much longer than I thought it would be. You are taken out to a little island in the Everglades where you can see wild alligators. Our return trip was longer and more scenic, and since the day was warm, our "captain" was playful and included extra splashes :)

I had a great time. I would recommend this location to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Thank Cass C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Suzy Fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Air Boat Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Benny was our guide on what we initially thought was going to be just a quick ride. It turned out to be a delightful and educational experience. The 30 minute ride was closer to 50 minutes. We stopped at an Indian Village and got the grand tour (also saw some gators). Benny then took us to a small island where he hand fed an alligator that he had raised himself. Cool! Riding through the swamp was invigorating! Sixteen dollars a person was more than reasonable and we only had 4 people on our boat. If you're driving by, give Benny a try!

Visited January 2013
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Airboat the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Elvis was our tour guide on the Miccosukee Indian Air Boat Ride. He took obvious pride in the heritage of the Native Americans that developed the area and for the environment as well. He took extra time to show us how to do the palm thatching on the chickees. He even called the 60+ year old male gator by making baby alligator sounds.
After our ride we had lunch at the Restaurant next door enjoying a sampler platter that included the frog legs, gator tail bites and fry bread.

Visited January 2013
Thank boopboop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miccosukee Indian Village also viewed


Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing