We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Museum and Alligator Show” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miccosukee Indian Village

Miccosukee Indian Village
Mile Marker 70, US Hwy 41 Tamiami Trail, Tamiami, FL 33144
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tamiami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This surviving village of the Miccosukee Tribe is located 27 miles west of Miami on the Tamiami Trail.
Level Contributor
287 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Museum and Alligator Show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The site advertises itself as a village, but there is no village life to see or learn from among the many tikis. On our day in August the many tiki huts were empty with the exception of two where two women were doing some kind of sewing. There was no discussions or explanations. The women sat too far from the gated boundary to ask questions. One was also very busy with caring for the children present.
The museum is well designed and includes many artifacts of earlier Indian life. The written information was detailed enough, but no one was available to ask questions. One of the Indian members presented a wonderful alligator show complete with a short history of the Miccosukee people and how the everglades were integrated into the Miccosukee life. Questions were taken and answered. The alligator show included information about alligators followed by a few skills handling the alligator. An alligator pond allowed visitors to watch many alligators and the turtles behave on land and in the water. It is one of the better man made alligator ponds seen.
also found in one tiki were examples of many skulls of various everglade animal life that visitors could handle.
The gift shop included just about any souvenir having to do with alligators as well as some Indian crafts and jewelery.
For the distance and location this trip maybe better suited for Indian enthusiasts and those wanting to learn something about south Florida Indian tribes. A separate air boat ride through the Everglades to a former Indian family small island is optional.

Visited August 2012
Thank travelbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid unless your really interested in the Indian Culture”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I'm a local and decided to check out this place before a trip to the Casino on the Indian reservation. The place is like a ghost town.. The tell you about the history but it's more like a school field trip then entertaining. I will say the air boat rides/tours are pretty cool as long as you don't go during the summer months when the heat is unbearable.

Visited June 2012
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Sad demise of the Miccosukee Indian Village”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I remember being a young kid and coming to the Miccosukee Indian Village. It was always packed with people, there were Miccosukee Indians running the place and it felt very authentic. I just returned with my now 11, 10, and 7 year old and left depressed. First, there were no people there, no tourists. Second, there were no Miccosukee Indians to be found anywhere. Not on the airboat rides, not in the "Indian" village where the boat takes you, not in the gift shop, Not anywhere! The whole place was staffed by Cubans. I am Cuban-American so I love Cubans, but when you go to an Indian Village you expect to see some Indians!! The airboat ride is too expensive ($16 per person), and too short. We asked the Cuban lady in the gift shop where all the Indians were and she said, "they are all too rich now to work in the tourist places." The gift shop was also ridiculously expensive. How sad. Avoid this place, it is not worth it.

Visited July 2012
6 Thank FreedomforCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday. Apparently every one was off the clock. There were no shows and almost no activity aside from a few maintenance people. We were able to check out the pictorial history of the MICCOSUKEE.... what an honor. Over all it was a quite Sunday. The Gators were huge, unlike the previous visit to the park up the road; we actually saw Gators. HUGE GATORS. I believe we paid $16.00 for two adults, two teen and a toddler. We might have paid more had the park been fully staffed. Pleasant experience overall.

Visited July 2012
2 Thank jamrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little place to stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great little place to go. We loved walking around and doing the self tour. The alligator wrestler is like no other we have ever seen, very bold and brave. We also took the airboat tour, which was well worth the money. We liked going to the, as some folks say on here “Abandoned” Indian Village which was on an island. Had a nice boardwalk around the village to see wildlife and the everglades in its natural state.

Visited June 2012
2 Thank LadyMarvel213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miccosukee Indian Village also viewed


Been to Miccosukee Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing