We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place; very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rosa Taytay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Rosa Taytay to your Saves list
Casa Rosa Taytay
Poblacion (Town Proper), Taytay, Palawan Island 5312, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Taytay B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely place; very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Easily the best place to stay in Taytay, Casa Rosa is 5/10 mins walk from the fort. Beautiful detached bungalows for rooms; all very comfortable with great views and peaceful gardens all around. Staff were really helpful, sorting tours (dolphin sighting was great) and onward transport and always friendly and cheerful. Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Really beautiful location on a small hill, overlooking fort and bay. Rooms a the cleanest and nicest we had in the philippines and the staff is really helpful and friendly!! They even tell you if a tour they sell is not worth it. If you wanna do the robinson crusoe trip tell them the guy who lives on dinamayan island with his wife should pick you up at taytay port, its much cheaper than the tour package they sell. His telephone nr. Is 09306504125, his name zaldy. Better write a short message, he does nt have network on the island all the time. The island is amazing; best snorkeling I ve seen in the philippines. He and and his wife a really frindly and helpful. Maybe we come back and stay a while. Casa rosa has good food and they even rent out motorbikes if you ask. Loved this accommodation!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Nice cottage with huge bathroom!
Really friendly staff. Good recommandation for beaches in El Nido (Las cabanas one).
Good restaurant (special award for the pork adobo & pancakes...and if you're brave, try the Jack fruit) with stunning view on Taytay and its fort Isabel.
Taytay is still an untouristic place...if you want to be immerged in local tradition...go there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I spent one night in El Nido, but the cottage was beside a busy road, so I couldn't sleep. So the next morning I decided to visit Taytay which is along the route to Puerto Princessa. I had met the owner of the Casa Rosa Taytay while on the bus to El Nido, and I managed to contact the hotel and book a cottage.

Casa Rosa was built on top of a hill overlooking the coast. It had beautiful views, amidst a garden setting. The cheapest cottage which I got was conveniently located beside the main reception and dining area. It was comfortable and I slept well, although that was probably because my body was making up for lost sleep from the previous night. A slight negative: I found the lighting a bit dim.

The staff were friendly and provided useful information. If I had stayed another day, I would've enjoyed myself more, just walking in the town, visiting its market and a few tourist attractions.

A few guests had arranged for island hopping and snorkeling the next day, and I was invited to join them. We visited a private island in a marine reserve, and snorkeled to our heart's content. The sight of the coral fishes was amazing. After the boat trip, I could still catch the bus to Puerto Princesa that afternoon.

I won't mind staying here again if I can organize the same snorkeling trip. I think snorkeling here is better than in El Nido.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aborlan, Palawan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A little history for those visiting Palawan for the first time. The town of Taytay is a sleepy fishing village steeped in history, as evident from it's main attraction, Fort Isabela and the stunning breath taking views of it from the dining area of Casa Rosa. It's not hard to find, just ask and the townspeople will point you in the direction. The town is undergoing change and construction blocks some of the roads, but once you enter, you go up a steep incline. I drove and had a hard time maneuvering my vehicle in the tight space of parking. Not much space unless you ride a motorcycle. Also there are a lot of steps to climb to get to the reception area. Not conducive to disabled or the elderly. The Resort boasts cottages with stunning views, but much of the views are in the dining area as the grounds around the resort have grown high enough to block you views. Casa Rosa and Taytay get power only 12 hrs a day, starting at 6pm or so until 6am. The rooms are spacious and typical Filipino decor, nothing fancy, but clean. Overall okay for a day, but not much more. They did have good pizza at their restaurant.

Room Tip: check your hammock before lying in it, to make sure no strings our boards are worn. Some of my famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boracay, Philippines
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We only stayed one night in Taytay, enroute back to Puerto Princesa after a few days in El Nido.
Sadly, the rain arrived about 40 minutes after our arrival, but thankfully we had time to take in a quick walk around the fabulously intact fort.

Casa Rosa is one of the few places to stay in Taytay, which can be found online. There a number of little cottages, all situated in their own private gardens and with stunning views across the bay and of the fort. The cottages are built with heavy brick giving some coolness to your visit, as electricity is only available from 6pm-6am.

This does mean that showers are cold water only, which is no real hardship, but the owner told us that they will be installing hot water to the cottages very soon, which will be run by the on-site generator.

Our cottage was fan cooled, and had a four-poster bed with mosquito netting but I would definitely add mozzie-repellent to your suitcase, particularly in low/rainy season. We also had a table and chairs inside the room, as well as a table, chairs and hammock on a private veranda.

The restaurant serves delicious home-cooked American, Continental and Filippino foods and the breakfast was also a delight. there are books and games available in the restaurant for those rainy days when you don't want to leave the resort.

They also have a rather beautiful Doberman called Bruce, who loves a good lean against you whilst being patted.

The staff are incredibly helpful and are happy to chat with you or leave you to your solitude. The owners of Casa Rosa are also in the process of opening a private holiday resort, Noa Noa Island, which they recently purchased and re-developed. I was shown some of the photos and it does look stunning .. the website should be live by now, as I visited in July 2013

Taytay, and Casa Rosa are a great place to escape the hustle of everyday life and just relax.

However, what many people don't realise is that Taytay also offers a variety of tours, into the jungle, waterfalls, island hopping and dolphin watching & these can be booked at Casa Rosa. So don't just stop over en-route to El Nido or Puerto Princesa, factor in a couple of days and boast to your friends that you spent sometime in Taytay; a spot which I believe will grow in popularity over the next few years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Casa Rosa for a week in May 2013 after escaping from the busy and touristy El Nido. We took a (RoRo) bus from El Nido to Taytay and walked into town from the bus station. We soon found Casa Rosa in a beautiful location surrounded with nice trees and with the most fantastic view. We paid 700 Peso's for a double room (not a cottage) with bathroom. The food in the restaurant is a little bit more expensive than in town, but very nice. There's free wifi, but only when there is electricity (which is usually from 6 pm till 6 am). The staff is very friendly and so are all the people in town.

Room Tip: If you're on a budget ask them for the normal double rooms instead of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Rosa Taytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rosa Taytay

Address: Poblacion (Town Proper), Taytay, Palawan Island 5312, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Taytay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Taytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" Come to Casa Rosa for a taste of the real Palawan. Not a big tourist spot, just real people, big smile, best food and comfortable accommodation" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casa Rosa Taytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rosa Taytay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.