We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better waterfalls I've seen in my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katibawasan Falls

Katibawasan Falls
Sto. Nino Cold Springs | Camiguin Island, Mindanao, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Camiguin
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“One of the better waterfalls I've seen in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

That says a lot, coming from the land of Yosemite falls! I took a beautiful solo motorbike trip up here. The locals are very friendly if you need to stop for directions. The way to the falls is pretty well marked, though. Make sure and take photos of the falls from the top, and all the way down. I went around 4:30PM, and there weren't too many people. I was able to get photos with no people in them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    42
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taguig City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Review on Katibawasan Falls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Going there: Rent a motorbike with driver. Public mode of transportation there is not as frequent.

What to expect: Falls - a clean and cold one.
I did not swim but just took photos instead. Good place to relax and swim though. I heard it's deep, so stay safe.

There are stores outside to buy food and drinks.

No locker or anything like that. very spartan/ basic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacurong City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magnificent Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As time Passed by I realized that The world is a lot of beautiful place that you can discovered only in the Philippines like CAMIGUIN ISLAND especially KARIGBAWASAN FALLS... , Katigbasan falls is one of the most important Water Shed in the Mindanao!!!! I will definitely back in this island again!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camiguin, Philippines
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Too much cement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We used to walk from the last main road of Pandan connecting to the walk way to Katibawasan falls as a child. The thrill of walking on a green, fern infested walk way, the temperature getting cooler and the final sound of the rushing of the water fall is what remained of my childhood memories.
To add to the mystique is viewing the monkeys leisurely hanging on the sides of the rocks. Picnic on the giant rocks with just banana leaves. Then, the chilly pool and a shower right below the water pool.
Now, it is just cement, a monkey on a bamboo pool and garbage dropped off by the cleaners unto the ravine below.
Adding to the touristic atmosphere are the souvenir shops.
What a pity!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mystical katibawasan falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The uphill climb road,slippery during rainy season leading to the Katibawasan falls will surely discourage tourist to visit this attraction but once you are there you will be mesmerized by the beautiful cascading waterfall with its cool water to sooth your tired bodies. This place is perfect for picnic and family gatherings and the waterfall is the perfect backdraft for your photo shoot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katibawasan Falls also viewed

Camiguin, Mindanao
Camiguin, Mindanao
 
Camiguin, Mindanao
 

Been to Katibawasan Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katibawasan Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.