We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just the view...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Island

White Island
Mindanao, Philippines
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Camiguin
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“just the view...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I enjoyed the island because of the good view when you are on the island and i appreciate the short ride going there. The only disappointment was there were a lot of stores selling food and stuff but no one was renting out snorkle or goggles there. These can be rented only before boarding the boat for the island, which is surprising because for me these are basic needs when visiting islands like these. The island has very white and fine sand.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KSA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“just a small strip but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

one of the 2 white beaches in Camiguin, its really just a strip of island with white sand about 10-15 minutes by boat from a small dock near paras beach. some enterprising fellows set up a few shades with seats which you can use for a fee. the children loved the area, quite nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wait for a cloud-free view if possible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is simply breathtaking. Luckily I had a good clear view on my very LAST day on Camiguin. I waited and waited for it...and it paid off. Beautiful photos and memories. I think it was low tide when I was there, which was also lucky. Ask for the boatman Gerald, and tell him Nathan from California says hi! He was a great guy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“White sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It is a sand bar. The only white sand area in the island. My advise is to cross to the island the earliest allowable time. This would allow you to relax and spend enough time to enjoy the island. By 10am you should be going back to the main island as the waves and wind will be very strong by then. It is a short (small) ferry ride across but still it would be best to be safe. The island itself is glorious! Powdery white sands. You will get a good view of the Hibok Hibok volcano across. Big umbrellas will be available for P150 for you to take shelter. There are vendors selling food for brunch or breakfast. You must try the sea urchin, the yellow stuff they put on a Japanese bento. It is a sand bar, so there is no bathroom. There are rentals of snorkeling gears before you board the ferry but the island itself is not a snorkeling site so you might want to skip renting. If in doubt, do rent life jackets. The waters surrounding the sand bar is pretty rough. But overall it was a beautiful stay and a sight to behold. You must not miss going to the island when in Camiguin

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Snorkeling fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a nice place where you could watch some fishes underwater. Water is clear and sand is very white! Water gets deep in the afternoon so to those who dont know how to swim, dont go too far because you won't notice the water slowly deepens :) Make sure to bring your mask and snorkel for some underwater fun! There's a mini store that sells chips for as far as I remember, was at a reasonable price. No shades or trees so better bring your tent if you wish to stay there for hours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Island also viewed

 

Been to White Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.