We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to see the Cotswold and other areas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kooky Cotswold Day Tours

Kooky Cotswold Day Tours
Langley Cottage | Upper Lea Farm, Swalcliffe OX15 6ET, England
00447779400421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Swalcliffe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: kook·y –adjective, kook·i·er, kook·i·est. Slang . of, like, or pertaining to a kook; eccentric, strange, or foolish. At Kooky Cotswold Tours we make sure you see the best of what's on offer – plus a little bit of what you never knew existed. What you'll get with Kooky Cotswold Tours are all the well known best bits plus everything else in between that most people visiting the Cotswolds never get to see;  we venture down hidden lanes in smaller groups, which allows us to get a little deeper into the countryside to see the real charm of this part of England. We create bespoke Cotswolds Tours to suit any taste.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see the Cotswold and other areas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to have a look around the Cotswald area over 2 days in early December 2012. Not keen to hire a car in the middle of winter we booked Kooky tours for 2 days of personal sightseeing. Lee was extremely accommodating and put together an itinerary which met all our requirements. We had prebooked accommodation and Lee was more than happy and obliging to pick us up and drop us off each day at different locations. Lee was very professional, punctual, relaxed and easy to talk to. He is knowledgeable of the areas visited and showed us villages and told us their stories which we would never have found out about on our own. Very good value for money and would highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Get this guy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lee took us to the Cotswolds and Heartbeat country(N Yorkshire) over 3 days (2 nights).He was punctual, knowledgeable,easy to get on with and entirely professional.He booked excellent accommodation and his suggested stops were all good.The cost was reasonable (even perhaps modest).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kooky Cotswolds Exceeds Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I booked this tour as a single traveler looking for a unique experience that wasn’t offered in conventional tours. Communication with Lee was easy and we came up with an itinerary that worked with what I hoped to see: at least two Cotswolds towns, and the Stonehenge and Avebury stone circles. He makes conversation easy, is patient with very frequent photo stops, and is full of interesting insights, stories, and atypical facts about where he takes his clients. A tour with just a guide and one individual could have been awkward, but I had a wonderful day and felt that while it was expensive, it was worth every pound spent! I would highly suggest anyone looking for a unique experience to book with Kooky Cotswolds Tours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I booked our one-day guided tour with Kooky Cotswolds Tours based on a blind Internet search and some added reviews. Lee, our exceptional tour guide, made a rainy but beautiful tour of the Cotswolds very special for our group of four. He showed up at our B&B on time and proceeded to pack a very full and interesting tour with personalized stops. His knowledge of the area is exceptional, and he took the time to make sure we were getting a great experience. We stayed away from the more commercialized villages, instead seeking out more remote locations.
A highlight was a very rainy, muddy hike on the footpath through the sheep meadow between Lower and Upper Slaughter. It was a great way to see beyond the streets.
As a bonus, Lee offered to take us the next day from Stratford-Upon-Avon to Blenheim for a tour of that estate. Then he took us right to our hotel in downtown London. This was incredibly helpful as we were going to attempt to go by train, taxi subway and foot- a logistical challenge. He saved the day!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“More Than Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I had the extreme pleasure to visit the Coswolds with Lee as our guide for 3 days. We have worked with many guides in many parts of the world and Lee is absolutely the best! He is a true professional. Most importantly, he has a vast knowledge of the Coswolds (and more parts of the world). As he shares his knowledge of the area it is clear that he loves what he does. Lee's communication during the email booking process was incredible. He provided a detailed but flexible itinerary prior to our arrival and we enjoyed every minute of our time with him. Lee has a great sense of humor and while we toured around the beautiful Coswolds we had quite a few laughs. We also had fun swapping travel tales with Lee.

Thank you Lee, for making the end of our trip to England one of the most memorable travel experiences we have ever had. We would highly recommend Lee as your guide in the Coswolds and beyond!
Rick and Carol

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooky Cotswold Day Tours also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Snowshill, Cotswolds
 

Been to Kooky Cotswold Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kooky Cotswold Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.