We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woman owner- shockingly rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cock Inn

Cock Inn
Heath Road, Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone ME17 4JD, England
01622 743166
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Boughton Monchelsea is a picturesque Kentish village that is home to the Cock Inn, a divine Elizabethan rural inn and restaurant which is filled with low beamed ceilings, an Inglenook fireplace, hand-written blackboard menus and general good cheer. The Cock Inn is dog and walker friendly ��� free biscuits and towels for the dogs, and a warm welcome to the walkers ��� and specialties from the restaurant kitchen include the seafood platters, the belly pork with crisp crackling and Brambly apple mash, and the slow-roasted braised lamb shank with minted gravy on a bed of creamy mash.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Woman owner- shockingly rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went here with 8 friends after work on a weeknight wanting a quick drink. Walked into the pub in which my friend ordered 4 drinks and wanted to pay by card.. The woman behind the bar said 'oh for gods sake don't tell me your all going to be paying by card'. Bearing in mind these 4 drinks came to over £15 it was totally unjustified. After serving my friend she decided to say 'wait there I have to deal with someone else before you as they have booked' as if it was a real trouble us visiting her pub. The service was incredibly rude and my friends and I were gutted we actually gave these people our money.

Word of warning, if you want to be spoken to rude and challenged on using a card for four drinks or more..look no further.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    10
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building, lovely staff, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The Cock is about 8 miles from us, and we are extremely lucky to have several great restaurants well within the same distance, but whenever we fancy a traditional British Sunday lunch this is where we always go. The food is fabulous, cooked to perfection and served in very generous portions. If a Sunday Roast is not your thing, they still offer the main menu on Sundays, which is also very good. Mine Hosts and their staff are all lovely and very welcoming, and the service is extremely efficient.

The ancient building has been lovingly cared for and is so beautiful, inside and out. Any tourists looking for a glimpse of Kentish history should come here, if only for a drink, just to appreciate the experience of sitting in such a fabulous old place.






Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good hospitality and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Convenient location, good sized car park. Nothing to dislike really. Nice quaint old-fashioned pub with a great name!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently called in here on a day out. Excellent greeting from the lady behind the bar, made us feel really welcome immediately.
Wonderful old pub, Mind your head on the beams if you are tall! Good selection of beers. Kentish Best in prime condition went down well.
I had a warm baguette with hot roast beef & horseradish - beautifully tender. 1 of my companions had Coronation Chicken baguette and my other had a cheese baguette. Both of them really enjoyed their choices.
As I said, well worth the visit. Will be back again - soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Made the evening really special lovely food and service never disappoints.
Can't believe that some people put negative reviews don't believe try for yourself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock Inn also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.