We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Made Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cock Inn

Cock Inn
Heath Road, Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone ME17 4JD, England
01622 743166
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Boughton Monchelsea is a picturesque Kentish village that is home to the Cock Inn, a divine Elizabethan rural inn and restaurant which is filled with low beamed ceilings, an Inglenook fireplace, hand-written blackboard menus and general good cheer. The Cock Inn is dog and walker friendly ��� free biscuits and towels for the dogs, and a warm welcome to the walkers ��� and specialties from the restaurant kitchen include the seafood platters, the belly pork with crisp crackling and Brambly apple mash, and the slow-roasted braised lamb shank with minted gravy on a bed of creamy mash.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home Made Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided on Sunday not to cook Sunday lunch but go out our first instinct is always The Cock Inn as they not only welcome dogs (better behaved than kids they say!) they cook an absolutely gorgeous Sunday lunch we're always made so welcome.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    27
    8
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for somewhere to eat and came across this pub and decided to give it a try. Extensive menu which normally worries me however the food was amazing. I had the chicken faitias and hubby had steak pie. We were first to order so it came out in 10minutes! It was a bit overpriced with puddings costing nearly £6 each, however I don't mind paying that little bit extra if it is worth it. Lovely old style pub. they had a seperate restaurant but we ate in the bar area which was just as nice. Would recommend and return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Saturday night at The Cock Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent Beers and Wines, the Red taht was recomended was a fine choice. The Landlord and staff were friendly and the service was excellent, The Pub itself is old world, and has much going for it. However the food was average and a bit on the expensive side. Not fine dinning, there are many Pubs in the area, serving better food. I am not saying don't give it a try, but I have had better food for less money. Overall we all had a good night,.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Real home cooked food, lovely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for dinner, the food was excellant, the pub is lovely, and a very welcoming pub. Well worth a visit, would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Cock Inn is either tired/quaint depending on your point of view. A sign outside described the food as "fine dining" however the belly pork I had (for £14) could hardly be described in that way, in fact it was quite gristly. One plus: I mentioned I was in a hurry and the food came before the kitchen had officially opened. If it wasn't for that fact, this would have been a two star review I am afraid.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock Inn also viewed

Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.