We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Down Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Down Guest House
Save
You added West Down Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Little Eastacombe, Atherington, Umberleigh EX37 9HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Atherington B&B and Inns
Seaton Delaval, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first stay here and we found the room (Swallow) well adapted for my wife who has limited mobility.
We had a delightful time, very relaxing location and atmosphere with plenty of opportunity to photograph birds feeding.
A convenient location for discovering the delights of North Devon. Brenda and Roger are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have had three visits all brilliant. The food is really good and Brenda and Roger are such great hosts. We will be going again but must try out a different time of the year. Hopefully we will be able to sit out in the garden and enjoy the lovely view.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had been to Ilfracombe visiting relations and wanted a two night stop over in the Chittlehampton area to catch up with friends staying there for a week. I found West Down on the Internet and my what a find!! We stayed in the annex - a lovely room and Brenda had thought of everything. Spotlessly clean and so...... Comfy. The breakfasts were amazing and all in all a great find. We shall certainly be back.

Room Tip: The annex is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been coming for 14 years and this was the best holiday yet. Brenda's food is always good but she tried out some new recipes this year and they were even better than usual.
We had our 3 year old granddaughter with us and there was another young child and Amy did a wonderful Egg Hunt for them and the conservatory was decorated by the Easter Bunny!
This really is a family friendly place and the whole family join in to make guests welcome even the grandchildren.
Even the weather was good if cold. Can't wait to go back. Thankyou Brenda and Roger and all the family.
Margaret & Don

Room Tip: The outside rooms are best for guests with limited mobility but they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Everything about the visit was excellent. The room was lovely, everything provided that you would need ,really comfortable bed and lovely hosts that couldn't do enough for you.Great breakfast provided that kept you going all day with produce used from the farm itself that morning. Would liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmsolutions, Public Relations Manager at West Down Guest House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your visit and taking the time to post a kind review. We were very pleased to meet you, pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and especially our West Country breakfast. We hope that we can welcome you back to West Down Guest house at some point in the future for a longer stay.
Roger & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our tenth or eleventh annual golf trip (May 2012), mostly to France but recently to the west country. Eight golfers from Southerndown all thought it was the nicest accommodation and best food of any of the trips. If Roger and Brenda could have sorted out the weather it would have been unbeatable!

Room Tip: Don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our first visit to West Down. Brenda and Roger are wonderful hosts and really made us feel at home. Everything from the beautiful rooms, wonderful food and hospitality make this a fabulous place to relax and unwind. We have already booked for next year and are taking a friend with us. Thank you Brenda and Roger.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Down Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Down Guest House

Address: Little Eastacombe, Atherington, Umberleigh EX37 9HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh > Atherington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Atherington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — West Down Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Down is an AA award-winning guest house which offers friendly, exceptional value B&B accommodation for your North Devon holiday or short break. We are AA **** Highly Commended with the AA Dinner Award every year since 1997 and recently awarded the North Devon Super Service Award and Best Guest House Award. Our meals are freshly prepared using produce from our own gardens wherever possible, and produce from trusted local West Country suppliers. West Down are happy to cater for your dietary requirements. We have recently added a wheelchair accessible room with full wet-room facilities and another room with ramp access from the car park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Down Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.