We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in all respects” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Down Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Down Guest House
Save
You added West Down Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Little Eastacombe, Atherington, Umberleigh EX37 9HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Atherington B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found West Down through looking for somewhere near RHS Rosemoor. I was very sceptical as the reviews were all excellent but I shouldn't have been. From the first minute we arrived Brenda and Roger treated us as long lost friends. Tea and cakes were offered as soon as we arrived and that set the scene. Our room was more than just well appointed, it had much that multi starred hotels could learn from. From pre drinks through an excellent dinner and 'belt tightening' home made desserts to coffee and mints everything was first class. The location couldn't have been better and as my wife and I sat during breakfast watching the finches, sparrows and woodpecker feed it was an easy decision to plan our next visit to West Down. It is clearly one of Devon's best guest houses and deserves all the awards Brenda and Roger has been given.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our second visit to West Down, been thoroughly spoilt and cared for by Brenda and Roger, enjoyed every moment. Everything about West Down is exceptional, (except the weather this time, which was awful) We highly recommend staying at West Down and will be definately returning next year. Much to see in North Devon and its so good to return to West Down after a long day sightseeing, knowing you will be greeted with a lovely dinner and laughter from our hosts. H & S.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing four day break with Brenda and Roger. From the tea and home made cakes on arrival to the coffee and chocolates in the lounge after our meals all was excellent. The en-suite room was comfortable, spotless and well appointed with everything you might wish for. To sum up great location, excellent breakfasts and dinners, spotless and well appointed rooms and Brenda and Roger were wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: If you want a bath as well as a shower ask for a room in the extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Following a recommendation from friends, we went to West Down for a four night stay with high expectations - and we were not disappointed. In fact, everything about West Down exceeded those expectations - from the welcoming cup of tea and cakes on arrival to the last breakfast before leaving, everything was excellent. The room was immaculate, the meals were first class and the hospitality second to none. Brenda and Roger make you feel so welcome, it is like being at home with friends. Add to this the location and the views from the rooms, it really is a superb spot from which you can enjoy the beautiful County of Devon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marwood room - no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alveston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were recomended to stay at this guest house and were not disappointed with our first stay. Brenda & Roger were very welcoming and attentive hosts.
The rooms and their en-suites were very well appointed with everything we could wish for supplied -including Devon fudge!!

We stayed on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis which we would highly recommend. The food was excellent and well presented by Brenda. The gardens were great with the focus on birds and the pond.
We cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Just ask Brenda for her advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This B&B is amazing. The rooms are so well equipped and immaculately clean with absolutely everything thought about for the quests' comfort. The garden is beautiful and whilst you eat in the conservatory, watching the birds using the feeders, is a delight. Do have the evening meals, Brenda is a great cook whilst Roger is the life and soul of the party (thanks for the cider Roger!) in fact they are the best of hosts.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This was our second visit and will not be our last. We endorse all that has already been said in earlier reviews and highlight the imaginative choice of food, perfectly cooked and locally produced. The warmth and generosity of our hosts is an experience not to be missed. Plenty to do in the vicinity, but the home is comfortable and there is always the option of staying in to relax and admire the colourful garden and lots of birds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Down Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Down Guest House

Address: Little Eastacombe, Atherington, Umberleigh EX37 9HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Umberleigh > Atherington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Atherington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — West Down Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Down is an AA award-winning guest house which offers friendly, exceptional value B&B accommodation for your North Devon holiday or short break. We are AA **** Highly Commended with the AA Dinner Award every year since 1997 and recently awarded the North Devon Super Service Award and Best Guest House Award. Our meals are freshly prepared using produce from our own gardens wherever possible, and produce from trusted local West Country suppliers. West Down are happy to cater for your dietary requirements. We have recently added a wheelchair accessible room with full wet-room facilities and another room with ramp access from the car park. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Down Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.