We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Mawgan-In-Meneage | Helston, Mawgan, Helston TR 12 6AD, England
+44 1326 221240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mawgan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, English
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I enjoyed a lovely meal here on a Saturday evening. Everything about our meal was excellent! The service, food, atmosphere and price were all brilliant.

We were made very welcome by the staff and the atmosphere was very cosy, just what we were looking for on a winter evening. Our three course meals were cooked perfectly!

We will definitely return here when in the area again and would recommend this restaurant to anyone! Thank you for a lovely evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    14
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lizard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic service & food to boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Being local to the area we frequent The Ship Inn fairly often. We always have a warm welcome & know the food is guaranteed to be excellent. There is a lovely atmosphere about the place. It's a good idea to book as it's always busy. We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Probably my favourite restaurant in the UK.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I recently found The Ship Inn while staying at The Lizard while on holiday in Cornwall. It was a stumble find using the internet as we couldn't find anywhere to eat at Porthleven, and we are immensely glad we found it.

We loved the food and service at The Ship Inn so much that we are there twice during our week long stay, and if we'd found it earlier, we probably would have eaten there every night.

The service is absolutely outstanding, we couldn't fault it at all. They also offer little nice touches like bringing a vase of chilled water to your table without asking on arrival. The Ship Inn is also very dog friendly, with our dog allowed anywhere in the restaurant, which is spacious, tastefully decorated, clean and very homely.

The menu - I defy you to get better value for money for the quality anywhere. My husband and I ate out every night of our 7 night stay, and of those seven nights, The Ship Inn was the least expensive of them all and had the best menu and quality of food by far!! Seriously, we ate in many pubs and restaurants within a 40 mile radius of Lizard Point, and all others offered sub standard food with horrendous service at ridiculous costs.

On both evenings the service and food were consistent which we were absolutely thrilled by (this has never happened to us before) and we rave about the restaurant to anyone that will listen. The next time either of us has a special occasion to celebrate, we'll be making the 5 hour drive and staying locally to eat here.

I read some of the other reviews before writing my own, and I simply can't believe any negative reviews. With my husband being a chef, he can vouch for the fact that everything we ate was fresh, freshly prepared and cooked and also with fantastic presentation (something so few can master).

We both sincerely hope that this gem of a restaurant doesn't change and we can enjoy many more enjoyable evenings to come.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Delivering excellence every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Although we visit The Ship regularly I felt the need to once again praise their excellence. Hosting a charity evening they delivered a three course meal for almost 50 people, all seated at the same time piping hot and perfectly presented. Delicious leek and potato soup with crème fraiche and croutons, melt in the mouth belly pork topped with crispy crackling and served with creamy potato mash and wonderfully freshly cooked veg was followed by superb apple strudel and ice cream. Everything looking and tasting top class. Well done Greg and Alli Laskey for your hard work and terrific results.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Disappointed, to say the least! Having been recommended by close friend and college, decided to give The Ship Inn a go. The place is pretty and well presented, however the food and service is woefully lacking! The belly pork was fatty and potatoe offering was dry (only comparable with dehydrated packet muck!) my companion had the fish cakes and felt that had better tasting fish fingers! I do also like to have drinks served or at least offered at the table.
To conclude, we shall not be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allihelston, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Shallymoo 40
As restaurateurs we welcome constructive criticism, it helps us ensure that we don’t let our standards drop.
I can assure you that the 16 hrs a day that Greg works ensures that nothing comes out of our kitchen from a packet we produce everything fresh from scratch, Every table is asked if they would like anything else when their food is served this would perhaps be a good time to ask for drinks, we are very happy to offer table service but most of our customers seem very happy given our £19.95 cost for 3 courses to go to the bar for their drinks.

Perhaps being at the end of a very very busy season and without a break for 30 weeks means we might not be understandably at our best.

As your party left happy and smiling, we had no reason to think that there were any problems on the night. All we can say is that we’re sorry you didn’t enjoy the evening – next time perhaps talk to the staff at the time rather than take any issues away with you – if we had been made aware of any problems we could have acted to rectify them there and then.

Please do give us another chance, as you can see from the rest of our reviews (even from a party of twenty-eight celebrating a 50th wedding anniversary) we almost always get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 
Porthallow, Helston
Helston, Cornwall
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.