We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Mawgan, Helston TR 12 6AD, England
+44 1326 221240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Mawgan
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Been here a few times, great food, friendly staff and warm, welcoming surroundings. I would recommend any pork dish they do, as it is always spot on. Reasonable prices and delicious puddings...you can't go wrong!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    13
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food here is always good. Service great. We go there very often. The décor is a little old but do not let this put you off.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Words cannot describe how wonderful the ship inn is. All I can say is if you are around the area its a must visit! The food is out of this world and to make it even better the atmosphere and staff are very warm and welcoming.
A definate 5 star location! :-)
Kara T.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality of food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Hearing of the restaurants reputation, a friend and I decided to book a table here for us and four other friends, and our experience and meal surpassed all expectations. From the moment we entered we were greeted warmly and, despite being extremely busy on a mid week evening (the restaurant and bar area were both brimming), were looked after attentively throughout. Between the table we ordered three steaks (which were all cooked to perfection), a belly of pork, the duck and the skate wing (followed by numerous delicious desserts) and each one of us were delighted with both the food presentation and portion size, but more importantly the taste. For a countryside pub, the standard was far superior to most fine dining restaurants and out of all the places I have eaten in cornwall, this has to be right up there at the top, and certainly the best quality in this area. On behalf of all of us, I wanted to thank you for such an amazing evening and for looking after us so well - exceptional and friendly service, brilliant wine and good choice of ale, brilliant atmosphere and sensational food. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good, you'll enjoy yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were staying in a holiday cottage down the road and heard from the owner it was pretty good so we decided to try out a meal. We walked there, and did book, although they did not have us down for some reason, wasn't a problem as there were free tables (it was early December FYI). We had a lovely pate & toast for starters, game pie and veg for main, and pannacota for pudd. My game pie did have a piece of shot in it but no biggie as the shot is very hard to find in pheasant. The pie tasted lovely; lots of meat & good pastry, and the veg was perfect; not too hard, not too soft and very hot. The pudd was lovely and REALLY tasty, as thought it has been made in Italy. The waitress was very friendly and efficient and actually although we were 'Cornish outsiders' we were made to feel very welcome. It was very homely in there with interesting things on the wall, and the wood burner was raging and smelt lovely. We thought the cost was very reasonable, and I think the whole 3 course meal for two, plus two glasses of white wine (house white & very fruity) & two pints of beer came to roughly £30 odd quid which was very good. We visit this part of Cornwall alot, and although there is the Halzephron near by, I would say this place is on an equal par, but better setting wise. Drop in, I don't think you'll be disappointed, we will go again next time we're in the vaccinty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Helston, Cornwall
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.