We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complete” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malangen Brygger

Save Saved
You added Malangen Brygger to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malangen Brygger
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Strandveien 90 | Skutvik, Malangen, Nordby 9262, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nordby B&B and Inns
Barnsley S.Yorks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“complete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

As the title says they have a complete package , i went with my son and two grandsons. Had a late arrival but instructions ,key and relative information was left for us at reception . The following morning we were welcomed and given all information to enjoy our stay .We had a boat for 6 days and the freedom of the fjords . The boats are well maintained and simple to use.The fishing facilities on the quay are very good, slightly limited fishing tackle to buy but just about everything's included, live jackets etc Cottage was exceptionable i have never been somewhere so well equipt even down to dishwasher tablets . We had number 1 with unspoiled views the length of the fjord Last but not least the friendliness of the Norwegian people especially Katrin on reception great job Ron& Family

Room Tip: all are brill fishermans cottages along the waterside there was even luxury ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Malangen Brygger have great potential, but unfortunately the staff seems unprofessional and the whole concept seems a bit premature. My husband had booked a superior room for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotels website promised good food, wonderful surroundings, nice rooms and the gem itself: an outdoor Jacuzzi and a sauna. The surroundings were amazing, so no complaints there! The room was very nice indeed, but a bit cold, and the spotlights in the room kept flickering to the degree that we turned of the lights not get to dizzy. The room was overall clean, but we found some old bloodstains on the bed, yuck....
We had our 3-course dinner in the hotel restaurant. The waiter was nice, but he didn't seem very experienced. The food was ok, but far from great. The salad was somewhat soggy and did not taste fresh, the steak was a bit dry and the dessert tasted as it had been frozen and thawed. The chicken with broccoli and paprika puree did however taste amazing.
After dinner we wanted to relax in the sauna and outdoor jacuzzi, only to be told that this was not possible unless we had booked it on beforehand. Now some other guests had beat us to it, and had booked both the sauna and the jacuzzi, so that it wouldn't be able for us to use either that afternoon or evening. We checked and double-checked the website, but there was no information about pre-booking the sauna/jacuzzi what so ever!!! A huge disappointment!
When my husband complained about our stay (both regarding the bloodstains in the bed, the unavailable sauna/jacuzzi, and the food) the lady at the front desk, who was also the manager, paid little attention to the feedback. She actually insisted that my husband was wrong about his feedback, and didn’t want to give compensation or even an apology. When my husband said that we would write this on TripAdvisor she also told him that if she found us writing something that was incorrect about their business, we would be very sorry and would be in trouble. My husband felt threatened and really uncomfortable! After about 30 minutes of arguing, we ended up getting a small discount on the room and what seemed to be a forced excuse regarding the state of the room and the unavailable sauna/Jacuzzi, but no apology for threatening my husband.
Conclusion: a beautiful place with great potential, but terrible service and an overall unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Malangen brygger is a wonderful place, it is sunny, the views are magnificent and there are a few nice activities. The rooms/huts are modern, spacious and clean, all face the water. However, the service is not on par with the rooms, and many of the rooms (which are privately owned) lack items promised in the description. This time our hut did not have a electric water-kettle, and the double bed was just a large single bed, but definitely not a double bed. They charged for a babycrib, but did not have any bedding or sheets for it. Our 2-year old slept in a regular bed and could stay for free, but the baby was charge for dispte the missing bedding. Breakfast is ok, but the buffee was slightly disappointing. New management could do miracles with Malangen brygger, but as it is I would definitely recommend Sommarøy Arctic Hotel to any tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a wedding weekend nearby. We got a room in the hotel building, and the view was quite simply amazing. High standard and excellent in every way. Wa also tried the restaurant, and it was ok, nothing overly fancy, but decent. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We also got a good price, so we're very happy with everything. Definitely coming back for another stay soon!

Room Tip: We don't know how the cabins and huts are, but the rooms were great with the bed fronting the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieterlen
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although this hotel is in a real deserted area and a bit away from Tromsö, it is definitely worth a visit. The rooms are very modern with stylish furnitures and lamps. The bathroom is big and also very modern. The view is simply stunning. We happened to be there on a beautiful sunny day and the midnight sun was outstanding.

The food they serve at the Restaurant is delicious and the entire staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in a Fisherman's cottage. The view is spectacular. The cottage is comfortable and clean and satisfies the basic needs and that was all we needed. The restaurant area is very well equipped and the breakfast was quite good.

We were leaving for Lofoten Islands the next day and never had a chance to explore the area but I'm sure we'd find it amazing if we had.

All in all, I think this is a cool place to stay while in Tromso if you love nature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I (early 30s) traveled to Malangen for the two-night Northern Lights package in late January 2013 to celebrate our honeymoon. The "resort" picked us up promptly at the Tromso airport, a nice surprise considering that we were supposed to wait until 6PM for the ride (that would have been a four+ hour wait). One note: always have cash on you in the Arctic Circle; our debit cards did not work at the grocery store we went to in the middle of nowhere (an ATM would be like 30 minutes away), and we did not have enough cash to purchase food and drinks for our stay (key word: nowhere--the best part of the trip!). This realization was distressing, especially since I am a vegetarian and we didn't really understand what we were getting into. Anyway, we survived without the extras, as Malangen itself is prepared to take care of you. Bring a flask if you'd like to drink up at the lavvo; you can buy shots of alcohol at the bar, but it is highly restricted and also expensive to drink anywhere in Norway, and so lugging around bottles of wine can become worth it very quickly (if you drink, that is). Everyone who worked at Malangen was helpful, kind, and funny. Much of your trip might be scheduled according to activities, so this short stay is a refreshing break where you can chill out, hike around, enjoy the peace, cherish the wilderness, enjoy privacy, and experience the Norwegian winter in relative isolation. We didn't see the NL there, unfortunately, but we still enjoyed the M-W trip. (We didn't see Aurora on a Tromso dog sledding trip either, and ultimately had to take a 10+ hour bus trip just to see them--totally worth it though!). We had a problem with the heat one night, but the front desk is not staffed overnight, which stressed me out (I am a native Floridian). But we fixed it eventually and were fine. Snowshoes, polar suits, sauna (private, and with a panoramic view), and a few other things are included in the rate. It's not an ordinary lodging option, it's a once-in-a-lifetime novelty of sorts. DO IT.

Room Tip: Any grade of accommodations seems worthy. Closest to the lobby/restaurant is best so as to limit th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malangen Brygger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malangen Brygger

Address: Strandveien 90 | Skutvik, Malangen, Nordby 9262, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Nordby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nordby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malangen Brygger 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malangen Brygger er et idyllisk hotell og rorbuanlegg med tilhorende kurs- og konferanseasiliteter. Hos oss kan du spise god mat, nyte vakker natur, oppleve hoy komfort og service og overnatte i hotellrom av hoy standard, luksuriose rorbuer, hytter eller leiligheter. Enten du skal pa konferanse eller onsker a ta en tur med hele familien kan vi pa Malangen Brygger legge til rette for et uforglemmelig opphold med mange spennende aktiviteter. Ferielandsby med hoystandard overnatting og rikholdig aktivitetsprogram: • Leiligheter: 2 soverom, stue/kjokkenhjorne og bad • Toetasjes hytter: 3 soverom, stue/kjokkenhjorne og bad • Toetasjes rorbuer: 3 soverom, stue/kjokkenhjorne og bad • Luksusrorbuer: 3 soverom, stue/kjokkenhjorne og 2 bad. Noen ogsa med badstue og utebad. • Alle kjokken fullt utstyrt. Sengetoy inngar. Sluttrengjoring etter avtale. • Lekeareal for barn, volleyballbane ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Malangen Brygger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malangen Brygger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.