We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malangen Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Malangen Resort to your Saves list
Malangen Resort
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Skutvik | Mestervik, Nordby 9055, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nordby B&B and Inns
Pieterlen
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Simply worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although this hotel is in a real deserted area and a bit away from Tromsö, it is definitely worth a visit. The rooms are very modern with stylish furnitures and lamps. The bathroom is big and also very modern. The view is simply stunning. We happened to be there on a beautiful sunny day and the midnight sun was outstanding.

The food they serve at the Restaurant is delicious and the entire staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in a Fisherman's cottage. The view is spectacular. The cottage is comfortable and clean and satisfies the basic needs and that was all we needed. The restaurant area is very well equipped and the breakfast was quite good.

We were leaving for Lofoten Islands the next day and never had a chance to explore the area but I'm sure we'd find it amazing if we had.

All in all, I think this is a cool place to stay while in Tromso if you love nature.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I (early 30s) traveled to Malangen for the two-night Northern Lights package in late January 2013 to celebrate our honeymoon. The "resort" picked us up promptly at the Tromso airport, a nice surprise considering that we were supposed to wait until 6PM for the ride (that would have been a four+ hour wait). One note: always have cash on you in the Arctic Circle; our debit cards did not work at the grocery store we went to in the middle of nowhere (an ATM would be like 30 minutes away), and we did not have enough cash to purchase food and drinks for our stay (key word: nowhere--the best part of the trip!). This realization was distressing, especially since I am a vegetarian and we didn't really understand what we were getting into. Anyway, we survived without the extras, as Malangen itself is prepared to take care of you. Bring a flask if you'd like to drink up at the lavvo; you can buy shots of alcohol at the bar, but it is highly restricted and also expensive to drink anywhere in Norway, and so lugging around bottles of wine can become worth it very quickly (if you drink, that is). Everyone who worked at Malangen was helpful, kind, and funny. Much of your trip might be scheduled according to activities, so this short stay is a refreshing break where you can chill out, hike around, enjoy the peace, cherish the wilderness, enjoy privacy, and experience the Norwegian winter in relative isolation. We didn't see the NL there, unfortunately, but we still enjoyed the M-W trip. (We didn't see Aurora on a Tromso dog sledding trip either, and ultimately had to take a 10+ hour bus trip just to see them--totally worth it though!). We had a problem with the heat one night, but the front desk is not staffed overnight, which stressed me out (I am a native Floridian). But we fixed it eventually and were fine. Snowshoes, polar suits, sauna (private, and with a panoramic view), and a few other things are included in the rate. It's not an ordinary lodging option, it's a once-in-a-lifetime novelty of sorts. DO IT.

Room Tip: Any grade of accommodations seems worthy. Closest to the lobby/restaurant is best so as to limit th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in a fishermans cottage which was really well equipped and comfortable. Although freezing outside, we felt the cottage was too hot even though we turned the heating off on our first evening and we ended up opening windows. The cottage had the most amazing view over the fiord and the mountains which were covered in snow. We had booked the northern lights package which included breakfast both mornings in the hotel which was excellent with a good choice of food. We also had one evening meal with no choice of food which was okay if you like fish. Our second evening was spent at a camp in the wilderness and served soup, cake and chocolate and not for the hearty eater. We were blessed with seeing the northern lights from seven to eleven and it was just magical and in the perfect setting away from crowds of people. We felt this was definitely better than being on a bus 'chasing' the lights. We found all the staff friendly and helpful and appreciated the use of the kick-sleds, toboggans and snow shoes all being free to use as and when you wanted. A good tip would be to take your own supply of basic groceries with you because there are no shops locally.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a view! Overlooking the Fjord. It was quiet in the period that we stayed here and we got offered an apartment instead of a hotel room. Advantage is that you have more room for yourself and can cook. We had our first meal in the hotel. A total of 6 persons had diner in the hotel that night so you eat what`s been served.Exciting, I don't eat fish, but I had a lovely meal! Apartment is basic, it is fully equipped and has a stunning view. A disadvantage is that the bedroom is at the back. Camp Nikka is very special, you order a pile of wood to be brought up to the camp for you and go chase the Northen Lights! Dogsledding is also an absolute must do! What a special experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on our Northern light hunt. Our chalet was beautiful. The fittings were all wood and it was clean, pristine and beautifully warm, with beautiful views.However, the heating instructions were all in Norwegian and there was no tea or coffee, or milk to make late night drinks when reception had closed. If we had been told about this we would have brought some with us as there was no shop on site to buy anything.We actually thought we were staying in the hotel not one of the chalets before we arrived. Also be warned, the whole site is icy, icy, icy and it would be very easy to have a very bad fall without taking a huge amount of care.
Breakfasts are good and the reception staff are really, really helpful and kind. The evening meal we had here was one of the best meals I ate in Norway, although no choice of menu.
The snowshoeing in the hills was fun but it is a pity that there were not more activities available. I would like to stay here again in the summer.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in a chalet take some food supplies with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

a perfect place to stay with family or friends. Our cabin was really nice and there was everything we needed. We had seen the northern light at the camp Nikka (15 min walking, an amazing place) and also from our balcony!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malangen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malangen Resort

Address: Skutvik | Mestervik, Nordby 9055, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Nordby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nordby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malangen Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malangen Resort is resort in Balsfjord, Northern Norway, providing high quality accommodation, dining and activities for the corporate and leisure markets. This modern, purpose-built resort has an idyllic waterfront location on the picturesque Malangen Peninsula, just an hour's drive from Tromso, the largest city in Northern Norway. During the winter season, we aim to be the leading Northern Lights resort in the Tromso region, providing complete solutions involving transport, accommodation, dining and Northern Lights adventures. This is the perfect place for business or pleasure, offering a unique combination of fjord and mountain and everything needed for a memorable stay within easy walking distance. Accommodation is available in a choice of hotel room, apartment, sea-view cabin, deluxe sea-view cabin or deluxe waterfront cabin - all offering a high standard of quality and comfort and spectacular views. Our restaurant specialises in North Norwegian cuisine made from fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Malangen Resort has a total of 88 accommodation units and can accommodate up to 360 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Malangen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malangen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.