We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me and my dog week-end trip to Devon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Yelland Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lower Yelland Farm
Save
You added Lower Yelland Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Yelland, Barnstaple EX31 3EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Yelland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Me and my dog week-end trip to Devon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed here for one night but hope to go back. The breakfast was lovely as was the area around Lower Yelland. I booked a single room with a shower and in passing on the phone mentioned to Peter I was hoping for a bath as I only have a shower in my home and a bath would be a luxury. On arrival to my complete surprise Peter the owner had upgraded me to a double room with a bath, such a kind and wonderful thing to do, it made my stay even more delightful. Highly recommend if a warm cosy friendly place is what your looking for. They even allows pets wonderful place

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
47
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I spent four nights here and enjoyed evey minute of this part of Devon , Peter was an exceptional host with lots of local knowledge and advice . The room was clean and comfortable and so quiet at night . Breakfast was a delight , looking forward to our next visit.
Tony and Rita

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a really lovely B&B - good location and clean and tidy (the bathroom actually gleamed). Peter, the owner, is very welcoming and the breakfast is lovely - perfect fried egg and delicious bacon, accompanied by home-made bread and jams.

The fridge containing fresh milk and additional selection of herbal teas and coffees in the lounge is a very nice touch.

Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here this weekend. We had the downstairs room with the super king size bed which was very comfortable and we both slept like logs! The breakfast was great (notably the bacon and scrambled eggs). The owner is a natural and really friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

this is our third stay at lower yelland farm and it is as good as the first,the wecome is warm,great acc. and brilliant breakfast.we get good advice from the hosts on where to eat and days out.unfortunally we had requested room 5 on the ground floor as we have stayed there but had to change to a first floor room(just as nice) to allow a very large couple who where unable to get up the stairs and had`nt the forsight to book a down stairs room.every cloud has a silver lining as Peter gave us a box of chocolatesfor the inconvenience.look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Have just returned from Lower Yelland Farm and can back up the rest of the reviews on TripAdvisor with regard to location and the food etc, and we welcomed the fresh milk available in the small fridge. The rooms are kept beautifully clean, and tea / coffee trays replenished daily. As I have mobility problems and some days require a wheelchair it can be difficult to find suitable places to stay, and I did state this when booking, so was very surprised when on arrival Peter showed my husband to an up stairs room. There was now way I was able to make the stairs, but luckily their one and only ground floor room was available and Peter swapped things around and accommodated us in there, which luckily had a King size bed, but the en suite is very cramped and we had to pay more for this room, then on top of this Peter then had to cut short our planned stay by one night as the room was required for another booking. Other than this we have just 2 criticisms, one major - we would have like the towels changed if not on a daily basis then at least twice during a 7 day stay, and the second one more a minor one - the bedding is looking rather tired and well used, so could do with renewing. But on the whole a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
We at Lower Yelland Farm are pleased that these guests enjoyed their 6 night stay wih us. But we would like to clarify a couple of errors within their review.
Firstly they had not booked a ground floor room which was very unfortunate not just for themselves but for all the other guests we had to juggle around to accomodate them. It is of no advantage to us to allocate guests the wrong room in the hope that this will do as it creates alot of work to then reorganise and keep everyone happy. We have a 350 year old farmhouse with original staircases which does not lend itself to having disabled facilities and we do not promote it as such.
The ensuite bathroom mentioned measures 9' x 5' which we feel is large enough.
On the subject of changing towels these guests are very much mistaken.Their towels would have been changed at least once during their stay but as they are all the same colour perhaps it is an easy mistake to make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

loads of character and thats just the owner - no seriously the farm had a lovely atmosphere - the room was very modern and comfortable - all in all i would highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Yelland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Yelland Farm

Address: Yelland, Barnstaple EX31 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Yelland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yelland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Yelland Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Runner up for the Best B&B in N. Devon . The farm, built in 1658, lays adjacent to the RSPB sanctuary and Tarka Trail and borders the River Taw. All rooms en-suite and digital TV. Breakfast includes prize-winning homemade jams, homemade bread, eggs from our free range chickens in a beautiful oak-beamed lounge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Yelland Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.