We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Yelland Farm

Lower Yelland Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lower Yelland Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Yelland, Barnstaple EX31 3EN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Yelland B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Have just returned from Lower Yelland Farm and can back up the rest of the reviews on TripAdvisor with regard to location and the food etc, and we welcomed the fresh milk available in the small fridge. The rooms are kept beautifully clean, and tea / coffee trays replenished daily. As I have mobility problems and some days require a wheelchair it can be difficult to find suitable places to stay, and I did state this when booking, so was very surprised when on arrival Peter showed my husband to an up stairs room. There was now way I was able to make the stairs, but luckily their one and only ground floor room was available and Peter swapped things around and accommodated us in there, which luckily had a King size bed, but the en suite is very cramped and we had to pay more for this room, then on top of this Peter then had to cut short our planned stay by one night as the room was required for another booking. Other than this we have just 2 criticisms, one major - we would have like the towels changed if not on a daily basis then at least twice during a 7 day stay, and the second one more a minor one - the bedding is looking rather tired and well used, so could do with renewing. But on the whole a pleasant stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
We at Lower Yelland Farm are pleased that these guests enjoyed their 6 night stay wih us. But we would like to clarify a couple of errors within their review.
Firstly they had not booked a ground floor room which was very unfortunate not just for themselves but for all the other guests we had to juggle around to accomodate them. It is of no advantage to us to allocate guests the wrong room in the hope that this will do as it creates alot of work to then reorganise and keep everyone happy. We have a 350 year old farmhouse with original staircases which does not lend itself to having disabled facilities and we do not promote it as such.
The ensuite bathroom mentioned measures 9' x 5' which we feel is large enough.
On the subject of changing towels these guests are very much mistaken.Their towels would have been changed at least once during their stay but as they are all the same colour perhaps it is an easy mistake to make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
36
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

loads of character and thats just the owner - no seriously the farm had a lovely atmosphere - the room was very modern and comfortable - all in all i would highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

An undoubtedly pleasant place to stay on first impressions; a well positioned base for that part of Devon, down a very quiet lane and with the prospect of a good cooked-to-order breakfast.

It was not however without some irritations. The bed we had was quite possibly the narrowest a double can get without being classed as a large single. It did not make for a good nights sleep which at the end of the day is really the only thing you are looking for in bed. And then came breakfast for which only two tables are made available. Fine if the place is virtually empty and you can sit where you like but for me the idea of sharing a table with four other strangers - as we were forced to - was just not really what I had in mind at all. I was sitting right next to a sneezing woman with a streamlining cold – most unpleasant. The food itself however was very good.

We then came to check out to find were then stung for a credit card surcharge which, not having cash on me, I had no choice but to pay. Absolutely no warning on the web site or at check-in, it was very, very irritating. A relatively small sum but the total lack of warning smacked of a bit of a scam and quite spoilt my morning.

Two days later I had a streaming cold.

Room Tip: Look at the bed first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSDEVON, Owner at Lower Yelland Farm, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
It is very regretable to us that this guest left our guesthouse disappointed and seems to imply that he has been mislead with regards to our facilities.
The double bed in question is of a standard 4' 6" size and nowhere do we state otherwise and there are pictures of all our rooms on our website. There is also a very clear picture of the dining room showing two breakfast tables which mostly seems popular with guests for conversation and exchanging tips and ideas for days out. It is most unfortunate to have caught a cold, and we do sympathise but I don't think we can be held responsible, at no time was he "forced" to sit by anybody.
It is VERY offensive to suggest we are creating a "scam" regarding a 2% charge on credit cards. All bookings require a deposit to be paid in advance. When booking via our web site it states clearly about the charge in the terms and conditions. When booking over the telephone if guests wish to pay by credit card they are immediately informed of the charge and it is explained there is No added fee for debit cards.
Therefore this guest must have been aware of this charge which is actually forced on us by the banks. Perhaps he would be better off to take up the issue with them while we try to think up a slightly more profitable scam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights accompanied by our pet Yorkshire Terrier. One of the reasons for choosing Lower Yelland Farm was that it is dog-friendly and the web site provided useful information for dog owners, such as where you could to eat out when accompanied by your pet. The location is quiet and fine to use as a base for visiting North Devon. Our room, a standard double, was adequate with compact ensuite facilities. We would have preferred a larger bed, and had originally booked one, but agreed to change to accommodate a lady who felt unable to get up the stairs, which were on a spiral and added to the quaintness of the farmhouse. As did the uneven floor. A comment from the genial host Peter was "if you think the floor is level you've had too much to drink!" There was an excellent choice of food for breakfast, with delightful home-made bread and a variety of home-made jams. Peter was very attentive and provided lots of useful information. It is certainly a guest-house I would recommend and I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Following are tenth visit in five years, we were as always sad to leave. Peter and Jane are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Peter arranges golf for my husband and looked into horse riding for my disabled daughter.
There is a varied selection for breakfast and it seems to be getting ever bigger, my husband enjoys the full english with home made bread, my daughter describes the scrambled eggs as the best she's ever tasted and I enjoy the healthy options and the ever lasting supply of coffee!
The rooms are comfortable and homely and serviced daily. I sleep better here than I do at home. Maybe its the bed, maybe its the fresh air.
Lower Yelland Farm is a short walk from the picturesque tarka trail where we enjoy a gentle walk each morning before breakfast fascinated by the wildlife and sometimes the varying weather. We also enjoy shopping in Bideford and Barnstaple, cliff walks in Westward Ho! and Hartland and river walks in Lynmouth and a stay is never complete without a local Hockings ice cream.
Everything about Lower Yelland Farm makes it the perfect location to return to again and again. Always sad to leave, always a pleasure to return, well worth the six hour journey.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We recently stayed at Lower Yelland Farm as our daughter and son and families were camping nearby. A very peaceful and quiet place in a superb location. The room was quite adequate and the bed massive - this offered extreme comfort and a great nights sleep. A wonderful farmhouse breakfast with home baked bread and home made preserves was an added and wonderful touch. If you require to be in the area dont miss staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Peter and his team provided sparkling service in well postioned clean accommodation accommodating our needs perfectly.This is a nice quiet friendly farmhouse b & b with tasty traditional food on offer.The building is ancient with three feet thick walls and some uneven floors so don't expect a 21st century property, the only real downside of this is a small en-suite which (in our room) really did need a re-fit and (somehow) the space to fit in a larger handbasin.That said ,this was a minor niggle and our visit was none the worse for it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lower Yelland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Yelland Farm

Address: Yelland, Barnstaple EX31 3EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Yelland
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yelland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lower Yelland Farm 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Runner up for the Best B&B in N. Devon . The farm, built in 1658, lays adjacent to the RSPB sanctuary and Tarka Trail and borders the River Taw. All rooms en-suite and digital TV. Breakfast includes prize-winning homemade jams, homemade bread, eggs from our free range chickens in a beautiful oak-beamed lounge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Yelland Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lower Yelland Farm to your Saves list