We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings, kindly host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ersfjordbotn Kystferie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ersfjordbotn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ersfjordbotn Kystferie
Save
You added Ersfjordbotn Kystferie to your Saves list
Naustbuktvegen 93 | Kvaloysletta, Ersfjordbotn 9100 , Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings, kindly host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Right from the start of our liaison via email, it was a wonderful experience. Viktoria who was replying my emails was extremely helpful and accommodated to our many requests which I even felt was troublesome.

When we got there, it was even better. Henry, the host, picked us up from the airport and made a stop for us to grab some groceries, knowing that the area we're staying in is not particularly busy and populated for supermarkets to settle there.

It was rainy the whole day and everything looked gloomy and sad. but when we arrived at the cabin it was like "omg is this spot of heaven where we're staying". it was SO GORGEOUS. sure it was cloudy and rainy but i can imagine how beautiful it would be on a clear day. The fjord was literally right at our doorstep and autumn was in full swing, giving the leaves that magical hue to match. Our cabin (cabin 4) proved just as amazing. The kitchen was perfectly equipped with everything you could possibly want, there was a veranda looking out to the fjord, and the lounge upstairs had a huge tv and big glass windows which I believe lets you see the northern lights from the inside on a clear day with strong activity. Bathroom on the second floor was really basic but did the job. The bigger bathroom had a washing machine and even washing powder for you to do laundry. There was even a clothes rack! Basically, what you would want in your house, it was there. It was truly the best stay I've ever had in a foreign country.

Henry made it even better. So kindly and optimistic, his jolly attitude made me leave Tromso with a little less regret despite being unable to see the northern lights. Everyday, he would update us with the weather and activity level and even though he (and us) knew we wouldn't be able to see it, he would always be saying "we shall see we shall see!" and then laugh his signature laughter. He even helped us find out how to get to the city on a weekend with no buses in the area and drove us to the bus terminal (at no charge) to catch that bus! Because of the bad weather, we couldn't really go very far out anywhere but his suggestion of climbing up a hill in the area was really good. the view was really breath taking. but take note though, it's not as easy as he said it was! Norwegians are, after all, fitter than the average person.

Would definitely go back to Tromso again, and most definitely would be staying with ersfjordbotn kystferie again!! thank you so much for making our otherwise disappointing trip so much better!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Absolutely love this place! My partner and I stayed in Cabin 2 for a week in February 2013 during a trip to see the Northern Lights, and had such a good time we didn't want to leave.

The instructions given by Viktoria made it extremely easy to find the cabin, especially with the help of our GPS. The location is truly unbelievable - right at the edge of a beautiful fjord at the end of a small lane in a small suburb. In February, it was snowy wonderland which made for a truly picture postcard setting. As it is situated in a suburban area with families, with a school nearby and kids playing in the snow, it was like staying in someone's warm, comfortable home.

It was only 20 mins drive to the city centre, but what a picturesque and lovely drive it was. The drive was honestly one of the highlights of our trip - we stopped at different scenic spots every day to take photos. There is also a lovely supermarket about 5 mins from the cabin, which made stocking up on groceries really convenient.

The best thing about the place - you can see Northern Lights right at your doorstep. Many photos of Northern Lights in Tromso were taken at Ersfjordbotn, and many of the Aurora tours bring tourists here. We saw some of the most amazing lights here. And the funny thing was the one day we decided to take a tour rather than drive around on our own, Ersfjordbon was one of the spots the tour brought us too! Henry who runs the place is a huge wealth of information about the area and especially about the Northern Lights. He pointed us to all the best areas to view the Lights, even gave us tips on how to read the satellite images and which areas were good to go to on a particular day.

Whilst the cabin is not ultra luxurious, it was extremely comfortable and had all the creature comforts one would need. The large picture windows meant you could sit on your sofa in the comfort of a nicely heated room, with a cup of coffee whilst overlooking the fjord and mountains - heaven!

The heating was good, even in the dead of winter for two Asians who live in the tropics. I love self-catering accommodation which allows me to cook during holidays, and found the kitchen here to have some of the best appliances and all the equipment one would need to cook a full meal. We slept really well in the beds every night as well.

I can't stop waxing lyrical about this place and hope to go back there someday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

March 2013 - WINTER
This is a truly great cabin. It has everything you could need or want, and is clean and spacious. Viktoria was a great help with our bookings and Henry is a warm and hospitable host. The cabin is right beside the fjord, with views across the water to the mountains. The village is only a few minutes drive, and has a good supermarket for all your needs. Henry has a snow plow and he lives closeby, so you will not be snowed-in. The cabin is easy to find if you are driving from Tromso airport and the roads were safe despite being icy - use reasonable care and ensure you have snow tyres in Winter. There are some wonderful hikes to do, through the town and up to the summit of the mountains across the water, or you can simply chill-out and stay at the cabin, taking in the amazing views of the fjord and mountains. The Northern Lights obliged us with a spectacular display, lighting up the entire sky above us. There is a large deck with fantastic views, and furniture to sit outside if you wish. The entire cabin is very warm, even on freezing nights, and there's a wood fire if you want to use it. The kitchen was fully equipped with modern appliances, likewise the laundry facilities which are in the spacious first level bathroom - which also has a huge spa bath to warm up after a chilly hike! Upstairs would be a great area for a parents retreat - with its own bedroom, bathroom and living room with sofas. Large windows on both levels allow you to see the Northern Lights if you find it is too cold outside on the deck. We had 5 people in our group, and there was ample space for everyone to do their own thing, also the living and dining areas have plenty of space for everyone to be together. Parking is directly out the front of the cabin and was adequate for our 7 seater mini van. I would recommend the cabin to anyone who is considering a visit to Tromso to watch for the Northern Lights, or who just wishes to be somewhere peaceful, outside of the main city area, but close enough to drive into Tromso during the day or night. Many Thanks, Viktoria and Henry! (In the Tripadvisor Ratings List, I clicked 'swimming pool' but there is no actual pool. I was referring to swimming in the fjord in summer, if you feel so inclined)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want to stay in or near Tromso I can recommend this cabin.
Viktoria arranged our booking and was really helpful.
We picked up our vehicle from the airport which is an easy 15 to 20 minute drive (even on the snow). If it is snowing be aware that you need a good run up the little hill just before the cabin.
Henry met us at the cabin, as we arrived late at night he had provided us with some basics (bread, marg, jam etc which was really appreciated). There are 3 supermarkets within 10 minutes on route back towards Tromso.
You are provided with towels and bed linen, the larder has some basics such as salt and pepper. There is a good tv, wireless broadband and sound system (which we didn't use as we were watching the northern lights)
We sat out on the deck and watched the fabulous northern lights, which were stunning and made us squeal like children.
Henry told us a good route to climb the hills opposite the cabin, there are spectacular views particularly near sunset.
The cabin is clean with gorgeous views, I can totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

we stayed in cabin number 2. We were collected from the airport and taken to the cabin via the supermarket which allowed us to stock up. we deliberately didnt book a hire car and fully intended to plot down and do nothing but star gaze as my hubby had a back injury. be warned if you want to go to a shop that isnt the cafe and you dont have a car its a serious hike, but on the upside Henry who had collected us from the airport was happy to take us into town. The cabin itself was lovely the kitchen is big and fully equiped. there is a large mountain behind the cabin (which is the north) however we saw really good northern lights on two nights, one night we saw them on and off from 6 in the evening until nearly midnight! the fjord is lovely and peaceful, saw otters and seals as well as wild reindeer. if i had any complaint it would be regarding the bedroom size/heating. the bedrooms are compact and so we didnt have room for our case in our room but had plenty of room to leave it outside. And although the cabin was very toasty there is no heating in the bedroom itself. For me that meant the bedroom was too cold so i slept with the door open to allow the heat in. That was fine with one couple only but if we had been there with two other couples i think i might have felt little awkward if we all wanted to keep our bedroom doors open, you would certainly need to know them pretty well! This didnt detract at all for us as it was lovely and Henry couldnt have been more helpful driving us around and knocking on the door whenever lights were overhead.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I went here with friends in Feb 2013. They had been before and highly recommended it and I can now fully appreciate why. Nestled at the quiet end of a beautiful fjord the location is idyllic and the perfect base for aurora chasing and observing Norwegian life and wildlife.

There are some lovely walks along the edge of the fjord's crystal clear waters and if you're quiet and lucky you'll see otters, eagles, cormorants and, of course, gulls. Keep an eye out for the fisherman who fished the fjord for Cod landing his catch around 4pm and scout out the edges of the fjord for the best place to see and photograph the aurora on those clear nights.

It's so beautiful and homely you may be tempted to spend all your time here, but don't. Hire a 4x4 and get out into the countryside. All of the fjords in the surrounding 50km are all very pretty and many seem to have their own micro-climates meaning if it's cloudy at Ersfjordbotn, you may have clear skies further afield. Try Grotfjord, or for a road-trip take the E8 (or E6) to Nordkjosbotn.

The owner Henry is one of life's nice guys and is a joy to chat to. Pay particular attention to his predictions for the weather; he's usually right!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I did not stay overnight in a cabin, but booked an evening trip to try and see the Northern Lights from a cabin on the fjord.

We were collected from Tromso tourist information office by Henry, who owns the cabin, passed down from his grandfather. There were 5 adults and one little boy on the trip. Henry is a lovely man who made us all feel welcome, even finding a little toy car for the boy and lending a tripod to one of the others to take photos.

Henry took us straight to the wooden cabin, which was directly on the edge of the fjord and very warm from the wood burner, and served us a spread of fresh salmon open sandwiches, cheese sandwiches, salad, crisps and hot drinks. He kept checking outside and when the lights started to get strong, he showed us the way to get to a picturesque spot away from any lights (only a minutes walk).

It was -7 outside, so every time we came back to the cabin Henry was quick to supply more hot drinks and hot cakes. He really couldn't have done more to make us comfortable and was good to chat to.

We finally left at 12.30 am and Henry dropped each if us back to our own hotels.

He rents the cottage out as well and said he has 2 boats (for fishing) and I could imagine it would be a lovely place to stay for a few nights- very peaceful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ersfjordbotn
15.7 mi away
Sommaroy Arctic Hotel
Sommaroy Arctic Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sommaroy
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
8.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
8.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
8.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Clarion Hotel The Edge
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
8.8 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#6 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ersfjordbotn Kystferie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ersfjordbotn Kystferie

Address: Naustbuktvegen 93 | Kvaloysletta, Ersfjordbotn 9100, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Ersfjordbotn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ersfjordbotn
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three small cabins in modern Norwegian style with lounge, kitchen, bathroom and 1-2 bedrooms. Boat hire (18ft. 40 hp engine) available. Pick-up from Tromso by prior arrangement. Ersfjordbotn is located 15km from the airport and 20km from the city centre. Activities winter:A legendary Northern Lights photo location, as the lights contrast magnicently with the rugged peaks. Skiing, snowshoeing. Activities summer:A well-known rock climbing location. A fjord rich on fish. Mountain hiking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ersfjordbotn Kystferie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.