We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix of beautiful nature of Maldives and activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Palm Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   20700   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mix of beautiful nature of Maldives and activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was our second trip to Maldives, we were looking for tropical paradise, nice private accommodation, friendly service, reasonable price and opportunities for different activities.
We met this combination in Palm Beach Resort.

We lived in Villa on the sunrise side near the restaurant. The Villa was huge and well-designed, we enjoyed our stay so much! The beach near our villa was not suitable for swimming, so we used the main beach, which was awesome! Walking to the main beach was pleasant for us; it usually takes about 15 minutes.

In the island there were a lot of free opportunities for sport: volleyball, tennis, badminton, windsurfing, snorkeling, excursion, soccer and so on. Besides, there were different evening parties, sport competitions and little shows.
It is necessary to say, that it was also possible to relax and enjoy privacy on the beautiful island.

The food was available all day long, too many opportunities for eating!

The weather during our trip was perfect: from 1st of October till 8th of October it was warm 28-34 ºC sunny weather except one half rainy day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    161
    46
    19
    3
See reviews for
162
404
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We traveled during Christmas holiday with together with our children 12 and 6 and another family with children. It was our first trip to Maldives and the resort met all expectations. The island was big enough, with a lot of facilities for spending quality time. We rented bikes, it was difficult to walk by foot from one end of the island to another (almost 2 km). The rooms were good, not very luxurious, the furniture needs some improvements. We rented a beach villa with two bedrooms, one at ground floor and the other one upstairs. The food was very good, with a lot of choices for lunch and dinner. The breakfast was too much Italian, with a lot of pastry, we would prefer more fresh fruits, yogurt and muesli. Any case, for lunch and dinner we had much more choices, with pasta bar (there were at least 5 different types of pasta), fresh fish, a lot of salads and plenty of good quality desserts.
Almost all staff was Italian, very friendly.
A plus for the the diving center, the team was just great. Friendly guys and very professional.
The kids activities were well organized, all the time there were two ladies conducting all kind of activities for kids. The kids just loved to dance and play around.
The Christmas party was great, Santa was coming from the sea by Catamaran and give presents to all children....
A minus was the internet service. The wi-fi was quite pricey, 10 USD/hours, but the real problem was that it was not working properly. The signal was bad, you have to stand in the reception to check your e-mails.
Overall, it was a great holiday, we will definitely come back to Maldives!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

GOOD:
· The bungalow was clean, spacious, with outdoor hot shower/bathtub, amenities, refrigerator, AC, fan, no mosquito-screens, TV(~15 channels).
· New and old Bicycles free for the entire stay.
· Sports: 1Foot, -1Beachvolley, 1Basketball, 1Squash, 1TT, 2Tennis, 1Badminton, Bocchia, daily twice free snorkelling trips(mantas, turtles, sharks visible), except Sunday.
· Mainrestaurant for lunch / dinner: plentiful buffet , good taste.
· Coffeeshop for breakfast / teatime: buffet, but too sweet meals.
· You keep the table in the Mainrestaurant for the entire stay.
· Almost nice staff, specially the maledivians. Some incompetent, stressful or childish.
· Free doctor.
· Good transfer organisation MLE/Resort/MLE. Arrival lounge for everybody.
· Long beach.
· You can stay shoe-free. All ways are sandy.

NEUTRAL:
· Slow wifi at reception costs USD 5,40/30min.
· SIM-cards for USD 8,- incl. 5min. upload USD 10,- 25min.
· electric cars for transfer.
· Cleaning is every day twice. We didn’t insist in that, to give the roomboys some leisure time.
· They spray against bugs and do maintenance.
· Drinking water during the day at extra costs. Coffee/tea in the bungalow at extra costs.
· Sunset-side has deeper water and the mainport for ships. Every Friday comes supply.
· Sea-level can be rather high.
· 50% Italians, 40% Russians.

BAD:
· Smoking in the restaurants, as families with loud kids. No quiet zones for relaxed eating, but easy to realise! There are 3 sections in the mainrestaurant.
· Sport equipment rather used. Only one racket useable for Badminton. Same for TT. 3 single and double canoes. 3 surfboards.
· The beach is cleaned daily, though some waste/plastic from the incoming sea. The corals are almost dead. Some fish in the lagoon.
· The starting planes can be heard very well. of course: no plane, no holiday. The only good thing is, there are not plenty. Mainport is at sunrise-side.

CONCLUSIONS:
· In total, a good place for staying. Coming back? MALEDIVES: YES; PALM BEACH: YES to maybe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Our first trip to the Maldives and this met all expectations, This resort is big enough to provide a good choice of facilities and activities but small enough for you to be able to find a spot and feel like you have the place to yourself!
Food was excellent with plenty of choice, my husband is a fussy eater and there was always plenty he would eat, pasta bar with at least 5 different pastas at each meal, grill bar with 2 different fresh fish and 2/3 different meats at lunch and dinner along with pizzas, fresh salads, etc.
We had to use the golf carts due to walking problems and they provided an excellent service.
Villa was spacious and comfortable, english sockets and adaptors to fit all sorts of plugs!
We are English, which was definitely a minority nation but English was widely spoken..... come on Brits, go to Palm Beach ... you are missing a treat!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You will find the organization, the rooms and the amenities of a 4 star hotel here. If you are looking for the "ultra-luxury Maldives", look for something else.
- We stayed in a Junior Suite, close to the Presidential Suites, Sunset side.
- Rooms: large with basic but good-quality furniture, bathroom is a little bit worn out but very spacious. You will not find anything special in these rooms besides the very comfortable size.
- Food: wonderful, it's really THE plus of this resort. Take the full-board and enjoy. Wonderful large italian buffet with many world food options every day. A little minus about the breakfast. Way too much sugar and not enough fruits (to the management: you need to transform this into a buffet-like fruit experience, as in the main restaurant)
- Island: it's a VERY large island for Maldives. This might surprise many of you, as this is not standard for the "typical" Maldives. You need bicycles or the free electric cars to get around the island.
- Ambiance: run by italians that make the experience joyful, less formal than in other premium results. You have to like this ( I am italian and I do). The % of italians used to be extremely high, but went down over time as the management is trying to make an effort to bring a more international clientele. The typical mix is: italians, russians, germans, some french, swiss, middle east.
- Diving: i have stayed many times in Maldives and the climate conditions changed over time so it is difficult to compare underwater fauna/flora btw resorts. Just to set expectations right: you will have to take a boat to see something. There is nothing outside the resort, no corals, no life. I did not find this an issue thanks to the twice-a-day (free) boat to a nearby island, which was good. I made my Advanced Open Water, and I do recommend the diving center.

Advices
- Pick-up rooms on the Sunsite side. It does make a difference. You have a laguna with shallow (and rather unattractive) water on the Sunrise side, you have open ocean on the Sunrise side. The close you are to the Presidential Suites, the better. The price difference is worth.
- The seaplane transfer must be in your budget. It's not included and you have to count on it. Also, be patient: after a 10h international flight, you might still have to wait hours before getting on that plane to the resort

Hope you enjoyed my review! Do write me an email if you need support.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtavarre, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first trip to the Maldives, and after looking for a place to stay, we chose the Palm Beach. It was a very good choice.

The Resort:
Palm Beach Resort occupies the whole island, and it's seems well maintained. The resort is reachable within approx 45 minutes by seaplane. Someone mentioned the expencive transfer fee, but we see it as a part of our holiday since you will get a great view over the Maldive islands when transfering with the seaplane. We did not use any kind of shoes from we arrived the island to we left. And that was a good feeling!

Rooms:
We stayed at a Junior Suite at the sunside of the Island, room/villa no. 33. The rooms is spacious and clean and had all the equipment needed (a/c, safe, TV, coffemachine...) The open air bathroom was superb! In the front of the villa we had a balcony with roof over and our private sunbeds. In the front of the villa you find your own shower you can use for cleaning sand from your body and feets before you enter the villa. The rooms was cleaned a couple of times a day.

The beach:
A few meters from the villa, you will find a nice sandy beach! (It's not actually "sand", but crushed corals - that not gets hot when the sun shines). Here you will find your own sunbeds to use on the beach. On the sunrise side you will find a kind of a lagoon with shallow water. And don't be afraid if you see a little shark swimming by! If you're lucky, you also might see sea turtles in this area. The beach and the water is clean.

Service:
All the staff was friendly and helpful. Everyone was smiling and they had enough time for small chat. It's an Italian owned hotel and the most people spoke italian. But the most people also spoke english, so we had no problem with the language.

Restaurant/food:
We had Full Board and had all our meals (except the breakfast) in the main restaurant. Here you find a buffet with a lot of choices, from meat to fish and of course italian type of food. There was a lot of waiters and chefs to help you find your food and explain what kind of food you find here. The restaurant has also a grill where you can go an order different kind of grilled food. To each meal you will get water for free. The food we ate was delicious and we never had any problem with our stomach there.

Activities:
We were at the resort for relaxing. But if you like to do more than relaxing, the resort offers activities, some for free.

Low season/raining season:
We stayed at Palm Beach for eight nights in June, and that is in the raining season at the Maldives. We were lucky and only experienced a couple of rain showers in the daytime. In the most of the time it was sunny or scattered clouds.

My wife has celiac/gluten intolerance and need special dietary. To every meal she found something to eat, even if the the resort could not offer glutenfree food except for the natural glutenfree food.

We wish to thank the staff at Palm Beach Resort that we got an unforgettable holiday!

Room Tip: Villas on the sunrise side is better in the raining season because of the wind and the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent their 1 week during the Easter break together with another family and had occupied 3 Junior suites on the sunset side. Rooms are very spacious, greatly located with 10m to the beach in-between mangrove trees. A lot of families with kids, mostly Italians and Italien staff everywhere. Food is therefore also very Italien inspired, which was perfect for us.
The Island is not too small, so there is good space for soccer, tennis and other activities and the place never feels crowded.
Absolutely outstanding trip and great hospitality!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Resort

Address: 20700
Location: Maldives > Lhaviyani Atoll > Madhiriguraidhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madhiriguraidhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Resort is one of the most beautiful island resorts in the Maldives. The island is surrounded by a 3-mile white sandy beach protected by a magnificent lagoon and coral reefs. The island has all the modern facilities including health & recreation, water sports and a 5 star PAD I standard diving centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel Lhaviyani Atoll
Palm Beach Lhaviyani Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.