We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |     |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Resort Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had been there with my wife and my child (an infant of 1 year old), firstly would like to thank Mr. Tomas, Mr. Winston & Mr. Siva for great hospitality and great service. Before going with the review would like to share my experience of Maldives fortunately though June being a rainy season we did not experience any rains except for a few drizzles that only once during our stay of 5 days. The resort is a 45 min speed boat ride from Male and has villas, houses and over water houses, we were staying in the Beach House No. 3 which was very close to the reception and restaurants, the resort also has a great spa and a gym located very close to the spa, a swimming pool with various depths which can be used by babies, children and adults. Now let me share my experience

Welcome
Upon exit from Male Airport we were greeted by their representative who took us to their speed boat for a 45 min onward journey to the resort, we were given life jackets in the boat alongwith some mineral water, again since ours being the only flight arriving at that time we did not have to wait for shared transfer. The representatives were very helpful and shared details of the many islands enroute. Though the transfer charges were on the higher end of USD209 pp return transfer. On reaching the resort we were welcomed by Mr. Tomas who took us to the reception area and were first served welcome drinks and refreshing towels. He explained the various meal plans and activities to be held in the resort during our stay and then drove us in a buggy to our room he also drove us around the resort showing various reefs n places

Accomodation
We were staying in a Beach House No. 3 which consisted of a ground + 1 storey, the ground had a coffee table n chairs alongwith beach chairs and a couch for relaxing by the beach the floor was covered with beach sand. The room & bathroom was on the 1st storey, the room had everything that is required an ipod dock for entertainment, a television, an orange juicer (with 6 oranges complimentary every day), beach slippers, beach towels, an electronic safe, a mini fridge it also has a small balcony sitting area. I would definitely recommend a beach house for a comfort stay. On request we were also provided with a child cot for the infant.

Dining
The resort houses 3 main places for dining the first being the Kandooma Cafe which had a buffet breakfast, buffet lunch and buffet dinner. There are different cuisines on different days like we had the Indian Cuisine on a Thursday, a Barbeque Night on a Friday and so on. The second restaurant was Bokkurra Coffee Club located near the swimming pool with an a-la-carte menu having pizzas pastas sandwiches, seafood and more the average price was USD28 + Taxes, the BCC also has a drinks section, the third restaurant was The Kitchen which was located near the beach open only for dinner again. There was also an entry to the sunset deck which is located right above the kitchen where you can certainly enjoy the sunset overlooking the ocean with a few drinks and the resort certainly has a good variety of drinks to sip on.

Activities
The resort has some great activities spread out during the day like the turtle reef point snorkelling, dolphin cruise, island visits and a few more activities. The reosrt also provides complimentary beginners snorkelling lessons every morning where you are taught snorkelling in the swimming pool a must visit for first timers. We were also provided life jackets and snorkelling equipment free. Besides there are other activities for the surfers and water sports like kayaking windsurfing, etc. For the kids they can enjoy at the kids club where they can indulge in some drawing, face painting, playing in the sand, there are few swings to enjoy as well, the resort also provides baby sitting services.

All in all it was a pleasurable stay and would surely go back again and recommend to all its truly amazing resort with various reefs, special appreciation to the housekeeping staff for keeping the resort and rooms clean.

Room Tip: Would suggest a Beach House as it is spacious and very near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Savir B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing time with us and enjoyed every aspect such as accommodation, dining, activity and service. I will definitely share your compliment with Tomas, Winston ,Siva and the team members who will be excited to hear from you.

Once again, we thank you for your time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    241
    53
    22
    8
See reviews for
230
479
26
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well designed and maintained resort that gets all the basics right. This was our second trip and I was surprised to hear the same music CD on constant rotation day as was playing 4 years ago (cafe del mar 1999 volume 6). The staff stick to the formulae, but it all seems to lack a bit of soul. It could do with some fresh leadership.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Nick C,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We thank you for mentioning some areas that we certainly can look into and improve on. Your valuable feedback is important for us in our-going review as we are committed to deliver the best service to our guests.

The team and I are looking forward for an opportunity to serve you better on your next visit to the Maldives.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We come from Taiwan and had vacation in Jun.
Here is a so wonderful place where is worth of coming here again. Not only the amazing natural scenery but also the friendly staff. And a plenty of water sports that especially " Sunset " .It was a really special experience we have never had, our kindly guide brought us to land the band sand ,in there you can really feel what is called the most beautiful and the endless sea as well.

Futhermore. there are so many kinds of delicious food that let us feed ourself crazy full every day, among them we more love breakfast and fish market that we can eat the most fresh fish that was cought by ourself when we attented " Night Fishing "and the chief will cook them for us , it's so interesting .By the way, the hotel set up many complimentary amenities and initmate service ,for example free orange and water in your room everyday , free suncream beside the swimming pool and else.....

To sum up, whatever what is said above, the most wonderful thing is every staff we met in here.Thanks goes out to all the wonderful staff on the island that made our trip so special and extra thanks to all the help from Mr. Nafro who treat us so friendly with the utmost sincerity and cordiality just as a family . Also he is a crazy guy and professional photographer who let us get a lot of fun and wonderful pictures. Becauseof him we gained unforgettable memory in here . There is another staff we want to say thank you to him who works in fishmarket restaurant , he is always kind to prepare some special food to our baby ,we are so appreciate .

Anywell we can take away nothing here even with shooting . Just come here and you will see !

Room Tip: we live in beach view villa around room 85 to 96 . It is very near beach just open the door and go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Nina668,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had an amazing time with us and have enjoyed our provided activities, especially the Sunset Cruise. It is our great pleasure to read that Nafro has done a great job to make your holiday pleasant and memorable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to our little paradise.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

very pleasant stay. upon check in hotel, staff orientate us their service and understanding the whole island. query for check out are well organised without and stress. very relaxing place to relax and forget about any stress you had before.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Meelock L,

Thank you for your wonderful review about us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay.

It is our great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and team has done a good job to make your stay relaxed and memorable.

The team and I are looking forward for your return soon.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Hotels.com classified anyone below 17 years old as child. Thus when booking was placed, there was no auto additional charges reflected. We realized that there was an additional fee for child above 11 years old when we sought to clarify with Hotels.com on the speed boat transfer charges. On their reply, they clarified us on the speed boat computation and added that the hotel will charge an additional fee for our daughter as she was below 11 years old. Another email was sent to Hotels.com but till to date after our trip, no one from Hotels.com neither call us nor reply to our email when we questioned why was it not auto calculated when at the time of booking, we had declared our child as 14 years old. Owing to this, we had to deal directly with the hotel. The Reservation Manager, Pritam, was swift in responding to our email. We were not allowed to cancel the booking as informed by Pritam. To ease the situation, we were offered a special discount for our child. However, if Hotels.com could had liased with the hotel direct, maybe the total payable after the discount offered by the hotel, it will be cheaper if payment was made to the former directly as when we input for 3 adults, the price was cheaper through other website portals. Not wanting to spoil our holiday mood, we took up the offer from the hotel.

The journey from Male Airport to the hotel by speed boat was approx. 45 mins. The moment, we arrived at the hotel, we were captivated by the beautiful surrounding. Check In was swift. Once settled in our room, It was a total R & R for us. We took advantage of the free snorkeling trip and also the class for snorkeling lesson for the beginner. The trainer (known as Baby Black) for the beginner Snorkeling lesson was entertaining but firm in ensuring that the participants applied the correct techniques.

For the buffet, the varieties were not impressive for the amount we had paid (buffet dinner for 3 paxs were approx USD220.00 excluding drink). We had no choice as there was no other restaurants except the 3 restaurants managed by the hotel. When this was made known to the staff (Ihsam), he apologized on behalf of the hotel for the dissatisfaction and any lapse of services.

Wi-Fi was good. The only setback a day before our departure, our internet connection was abruptly disconnected. A called was made to the front desk. A lady handled the call and claimed that we had to pay for the internet service. I told her that when we booked the room, it was stated as Free Wi-Fi and we should not be charged. The lady said she needed to check with the Reservation Dept. Then the phone call was terminated. I was hoping that they would follow up and called me back. After 5 mins, there was no call for them, I called the front desk again. This time it was a guy. Again, I was told that we had to pay. After explaining to them, they re-activate the internet connection and informed that no fee needed to be paid.

The room that we stayed was a Garden Villa. However, we can also see the beach view from our unit. Even with the extra bed, the room was spacious and well maintained. 6 nos of free Oranges were replenished daily for guests to make their own orange juice in the room.

Overall, we had a pleasant comfort stay. We love the serenity environment but for the price that we spent, we rather choose other destinations such as Redang, Bali or the Carribean which offer similar environment at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Sritamh,

Thank you for taking time sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to read that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us on our spacious Garden View Villa. We would like to thank you also for highlighting some areas that we could improve on as your valuable feedback is important for us in our-going review and training programs as we are committed to deliver the best service to our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your time and we are looking forward for an opportunity to serve you better on your next visit to the Maldives.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Holiday Inn Kandooma has all that you need to enjoy your stay in the Maldives..rooms are tastefully done in ocean theme/ colors ( the in-room juicer is a nice touch!) Food in the different restaurants throughout the resort is very good, and the staff service adequate (while some are good, the others need improvement). The dive operation (Euro Divers) is very professional & the diving is first-rate! Saw lots of pelagics, the reef is healthy with lots sponges & corals, and the fishes are HUGE! but what made our stay truly enjoyable was the Filipino staff of the hotel--notably Albert, Rainier, Jenette & others who went the extra mile in making sure all out needs are met. In my opinion--apart from the usual amenities--what distinguishes a great experience from a good one is still exceptional staff service and in this case..Holiday Inn Kandooma delivered!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Christine C,

Thank you for your positive review about us on Tripadvisor.

It is our great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very glad that you have the great diving experience and dining experience with us. We appreciate for mentioned some areas that we could improve on.

Your feedback is important for us to understand our guests which allow us to serve our guest better. We are looking forward for your return soon to our little paradise.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here on May 2014 and found the staff to be very friendly. They would come to you and ask for suggestions all with a smile on their face!

Do go for night fishing with dinner and you sure will be catching a dozen of them!

The food choices for the buffet was excellent.

Room Tip: Surfers go for the east side ...Family can take west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Prm_Lake,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the fishing trip. It is our great pleasure to know that our team has done a great job to make your stay memorable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise on your next visit to the Maldives.

Warmest regards,
Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Kandoomaafushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandoomaafushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your tropical island paradise at the lagoon-facing Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives.Speedboats ferry you across the turquoise waters from Male International Airport to our contemporary resort hotel in just 40 minutes. Slip into island life from the moment you arrive at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, with world-class South Male Atoll diving and surfing on your doorstep.Our beach villas ooze style and boast luxury touches like outdoor showers and iPod docking stations. Grab a coffee and wood-fired pizza from the Bokkuraa Coffee Club beside our sparkling infinity pool, or unwind with a good book and views over the peaceful lagoon.You can indulge in a soothing Thai massage and beauty treatments in our Kandooma Spa, and book the Spa Suite's private garden with plunge pool for a romantic afternoon. Learn to sail on a catamaran trip around the region's sandbanks and take it easy with alcohol-free cocktails on a sunset cruise. It's just 5 minutes by boat from Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives for diving and snorkeling among colourful tropical fish on the reef.Face-painting and fun games keep the children entertained in our Kids' Club, while parents unwind with a game of tennis or a workout in Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives gym.Top off a perfect day with a Maldivian seafood feast and breathtaking sunsets on the deck at The Kitchen restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll
Kandooma South Male Atoll
Kandooma Hotel South Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.