We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little island, a great pADI certified Dive center...and an outstanding house reef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eriyadu Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Eriyadu Island Resort to your Saves list
Eriyadu Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eriyadu Island
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A perfect little island, a great pADI certified Dive center...and an outstanding house reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

pros : amazing house reef, great dive centre, perfect island, decent Rooms, good staff, good service

Our choice of Eriyadu was primarily based on the fact that it had its own house reef for diving...and WHAT a house reef! No photos can do justice to the myriad variety of fish that one can see at SUCH close quarters...We did the pADI certified diving course with Euro Divers there...and the entire experience was amazing! the professionalism of the instructors ( Guido ) and the diverse and vibrant coral reef with its fantastic fish in all shapes sizes and colors ... an unbeatable combination! we even saw a turtle :)

For those not keen on diving...no problem! one can literally WALK in knee deep water and see amazing fish and corals! Snorkeling too is lovely...

The resort is good value for money...its not a 5 star property, but it does not claim to be so! One can get good deals on directly talking to the resort....( Mr. Anaam....very helpful )

Ask for the Renovated rooms.....very comfortable, large... and good ACs...open to the sky bathrooms...great view....

The Bar's location is sublime.....fantastic view...and we actually saw sharks and eagle rays swimming right past us while we were sipping iced coffee :)

All in all a wholesome place...ideal for couples and families...if one wants to relax....
obviously Not for people looking for an active night life and discos!
Eriyadu is all about just you and nature...and the fishes ofcourse! :)

Room Tip: Room number 210 is the best in terms of location on the island and the view..... Make sure you time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    128
    50
    15
    11
See reviews for
49
188
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just come back from a 12 Night stay on Eriyadu island resort. Once we booked the holiday we started to read the reviews and were becoming increasing worried that it may not meet our holiday need. However we we needn't have worried the island is amazing, The people are fantactic and made you feel very special. The house reef was out of this world, and even though we did scuba dive we saw an amazing aray of sea life including sharks, turtles rays,eels and even squid and coral from just snorkelling around the reef.
There was a large variety of hot and cold food at every meal time and the waiters were on hand to serve you drink, clear your table or even have a chat with you about your holiday, ( if you wanted, if not they were very discreet) Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The standard rooms are comfortable and kept emaculately clean, with fresh towel daily for both the bathroom and the beach. The bed is turned down for you at night so after having a few long drinks on the deck bar you could just fall into bed.The furniture in the room is basic, but as we didn't spend any considerable time in our room if didn't matter to us. There was a much or as little to do as you wished, with daily excursions ,Spa treatments, BBQ on the beach, Suba diving, Snorkelling or just relaxing and reading, we could not believe how quick the days went. The Gym was not in use when we went but even though it was important to us at the time of booking, it turned out ok as,we had plenty of exercise swimming and snorkelling. We were in room 164 and although this was classed as a garden view it was only a few steps from the beach. We are already planing our return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were there on our honeymoon, I can´t imagine better place to be. The staff is very nice, always says hello. Accommodation is good, furniture is little bit old, but perfectly fit in. I liked that you don´t see houses from the beach, they are behind trees and palms. Open shower is very beautiful. What I hated about accommodation was toilet, it didn´t flush very well, so you have to repeat it several times.
We were in room number 120 and I think this room and rooms around it are the best, since there is the widest beach (rooms above 142 don´t have beach in front of room). The beach is excellent with white sand. But best of all is snorkelling in house reef, I saw plenty of colourful fish, sharks a three times a turtle. Guy from dive school said, that there is the most beautiful house reef in Maldives.
About the food. Breakfast was every day pretty same, but you have wide choice from different adjustments of eggs, breads, cakes, vegetables, very tasty juices. On lunch and dinner you can pick from chicken, beef, fish, vegetables, fruits and delicious desserts.
The biggest complaint is about trips, we signed for the but anyone happened.

Room Tip: Rooms number 116 - 136
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We didn't book this resort initially, but due to some hiccups with our tour operator in Maldives, they had to put us up for a night with Eriyadu island resort before we got on to the liver board.

Pros- Good value for money, wonderful and helpful staff, specially instructors at the dive shops. Amazing coral and marine life as expected. No loud music simply relaxing.

Cons- Rooms are tiring, showers are weak, food is a bit cold.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was my second visit to Eriyadu and I am planning to go back next year again. There is nowhere else in the Maldives that can beat Eriyadu for the combination of convenience, tranquility, beauty and value for money. The house reef has been mentioned many times and is truly beautiful with a huge variety of fish. I snorkelled with an eagle ray and a blacktip reef shark even appeared (more common in some other Maldivian islands). I also did a few dives (house reef and boat dive) and the dive centre is friendly and professional, thanks to Otto, Guido and Saeed.
The rooms are simple but large and comfortable. Showers are a little weak but no matter, time is not an issue! Food is interesting and plentiful on the full board package. The waiters are lovely - Sammy in particular, who actually remembered me from the year before!
Possibly the most perfect thing about Eriyadu is the peace. No piped music in the bar or restaurant, just the sound of the waves, and the beach is big enough for everybody. All in all, an excellent holiday at a fair price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My best friend and I have just returned from 5 days in this little piece of Paradise! Eriyadu Island Resort consistently exceeded our expectations throughout our entire stay!
Before this trip, I made it a point not to read the negative reviews this resort has received because I didn't want it to sway my decision and this has got to be one of the best decisions that I have ever made.
The island is not for people that would like to party every evening or for those that are used to 5 star accommodations. The rooms are basic but very clean (they cleaned our rooms twice a day, including the turn down service each night). The food at the restaurant caters to all tastes so you can rest assured that you won't leave hungry. You can spend hours at the bar on the deck. The staff are friendly and always keen to help.
Because this island is so small, it is very easy to bond with other guests. This made our stay even better as we met some lovely people who were there purely because of their love for the ocean.
The house reef is unbelievable and out of this world. For someone who is terrified of the water, snorkeling at this resort gave me the opportunity to experience the beautiful corals and sea life without having to swim too far. The people at the Dive Centre are extremely professional.
Overall, this has been one of the best vacations that I have ever had. If and when I do return to the Maldives, I will definitely be staying at the Eriyadu Island Resort again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I went with my husband on Eriyadu last year in July 2011, we took an all inclusive packing for 7 days. Despite the bad weather and lots of rain during the day we had a pleasant stay here. If you are a kind of a tourist who likes party don't go here...it can be boring. Anyway I choose the island because of the reef (and not for luxury) and I can say it's fantastic, mindblowing how many different fishes you can find in one cubic meter of water. We had few dives and we saw lots of turtels and a manta and eagle rays and sharks...everything in front of your room!!! The diving center was very friendly and good equiped and they did us a great discount on renting equipement. Big thanks to Rasheed, my buddy in diving.
Rooms are old, dark but very clean, they change towels every day and makes shure you don't have sand in front of your room. The last night we had in our stay it was disastrous, a big storm forced us off the bed to moove it. A big leak of water started to drop on my husband head ...it was funny but for the hotel is a very BIIIIG MINUS. And we had a good position, I saw few bungalows destroyed with sea at the entrance. The ocean was few centimeters far from the room...scary. Thanks god we had our little »private« beach few steps away (15m),

Spa is good, relaxing and very friendly. Gym closed all the time...old, decadent.
Pool area is excellent and there you can be spoiled by the staff.
The excursions where there on the info board only for teasing you. The only excursion you can do »if they have at least 4 partecipant« is night fishing but we never had the chance. A family next our bungalow, I believe they where 6, never wanted anybody on the boat during that fishing and they took the whole boat for themselves every night. I think it was very rude to us that the staff didn't bother and despite every time I asked for the boat..they had the same reason why we can not attempt the night fishing. This is the only big complain I have. It was low season and of corse we had only 30 guests on the island, so no excursions. Very dissapionting.
ALL INCLUSIVE is great , you can drink as many soft drinks you want and 1 cocktail a day. Beer is also non stop...we killed a lot of tigers.  The best thing was the new bar on the deck, we stayed there most of the rain and we had lots of fun with Serat the barman from Sri Lanka. Big thanks to his positive thinking and friendship.
Food was little repetitive but very good and tasty. And this is all you'll get on all inclusive...breakfast, lunch and dinner. No snack bars, no icecream no nothing. Only the bar in your room...expensive.
Anyway some plus some minus. If I go back to Maldives in future I'll try somewhere else...
CORAL REEF – big 10 ROOMS - 5
STAFF- 8 ENTERTAINMENT – 0
FOOD - 7

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eriyadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eriyadu Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Eriyadu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eriyadu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eriyadu Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bounty of an exorbitant coral reef, an adobe laying atop a tropical island & a gold tinted stretch of your private beach while the day slumbers into the dusk. In the heart of the Indian Ocean, on the end of Malé atoll, lies the island resort, Eriyadhu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Eriyadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eriyadu Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Hotel Eriyadu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eriyadu Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.