We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it would love to go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eriyadu Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Eriyadu Island Resort to your Saves list
Eriyadu Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eriyadu Island
rugby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved it would love to go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Island had just had a fire when we arrived, the coffee shop and bar had been distroyed, it did not make any diffrence to us but a bar and coffee shop were allocated near by.
We had a super room with a good view of the beach, fittings tired and needed a good upgrade, but loads of space for hanging your clothes etc. The lighting was very good and its the best we have ever had in the maldives yet!!! the room was clean.

The dive centre staff were very helpful to us telling us about whare the reef was best to snorkle etc and we could look at the fish books any time we wanted to go to the dive shop.

The food was good with a good selection, i cant eat spicy food but found lots to eat that was not spicy. If any food ran out we just notified staff in the resturant and food was replaced (hot) we thought that the food was ok over the two weeks we were there.

One of the best things we have ever done in the Maldives was on this trip to swim with the Manta Rays i still marvel at just how they glide and come at the side of you its fantastic, not to be missed.
We would love to go back to this Island as the reef is fantastic one of the best we have ever seen, as to why they are now building a swimming pool (to replace bar/coffee shop) i dont know, the reef is the selling point of this island.

It is a great shame that the prices have been hicked up so much in the Maldives to the point that they have now outpriced us eg-; 5* hotel A/I in Jamaica is less than a 3* maldives f.b. Also a 3* hotel in Mauritus A/I is cheaper. So you compare the best value for your money.
Whare are we going next holiday Australia and its cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    128
    50
    15
    11
See reviews for
49
188
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I can assure you that Eriyadu Island Resort is not 4* accommodation by and stretch of the imagination. Indeed the island is beautiful, absolute paradise with fabulous snorkelling, however the actual rooms leave A LOT to be desired. I am airline crew and therefore spend more time staying in hotels than in my actual home, and if we were ever put in this hotel on a layover, there would be uproar from crew complaining about the terrible standards of cleanliness, old-fashioned and shabby decor and useless staff. The customer service was one of the most disappointing aspects of the resort, as one would expect from a 4* establishment to have some sort of service, perhaps a 'hello' in the restaurant from the waiters. It was in fact a miracle to hear even a grunt from some of them, and there is no way on earth that these calibre of people should be working in a "4*" hotel. The wi-fi was also broken. Overall, I was extremely disappointed and would advise anyone considering staying here that the value for money is terrible and I would say it would barely scrape getting a 2* rating in reality. Agoda.com seriously misrepresents this hotel on the website and I will not be going back. It is a shame because the island itself is like paradise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed at Eriyadu for almost 2 weeks in February 2010. The main purpose of our trip to Maldives was to see the beauty of the underwater world and with Eriyadu we made the right choice. The house reef is absolutely amazing with abundant reef life - all kinds of tropical fish, rays, moray eels, turtles. We went snorkeling every single day and could not get enough of it. Don` t go without an underwater camera!
The hotel itself is quite basic and old and in need for renovation. We were lucky to get a bungalow with a separate room, all other rooms are in two per bungalow and are said to have poor sound isolation so you can hear your neighbors if they are loud. Don`t take rooms numbered 150 and higher cause they are located near the generator which is noisy. The best beach is in front of rooms 110-130, but this is also the windy side of the island so be prepared for some wind. We did not have the best part of the beach in front of our bungalow 109, there was some erosion present, but again we enjoyed our isolation from neighbors. The rooms are basic, and there were no bathroom amenities so bring your own shampoo and everything. The room was cleaned twice a day and the roomboy did his job well. The food was quite good, we were on HB, the breakfast was ordinary - not much choice and fruits, but the dinner was good.
We had our lunches at beach-bar, where the service was very slow and they were often out of ingredients for things that we ordered so we had to order smth else. The cocktails were quite good and reasonably priced.
We did PADI OWD course during our stay and got our diving licenses. The safety standards were very high, equipment was well maintained and the dive center personnel was always friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Emanuel who was our instructor and Kai, the manager of the dive center.
All in all we enjoyed our stay very much. It is not a luxury place and you will not find much entertainment, but if you are looking for a quiet place with a beautiful reef then you will find it on Eri.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

My second stay on this small quiet no frill island and going back again next year ! If you want efficient and friendly service, if you want a clean large comfortable room, if you want a very good professional diving centre and if you want a fantastic house reef, this is the Island for you ! So many people return year after year...that's the wow factor for you !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

After visitng the Maldives over the last 10 year we deciced to pick Eriyadu because we were told that it was one of the best snorkelling islands.We weren't disapointed at all .Within minutes of arrival after a 45 min speedboat ride we went in the water for a snorkell. The fish were unbelivable and everthing we had read about the island snorkelling was spot on.
Our room was set back from the beach behind the trees in the shade which provided a welcome break from the afternoon sun.
The food was was excellant and after a few days the staff knew what we wanted and the drinks were waiting for us on the table,nothing was too much trouble .When the chef found out that we both enjoyed curries he made the most beautiful beetroot curry.
The hotel mannger asked us one day to accompany a russian family on a snorkelling trip to see turtels on a nearby reef.The boat dropped us straight onto the turtels what an experience. Overall the best island we have been too in the maldives infact we have booked again for Nov 2011

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Since my first visit in 1972 this is my 34th time in the Maldives,so we've stayed at many of the resorts and visited lots more: Ihuru , little Huraa,Vabbinfaru, Wadoo,Veligandu, Nakafachafushi, Olhuveli, Diddhufinolhu(Ari Beach) Reethi Ra, Kuramathi, Fun Island,Gan ,ect.
Many of them are friendly but Eriyadu is tops .The Maldivian ownership and management,as well as the waiters ,roomboys and sailors, are all obviously doing their utmost to see to it that everyone enjoys their stay.

The rooms are spacious ,air /con, have lots of cupboards, desk and table space and have magnificent teak floors.(Teak! really the finest and most expensive -wood!! I wish my own home had such a beatibul floor)

All the meals are buffet.The food, if not the most luxurious, is well prepared and there's always a lot of fruit and vegetables. I didn't see a single meal ( breakfast ,
lunch or dinner ) at which there wasn't at least two kinds of fresh (not canned!) fruit plus a fruit salad.Apples, oranges, pineapple , passion fruit , watermelon,bananas etc.

We spend our days diving the magnificient house reef so we're not interested in disco evenings.We enjoy the peace and quiet and the music of the waves on the seashore.

A previous review contains a series of lies !( I use that word deliberately!)

a ) Neither my wife, nor I, nor any of the 12 adults in our group have suffered much from mosquitoes while at Eriyadu . That's unique in the Maldives! In addition : how often have you seen mosquitoes in an air/con room?

b) Black ants ? ( which don't bite ) Yes. Cockroaches ? I didn't see any.

c) Our seaside superior rooms were allocated exactly as reserved .They were near the generators but we never smelled any fumes.

d) The fire destroyed only the seaside Bar. While they're rebuilding it the bar tables are set up on the beach in the sand and lit by colored lights and romantic
candlelight .The fire didn't cause any other damage .

To which island will we go on our next visit to the Maldives? Certainly to Eriyadu.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon. UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

My wife booked our week at this island for the last week in February 2011. She’d heard about for the amazing house reef. Yes, it was superb. But as for the island and the management, beware!

Where do I start? We were kept waiting at Male airport for nearly four hours while a boat didn’t come for us. They thought we were coming on a different flight! As I later discovered, the island only has one working speedboat so they had to ‘group’ guests in this way.

We booked the superior room. It’s nothing special. The problem was, we weren’t in this room for the first two days.

The excuse was that no booking form had been received, but the manager would find us a room! What a kind man! B******** We found ourselves in one of the standard rooms, infested with cockroaches and giant ants. Both were all over the island, and presumably were also in the kitchen, too? There was no weekly fumigation, as promised in the sales blurb. This was confirmed by two of the staff. There was one, the afternoon before the fire!

The gentle waft of fumes from the generators all day was reminiscent of standing in a lorry park!

On day three I was badly bitten by mosquitoes – the only time ever on the Maldives. This carried on to the final morning. They got into the room and devoured my wife, too.

Two more couples had arrived the same day we did. Guess what! Their bookings had not been received either, and they too had been offered the standard rooms! Were we the only ones? Apparently not. Two other couples nearing their end of their stay had suffered the same. And I gather that others before us had experienced similar.

To us, this was clearly not a case of over booking but, as I see it, a practiced case of maximising revenue, with the only compensation being boat trips and a meal on the beach. That cost the resort nothing, but ruined the first two of seven days. Actually, allowing for the late departure and early morning start back to Male, it was six days.

Increasingly these days I see a pattern where resorts work on the basis that you are unlikely to ever return as you seek to explore other islands, countries etc, and so your custom is not appreciated and highly valued.

The food was below average. Nothing to excite you at all. Curried fish was liked by some. The chef needs serious training on how to prepare meat dishes. Breakfast is the worst!

I lay no blame at the tour companies who booked us for our problems. Full marks to them as they tried to help. They were shifting people off the island after the fire, so if you have booked you will have the option to move.

Our summary of thoughts about the resort? Superior rooms are OK but tired, and the houses tightly packed together on a very small island. Beach erosion on the south side will have them in the sea in a few years! Reef great, food rubbish, but the table waiting and room cleaning staff friendly.

Would we book again? NEVER.

When we came to leave, we were on the jetty, cases ready and the boat pulled up ... but sped off without us! Finally got to the airport with 10-minutes before the gate closed.

I would love to write more, but am aware that companies have powerful lawyers!

If only the wind had been blowing in a different direction when it 'caught fire'.

David & Jan

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eriyadu Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eriyadu Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Eriyadu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eriyadu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eriyadu Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bounty of an exorbitant coral reef, an adobe laying atop a tropical island & a gold tinted stretch of your private beach while the day slumbers into the dusk. In the heart of the Indian Ocean, on the end of Malé atoll, lies the island resort, Eriyadhu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Eriyadu Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eriyadu Island Hotel North Male Atoll
Hotel Eriyadu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eriyadu Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.