We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Stop #1 in Maldives!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huraa Island
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Stop #1 in Maldives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Wow - Simply amazing. Beautiful. Service amazing. Diving was fantastic. They pretty much do the diving for you. Take your fins off underwater before getting on boat, take your tanks off. Amazing place. Couldnt have asked for a better place to start my Maldives part of my Honeymoon. This was top notch. A+++++ Stayed at Landaa 2nd. Stayed September 2012

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyShimabuku, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your refreshing perspectives with us about Kuda Huraa. I loved your "they almost do the diving for you" comment and can relate to having all of one's equipment seamlessly removed as part of the pampering process. I enjoyed your quick and concise comments about our island and the experience we strive to deliver. Most important, we usually only get one chance at getting a honeymoon right and it sounds like in a small way, we were able to help you achieve this...which makes us very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    76
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
218
351
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Maldives is breathtakingly, naturally beautiful, which makes a great holiday guaranteed. But what the Four Seasons does is perfect the experience. My husband, two children and I stayed at the Kuda Huraa property for 5 nights in June 2014 and it was bliss. The resort is small but well equipped and the staff were genuinely pleased to serve and help us. The kids were delighted with their colourful goody bags and the personal touches in the villa - the child-friendly toiletries and robes, the bed linen embroidered with sea creatures, the soft toys and the cupcakes that waited for them. We stayed in beach villa on the sunset side, and my husband and I spent most nights after dinner relaxing under the stars on the garden loungers, listening to the surf. Breakfast was sumptuous, and Umar in the Huraa cafe too special care of the kids, giving them personalised pancakes every day. We enjoyed our dinner at the Italian and the Indian too, but thought the buffet night a bit over priced and over the top. The children also enjoyed the kids club with Mas and Naeema, the shark feeding and other activities immensely, which gave the grown-ups time to spend together. We did not dive, or leave the island, but snorkelled a lot around the house reef, which the hotel allows guests to take part in rebuilding. Yes, it was an expensive holiday but the experience was priceless. I would love to be able to go again.

Room Tip: Our villa, on the sunset side, was lovely. You get a choice - the sunset or sunrise. I dont think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyShimabuku, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and share your perspectives. I was very pleased to read your comments as we try to cater to both couples as well as families and often times both here on Kuda Huraa...providing enough romantic "sneak away's" for well deserving parents mixed in with parent/children activities on the water as well as on land. For sure Umar in Cafe Huraa is a gem and his personalized pancakes are an amazing concept. I have also noted your comments about our Indian Buffet in Badabaru and will try to make some positive adjustments in a timely manner. We hope to see you again in the not-so-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Conveniently located 25 minutes by speedboat from the airport, the resort is beautiful and luxurious. The water villas are very romantic - no need for the pool water villa as the private pool is the size of a large jacuzzi. The current can be a little strong though. The nice thing about this resort is that it's situated in two directions so that you have two types of view, waves and beach options.

The Italian restaurant is great with lobster pasta and wood oven baked pizza but cafe kuda haraa is slightly limited. Not many healthy salad options. The breakfast buffet is definitely worth getting up for. The Indian buffet was delicious but not super fresh as the tandoori dishes were dried up and left sitting there for a while.

There are two swimming pools- an adult and kids friendly freshwater one. Both have beautiful views and are super clean. Unfortunately two out of four of the sun pavilions had wasps nests in them. Giant wasps and one of the pool attendants told us they weren't dangerous?!?!?!

Aside from that, in general, the staff were very courteous, friendly and efficient. As can be expected with Four Seasons, service was great!

Lots of guests events and trips but when we went the weather wasn't great so we just relaxed. Beware of cancellation charges as if the weather is choppy you could still end up paying over usd1k to sail on choppy seas in a private boat...

Super relaxing and tranquil holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyShimabuku, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your impressions of Kuda Huraa. We always appreciate when someone shares positive experiences as well as areas that could be improved upon. We are in fact adding more healthy, main course salads to our menus since this is an important part of "feeling and looking good" on our enchanted island. Also your comment about cancellation fees is something we always try to be sensitive to and we will look into this further as well. Your feedback is great to receive and very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our first visit to this must see part of the world. Four Seasons excel here, led by their local staff, who were welcoming, friendly, attentive and yet unobtrusive. The location is a short (40min) boat transfer from the airport at Male; to a real piece of paradise. There was nothing to fault. The food, facilities and location are as Four Season advertises, but delivered with grace and a Maldivian smile. Do this resort and then their other property at Landaa Giraavaru. Its not cheap, but it is worth every cent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyShimabuku, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your impressions and memories of our little island. You so eloquently described what we strive for in "attentive yet un-obstructive service" that is "delivered with grace and a Maldivian smile". I realize that I am repeating what you have already written but it makes our team feel good when we receive such sincere compliments. For sure the Maldivian "trifecta" of Kudaa Huraa, Landaa Giraavaru and our wonderful Explorer can be enjoyed on one shot or over two or three visits. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Turning 40. People make a bigger deal of this event than what I felt about it. For several months my wife and I discussed what we should be doing for my 40th. Finally we decided to keep it small, (by indian standards) easy to organise and politically safe!!! So we decided to take just our siblings and their spouses. So it was 7 of us. This was my second visit to the Maldives. The first was around 8 years before when we stayed at the angsana which I had loved at that time. Maldives is aso incredibly pristine and beautiful that most decent hotels here would feel fabulous. Kuda hara has been around a while. I had always heard good things about it. Not the most opulent or mind blowing hotel in the Maldives. But super nevertheless. This is what I had heard. And until I stay at the other properties this will remain for me my best Maldives experience. Great service and food. Lovely over water rooms. Great snorkelling. Awesome spa. And friendly folk at the activity centre who organised a "highlight" night snorkelling trip that I would highly recommend. Can't wait to get back to the Maldives although it almost certainly will be another resort. That's no fault of Kuda Hara which was close to perfect. But there are so many more to experience........

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyShimabuku, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions and experiences here on Kuda Huraa with us. Indeed those birthdays that have a zero behind a number often seem more significant to others vs. the beholder. None the less we are honored that you chose our resort for such an important personal landmark. You are so correct that we are not an "opulent" hotel and since we focus on our guest, food and spa your acknowledgement in enjoying these are much appreciated. The snorkeling and diving around our island can be enjoyed at various times of the day and as you mentioned, even at night. Enjoy exploring the other islands in the Maldives and check out our sister property in Landaa Giraavaru for something very special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We arrived at Kuda Hurra by sea plane from Landaa Giraavaru for a 4 night stay. Fabulous views of reefs and islands from the plane. We had stayed at Kuda Hurra 10 years ago and this trip lived up to our memories. Our room this time was a Sunset Beach Bungalow with pool. The rooms are well appointed with walk in wardrobe, large bathroom with separate toilet and indoor and outdoor showers. The outdoor area is private with a small plunge pool and beach access. The sandy beach was clean and the water warm. We had a buffet breakfast each morning in Café Hurra and lunch at the Reef Club. Dinner was at either the Reef Club (Italian) or Kandu Grill. All were excellent! Sunset drinks at the Reef Club were also good and they feed the sharks at the beach. We did a sunset dolphin cruise and managed to find a very large school of Spinner Dolphins which was very exciting but then we came across a large pod of Pilot Whales which were amazing to watch. We went sunset fishing and manage to catch a few large fish that weren't edible and were thrown back but we had fun doing it! We also did a jet ski tour early one morning before the sea got too rough. I think the last 10 years has seen a lot more development in the Maldives and there are other resorts in close proximity but they don't have any impact on your stay here. The staff and service here, as with all Four Seasons, is excellent. A wonderful and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyShimabuku, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your sharing your wonderful "diary" of activities here on Kuda Huraa. We really appreciate all the details that you included and are delighted that you were able to enjoy your time on our enchanted island to the fullest. We are also glad to hear that you were not only blessed with a large pod of spinner dolphins but that you even got to see some pilot whales! Our only hope is that you don't wait another 10 years to come back and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Wondertrip, can't even describeit here! Must visit, it is surely expensive, but worth every day you spend there.

You surely will get a feeling of being in a different world, if you want to forget city life, this is great place to be.


Will post pics later!

Room Tip: Sea Bunglows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandyShimabuku, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. Kuda Huraa is for sure a "different world" and we love it when our guest can capture that spirit during their experience here. Indeed we are anxiously awaiting to see the photos that you took on our magical island! Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huraa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huraa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all the charm and intimacy of a traditional Maldivian village on this colourful garden island with pristine beaches and Tiffany-blue lagoon, just 25 minutes speedboat ride from Male' Airport. Sail to The Island Spa for natural treatments for men, women and children; or indulge in a lunar ritual on a starlit beach at The Night Spa. Explore up to 30 local dive sites with the PADI 5-Star IDC Centre. The Serenity Pool offers an atmospheric adults-only alternative to the main infinity pool while family activities include shark safaris, dolphin cruises and Robinson Crusoe adventures. Head to the Surf School to hang with the pros in some of the world’s most consistent and warmest swells. Take a dhoni to The Island Tennis Court or visit The Marine Discovery Centre to build your own coral reef and visit the baby turtles. Dining highlights include award-winning home-style Indian at Baraabaru and sophisticated oceanfront Italian at Reef Club.Kuda Huraa’s 96 thatched beach and water accommodations were each constructed by local craftsmen using indigenous materials and techniques to reflect a true sense of the Maldives. Beach Bungalows and Family Beach Bungalows have their own plunge pool in a private garden surround. Water Villas, some with plunge pools, entice with large sundecks and steps down into the lagoon, while the one- and two-bedroom Water Suites have a glass-walled pool and additional indoor and outdoor space for the ultimate in lagoon living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Maldives At Kuda Huraa Hotel North Male Atoll
4 Seasons Resort Maldives At Kuda Huraa
Four Seasons Hotel Maldives
Four Seasons North Male Atoll
Four Seasons Maldives
North Male Atoll Four Seasons
Four Seasons Kuda Huraa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.