We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and stunning setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huraa Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and stunning setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

First time to Maldives and Four Seasons and both exceeded our high expectations. We stayed in a sun rise water bungalow and it was beautiful, better than the photos on the website. From the moment we arrived until we were waved off on the speedbaot transfer to the airport the staff and the service were exceptional. Very friendly, warm and good humoured, nothing was too much trouble and great care was taken to every detail. Everyone seemed to know our names and soon we were enjoying friendly banter in every bar and restaurant. We must mention the diving and recommend it. We had not dived for 10 years so we did the refresher course and soo we were hooked on the two dive morning trips. Well done Angela for making it such a great diving experience.

We went with the half board plan and thoroughly recommend that - you are not restricted in chance and it is much better than a huge bill every evening!

A stunning holiday, hard to find any fault at all.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuliohoch, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for comments.

So happy to learn that you enjoyed your first holiday in Maldives and Four Seasons.....I will share your nice words with Angela and all of the staff.

We do hope to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise!

Tulio Hochkoeppler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    76
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
219
352
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Been here twice now. Once as a couple and the second time as a famly. On both occasions the standard of service and hospitality is wonderful.
As a couple it was romantic as a family there was lots to do even with a two year old. We have stayed on both occasions on the sunrise side of the resort. On the first occasion the sand on the beach was more coral, however by the second visit the management team had gone to great lengths to get fresh lagoon sand on to the beeach. As you would expect with a 4S resort, the food is examplary, they have a cooking lesson activity which is amazing. They really look after you!
i would really recommend a visit if you can.

Room Tip: Dont be shy to ask for additional equipment for your baby/child. We were provided with complimentar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stunning facilities, outstanding spa and professional staff. The rooms on the beach were great for a family with small children. The kids club was great and keep our kids returning each day. The food was delicious, especially the Indian restaurant, and the breakfast was superb (fresh fruits, pancakes, waffles and eggs made to order). The dolphin cruise was wonderful for the kids and the snorkelling was another great activity. The spa, was beautiful and the services were all fantastic. We loved it so much we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Amazing Service, Luxury Rooms, Delicious Food.
Children are treated like Royalties!
Once More, Well Done FS Kuda Huraa !

Room Tip: 206 to 208 Lagoon Side for snorkeling ,calmer and nicer waters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

we stayed here one night before getting on the f.s. explorer the next day so they gave us the discounted rate of "rest and transfer" which was like half the price and they gave us the beach pavillion on the sunset side. i personally liked this resort better than their sister resort. it felt much more smaller, personal, private, and quiet. i guess it was because it didnt have as many amenities like laanda did, that's why we didn't see any kids here. only couples and adults. since we were on the sunset side, we were able to sit out on the beach to enjoy a beautiful maldivian sunset. the lounge was very nice and cozy and had an outdoor deck for us to enjoy a session of sheesha in the moonlit darkness of the night. would definitely go back if i can afford it. service was alittle slow but it was because there were not many guests staying during our stay so i understand they probably cut down on their staff. but you can tell this is a newly renovated resort, because i heard that alot of it got washed out during the 04 christmas tsunami.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spent 9 days with our 2 kids at Kuda Huraa and it has been the best experience ever at a tropical destination! The wonderful, friendly, helpful and professional staff gave us the best service we could wish for! Everything on the island is maintained with so much care for details, the atmosphere is perfectly relaxed and peaceful, and the style of the bungalows, restaurants and all facilities is beautiful. We could recommend this hotel to everyone!

Room Tip: We were on the sunrise side of the island in a beach bungalow and it was perfect. Snorkelling is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We don't often write reviews of hotels, but felt that it compelled to do so in this instance - largely because we have such mixed views about Kuda Huura.
We have been lucky enough to stay at several other resorts in the Maldives in the past (Landaa Giravaru, Huvafen Fushi and Baros) and, on arrival at Kuda Huura, I felt as though I wanted to cry - we truly felt that the first impression was terrible.
It is situated next to several other islands - some other resorts which were not terribly inspiring and are clearly not 5* resorts like Kuda Huura (one of which was Club Med), and there was a local island about 100m away on which there a construction project is currently underway. In the lagoon was a strange looking structure which, on arrival at our room, we realised was pumping sand from the lagoon to the beach on the other side of the island to repair the beach which had been slightly eroded. When we stepped on to the beach from our garden / decking area, we were greeted with a huge great big pipe sticking out of the sand.
We were really disappointed with all of the beaches too - the water in the lagoon is full of seagrass that clings to you and gets in your face as you swim through it, and both the beach and the entry into the water on the sunrise side of the island are littered with broken coral - large, hard, spiky bits of coral. So although we love to swim in the sea, we really didn't feel particularly inclined to do so here. We would have liked the broken coral on the sunrise side of the island to have been cleared away, so that at least one of the beaches is nice to swim off - our ideal of a maldivian island is to be able to walk out onto soft sand into a beautiful blue sea, but you can't do that at Kuda Huura.
Suffice to say, after the unutterable beauty of some of the other Maldivian islands, this came as a real blow, and the first night we considered asking if we could transfer to Landa Giravaru - especially since LG is such an incredibly beautiful island.
We also didn't get the same feeling of "exclusivity" initially, because of the location and the work that was being carried out on the beach and the next door island.
However, we bumped into the manager and when he asked us how we liked the island we mentioned the pipe on the beach - when we returned to our room 5 minutes later it was gone! It returned the next day to pump more sand onto the beach, but then it was removed and we didn't see it again.
We decided to stick with KH as we love Four Seasons service, and the food on the first night and our spa treatment were very enjoyable.
Having decided to stay, we gradually warmed to the island - the pool is lovely as is the food (though probably not as good as some other islands), and the staff go out of their way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. All of the staff are so friendly, and wherever you go on the island, after about 2 days, everyone seems to know your name. The bar staff were great - we had good fun with them!
Some aspects of Four Seasons service and style just isn't replicated anywhere else, and that's what we loved about Kuda Huura.
The dive centre at KH and LG are first class - from the kit that is used, to the fact you get your own box of kit which is yours for your whole stay, to the actual experience itself - the pre-dive briefings on board, the dive itself and the fresh fruit, cookies and drinks on the way back to the resort after the dive. I wouldn't change a single thing about the way the dive centre is run.
Hand on heart, I can't say that this would be my first island of choice to return to in the Maldives, because there are other islands that are visually more beautiful. However, it is marginally less eye wateringly expensive than some of the other islands, yet you receive the same level of service as at LG, and if you like to see some of the larger fish (sharks, rays etc), the diving really is amazing - better in fact we felt than at Landaa Giravaru (unless perhaps you to go LG to see the mantas during manta season!). I couldn't say that I wouldn't ever return, but it wouldn't be my first choice of resort to visit.
So while we did in fact have a wonderful stay - you'd be hard pressed not to, in fairness - we feel that the location of the resort really lets it down - for the price, we would expect a more exclusive feel to the resort.
Finally, we have a few small suggestions:
We wanted a private dining experience - we had one on the beach and it was lovely. However, we felt that a private bbq on your own deck would have been a really nice private dining option - some other resorts offer this and it is lovely and we think would be a popular addition.
A really minor point, but, for the beach dinner, we would suggest planting somewhere closeby some of the lovely scented sticks that are lit throughout the resort at night - we love the fragrances as you walk down the "village road" in the evening, and it would add a really lovely fragrance to what was a gorgeous evening!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Huraa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Huraa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all the charm and intimacy of a traditional Maldivian village on this colourful garden island with pristine beaches and Tiffany-blue lagoon, just 25 minutes speedboat ride from Male' Airport. Sail to The Island Spa for natural treatments for men, women and children; or indulge in a lunar ritual on a starlit beach at The Night Spa. Explore up to 30 local dive sites with the PADI 5-Star IDC Centre. The Serenity Pool offers an atmospheric adults-only alternative to the main infinity pool while family activities include shark safaris, dolphin cruises and Robinson Crusoe adventures. Head to the Surf School to hang with the pros in some of the world’s most consistent and warmest swells. Take a dhoni to The Island Tennis Court or visit The Marine Discovery Centre to build your own coral reef and visit the baby turtles. Dining highlights include award-winning home-style Indian at Baraabaru and sophisticated oceanfront Italian at Reef Club.Kuda Huraa’s 96 thatched beach and water accommodations were each constructed by local craftsmen using indigenous materials and techniques to reflect a true sense of the Maldives. Beach Bungalows and Family Beach Bungalows have their own plunge pool in a private garden surround. Water Villas, some with plunge pools, entice with large sundecks and steps down into the lagoon, while the one- and two-bedroom Water Suites have a glass-walled pool and additional indoor and outdoor space for the ultimate in lagoon living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Maldives At Kuda Huraa Hotel North Male Atoll
4 Seasons Resort Maldives At Kuda Huraa
Four Seasons Hotel Maldives
Four Seasons North Male Atoll
Four Seasons Maldives
North Male Atoll Four Seasons
Four Seasons Kuda Huraa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Kuda Huraa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.