We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Shoes Needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Island Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Island Village
Save Saved
You added Summer Island Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   08460   |  
Hotel amenities
germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Shoes Needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Summer Island is a great laid back resort and makes for a great vacation. The dive team was super--helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. The staff, particularly in the dining room, was accommodating and friendly. Our room and bathroom were always clean and a spigot on the porch makes it easy to keep the room sand-free. The resort has closed for expansion and upgrading which I hope will not spoil the intimate, chilled out ambiance. This resort may not be the most luxurious, but the easy going charm and relaxed attitudes made for a great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    102
    43
    20
    16
See reviews for
35
230
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Male
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you are looking for "great food,"great staff service" person then Summer Island does not fit your requirements. If you are searching for amazing views, perfect beach location and great marine life,GO for it! We stayed in 227 and I'm not sure about the other villas but our room is the best! The room has direct access to the beach.We snorkeled only on that spot! Many fishes around! They provide comp snorkeling trip as well at least 2 times a day. Their bar is located at the sunset side of the island,making it our perfect spot for our sparkling wine before dinner. Except the service which was really poor unless you give them money with every move, everything else was great!! Will definitely go back again! 3 nights is not enough!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

me and my hubby got a late deal for this island in feb 2011, as the Maldives was on my bucket list,(and who knows how long they will be above water) we knew it was the lower end of the market and the only one that we could afford an upgrade to a water bungalow which offered breakfast in bed option daily and has a part of the floor glass so you can see the stingrays etc swim around at night as there is a light to see them, and a balcony with a great view & you have your own allocated beach area with loungers & shade so no towel reservation needed, lol . The room was old fashioned and bathroom not the best, so looking forward to the impending upgrade that's been reported. What makes this island is the relaxed atmosphere and the 'no news no shoes' motto. Me and my hubby only went for a week but we were so chilled, wish it was longer. The staff are very hard working and the garden and beach are tended to daily, before we even wake up, the fact is despite what people think these beaches would not look so gorgeous without the staff prepping them. We found the food ok and if you wanted something done different, or the same dish made again another day the chef didn't have an issue and would come to your table to meet you and assist your every need. I loved a korma type dish and he made it again the following night at my request. the desserts as usual always look nicer than they taste, which if find all over the world. you can however buy a magnum ice lolly at the cost of a few dollars if you really want too. It was not an issue that there was no pool as I enjoy the sea and snorkelling with the fish and sharks etc. we also loved the night fishing. we went with way too much money so spent it on a few spa treatments each day, which was amazing with a super view into the ocean. we tried a different hotel/island the following year, which was better accommodation but the island didn't feel as good as siv, with too much pushy selling to upgrade everything despite it being an all inclusive, and having rats visiting the open bathroom, which cost more than siv, so if I could take the accommodation from my second island and put it on summer island It would be amazing. so im glad to say I would in a heart beat go back to siv and I can only imagine how good it will be with the refurb. we done the arrival in a boat hoping to see dolphins but didn't, and it was long and wet and windy, so we got a return in the sea plane which cost more but worth it for the view. we had a day when a storm came, and it was wonderful, seeing the dark sky coming in from a distance, and the lull before the storm was surreal, it was truly beautiful and quiet and still, but when it hit in the evening it was quite a force, so very glad they had a golf brolly in the room to let us get to our dinner nice and dry. loved it & mr waheed so funny and helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

To us summer island is the perfect holiday
We stayed two weeks and had a wonderful time all the staff are so friendly and helpful. summer island is not 5 star but we knew that when we went. The food is buffet style and is more than acceptable. Our superior beach bungalow was excellent big bed big bathroom fridge tv etc more than enough. Why would you want a pool in the maldives when the sea is 29 degrees and full of beautiful fish. The manager mr Mohammed waheed was the perfect host and understands the needs of all his guests no matter what nationality. Can't wait to go back hope the refit doesn't change it too much

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our experience of SIV was wonderful. We stayed from Feb 16th to March 2nd. We were a tad apprehensive after reading some of the unfavourable comments, however the holiday was brilliant from start to finish.
The island is very lush and the wildlife is interesting. The beaches were clean, safe, beautiful. The ocean is warm crystal clear and teaming with exquisite fish. Feeding time at the end of the jetty is a must, if like me one is a little nervous in deep water, you can see Sharks, Rays, fish of all sizes zipping around for the titbits fed by the staff. Amazing experience.
Our room was a superior bungalow and was very clean furnished well and comfortable. Our room staff were all helpful friendly hard working people, willing to help you get the most of your stay. I THANK THEM ALL.
The general feel of the Island was one of relaxation and Mr Waheed and his staff had good manners and a good sense of humourWe were always happy with the selection of meal choices and cleanliness of the restaurant area.. We felt very happy relaxed and welcome on SIV and certainly will visit again

Room Tip: Superior bungalows are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just spent 4 days in a supior bungalow and fell in love with the place. Was concerned going all that way to a 3* Hotel and reading the inconsistant reviews on line. It's not the Four Seasons but so chilled and relaxed it more then made up for it. Room was perfect, beach and ocean even better, was also concerned that there was no pool but after an hour in the ocean…who cared.
Staff were not the friendly think due to their fate as the place is closing for 8 months for a renovation. Very relaxed, no shoes on the whole time, very idyllic and quirky, loved it, would go again for sure and would say dont go by the negative comments, i found the whole place positive…miss it very much.

Room Tip: Supior room on the side of the island where the bar is, the other side gets windy and is close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our forth time in the Maldives we went here by chance and found it an excellent choice for the money.we stayed in a superior room (all inclusive) and it proved to be a good standard of room on the best beach on the island.There was a fridge, good air conditioning and coffee facilities.The food and drink were reasonable with excellent service from all the friendly staff.The boat transfer was safe and speedy and although apprehensive about not taking a sea plane it worked well.I would recommend this island highly for beach and comfort and the snorkling was adequate.The only downside being the extras.....hiring beach towels,mattresses and wifi these should be in an all inclusive package.The island had a nice relaxed no news no shoes feel,however the island is closing in May for a refurb and they are doubling the room capacity and this will have a very detromental effect.

Room Tip: The superior rooms all face the best beach and are worth the upgrade, the water bungalows are poor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Island Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Island Village

Address: 08460
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Island Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the summer never ends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Island Village Hotel North Male Atoll
Summer Island Village Maldives
Summer Island Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Island Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.