We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation & great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Island Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Island Village
Save Saved
You added Summer Island Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   08460   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Total relaxation & great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Visited the island in Feb 2013 for 2 weeks to get away from it all & relax. My friend and I had a great time.
Slightly worried about some of the reviews but we enjoyed ourselves, the resort staff were welcoming and very helpful our waiter and room cleaners were lovely guys, had a laugh with the Bar Stewards, you always gotta smile no matter what time of day you came across the staff who work so hard, even the gardeners were friendly at 06:30 in the mornings when they swept the leaves up around outside our superior room.
Diverland a huge thank you, they gave us the confidence to snorkel and we saw some amazing sealift and undersea life, truly spectacular the 3 trips we went on with them.
It was the adventure of a lifetime, from the seaplane from Male to the swimming with Triggers, Puffers, Lionfish & Boxfish, most of which were right off our beach.
Our room was 230, we had a shady spot for when the sun got a bit too much.
Only downside was the food, there was lots of variety but a bit spicy for us, breakfast was great freshly made omelettes and bread.
Island hopping trip we had a great BBQ the best thing I'd eaten in 12 days.
Thoroughly enjoyed it, and the other islands we passed by boat or seaplane made us pleased we had picked SVI, our beach views were stunning & not obstructed like other Atolls by water bungalows.
We met some lovely people, they know who they are and helped make it such a great holiday, would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great deal in the Maldives on a budget.

Room Tip: 230 was great quite central location for restaurant & bar. 5 minute walk to the jetty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    101
    43
    20
    16
See reviews for
35
230
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, U.K
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Quite simply the best value for money holiday in the Maldives. Just got back and I can't speak highly enough of the island. We stayed in a superior room number 211 which was perfect and the view was stunning. We went snorkelling out the front of our room and saw the most amazing fish and sea life. The food is more than adequate a good selection every day with tea and sandwiches every day at 4. The bar staff were amazing and what a view!!!!! Our waiter zameer was the best and he dressed our table with a great flower display on our last night. Mr Waheed was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome he even gave us lilo for the kids. Once a week they have either a trapeze show or magic show with a disco on a Saturday night. There is only one big problem with the holiday.....how the hell are we going to beat that next year.

Room Tip: My advise would be don't go for water bungalow pick a superior room from 209 - 220
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Reading through other reviews, I cannot believe we were in the same place! Had a fantastic holiday here and am looking to go again with the children later this year! Absolutely loved the island - Mr Waheed is incredibly polite, the staff are amazing workers who barely get any time off or see their families. I thoroughly enjoyed the food, plenty of choice - nothing was too much trouble. Not a great deal of entertainment but I was there on a 'getting away from it all ' break so didn't want noisy music every night! Found that although the island was small we didnt feel that there were people everywhere - had a lot of privacy. Amazing value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakefield, null, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We read many reviews about summer island. We were not disapointed, infact more suprised it exceeded our expectations, Firstly the island is beautiful, All staff very welcoming and friendly. The island is very well kept, they are in the process of upgradeing which did not affect our holiday, the food was very good with lots of choices , we had a superior bungalow right on beach and have to say very well fitted out, rooms were cleaned at least 2 times a day, so many fish in the sea, snorkelling we swam with a turtle you could go out on boat daily to other reefs which was free up to twice a day, if you wanted to go more their was a small charge,we would not hesitate to go back again, also some evenings around 4 4.30 they feed the fish of the jetty a real crowd pleaser, all sort of fish waiting what a sight

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have read other reviews on this resort and cant quite understand why the resort gets negative reviews.......we have visited this island 3 years running and are currenlty in the process of booking again for next year.......

There is some work being carried out on the island which involves maintaining the sand and some rooms are being renovated but this does not cause any problems to the holiday makers or cause any inconvenience or noise

The food is as good as ever....the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly and go out of their way to help and make your holiday as enjoyable as possible

Dont miss out on a great holiday by taking notice of these negative reviews......Summer Island Village is a great resort

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This island is lovely, staff very friendly, lovely and relaxing. Great for snorkelling. Food was very nice, we had the meal on the beach, very romantic! We stayed in a water bungalow and it was great to see the fish swimming underneath through the glass panel in the floor.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was my dream to go to the Maldives and after a perfect week on the Attoll Explorer we went onto Sumer Island. Maybe not the best of the resorts, but still very good. We had a water villa with a glass floor to watch the fish and this gave us our own area on the beach. It was very chilled out, everywhere was sand even in the restaurant. The food was ok, as with all All Inclusive hotels, the restaurant is a bit like a canteen. The only thing lacking was waiter service to the beach for drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Island Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Island Village

Address: 08460
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Island Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the summer never ends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Island Village Hotel North Male Atoll
Summer Island Village Maldives
Summer Island Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Island Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.