We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit a 3rd is on the cards!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Island Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Island Village
Save Saved
You added Summer Island Village to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   08460   |  
Hotel amenities
swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“2nd visit a 3rd is on the cards!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Visited Summer Island Village in November 2011......this is our second visit and it certainly wont be our last.......this time we stayed in the newly done 'Superior Rooms' I would recommend these........we thought they were lovely...bathroom was brilliant as was the room in fairness.......restaurant was excellent again...infairness as been said previously not a huge choice but was it there is nicely done mostly rice..fish and chicken...a mention for the guy who does the eggs in the morning...very nice to see a smiling face in the morning...likewise the guy who is in charge of the puddings...he loves explaining what which one is...which I enjoyed to be honest....the staff love having a chat with you...so take some time with them to say hello!!! Room boys were also excellent and done a great job keeping our room tidy....the beach was great....snorkelling was fantastic....didn't go on any of the free snorkelling trips stayed around the jetty and we saw enough different fish etc....make sure you dont miss the feeding of the sharks and rays.....it's excellent.....A mention too, make sure you take inspect repellant some people did get bitten...also the resort does not have many British people visiting....mainly Germans but we had a great time and found everyone to be friendly ....All in all another great holiday here.....will definately be going back next November....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    101
    43
    20
    16
See reviews for
35
230
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Just returned from Summer Island Village and a week on Atoll Explorer. It has been the most fantastic holiday, The Explorer was brilliant, good food, great places, staff fantastic, really look after you. Would def go again.
SIV was also great, we were upgraded to a water bungalow, the staff were all friendly and helpful, no complaints at all, food ok,
DIVERLAND dive centre is BRILLIANT, we are novice divers but were really looked after by Jason and Stephanie, you could just turn up to dive when you wanted to, we went mainly in the afternoon when the easy dives were on and saw sharks, turtles, moray eel and eagle rays to name but a few. I learnt so much in a short time and now feel much more confident to dive. I would like to thank the whole team for making us feel so special.

Room Tip: The new sun deck rooms look very nice, we had a water bungalow with our own beach hut and sunbeds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I visited Summer Island Village for the first time, and wow what a place! We travelled via speed boat from the airport and the scenery pulling into the island is AMAZING! The island is everything I could have hoped for, a small basic island in the middle of the Indian Ocean. The rooms are basic but very clean, but at the end of the day you don't go to the Maldives to sit in your room! the room leads onto the stunning beach and its beautiful. my husband and I wanted a place to soak up the sun, enjoy some good snorkelling and just relax, and Summer Island ticks all these boxes. The snorkelling is the best i have ever seen- we swum with sharks, rays turtles and more. You get 2 free boat trips to go snorkelling a day- well worth doing. we also paid for a couple of trips namely to see the turtles and i think it cost no more then 10 dollars. the bar is nice and relaxing- measures of drinks often a bit generous but whose to complain! the food was again basic (not like the ritz), but tasty, there was never a meal where we went hungry with plenty of variety. Lots of fresh fish, often rice, pasta dishes etc to accommodate all. The simplicity of this island makes you feel like a cast away, and I have never ever relaxed as much as I did staying on this Island. If you want plenty of cabaret, flashy cocktails and plenty of entertainment then this is not for you BUT..... if you want the closest thing to paradise, with minimal guests and phenomenal snorkelling then i would book now! I would save the money on all the lavish luxuries and go to this remote island any day. We will be going again, hopefully next year and I can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The good points:-
The Maldives are absolutely gorgeous, and well worth visiting

Thats it for the good points......

The food was pretty rubbish and disgusting.
Hotel is old, the rooms are VERY basic and not particularly clean.
Staff with bad attitude, rude and impolite ( I didn't see one smile!)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Just returned from 3 weeks in Maldives, 1st. week spent on Atoll Explorer (see separate review), weeks 2&3 spent on Summer Island Village (SIV).

DISABLED ACCESS.
We flew with Emirates, Economy via Dubai, from Manchester.and were not very impressed as there were no medical seats which are provided by most other carriers. In Dubai I was pushed to a holding area, with limited Duty Free, and left for 2 hours without a wheelchair. After a 7+ hour flight personal needs feature heavily. Luckily I can walk short distances with assistance so I could make it to the toilets, how others would cope I have no idea??
As already stated I am disabled and need a wheelchair for anything but very short distances and so it was with slight trepidation that we arrived at SIV. On arrival we found that the island was a little bit longer than expected and, as we were booked into a Water Bungalow the distance to reception, the bar and restaurant was from the southern end to the northern end of the island. However with my ability to walk short distances this proved not to be a problem as the majority of the way was on sand packed regularly by the handtrucks, wheelbarrows etc. used by the staff but still slow going. Anywhere off this route however was soft sand requiring me to get out and push, rendering my wheelchair useless. So for anyone with a total walking disability I would not recommend SIV unless they had an adapted wheelchair (very wide tyres), and of course can use steps for getting on and off the boat or airplane in transit to teh island.

HOLIDAY IN GENERAL.
We travelled with my wife's sister and her husband and this was our first trip eastwards of the U.K. as we normally go to the Caribbean. Our transfer from Atoll Explorer to SIV was excellent and fast. The trip out to the island took only 45-50 minutes and not the expected 90 minutes and we were provided with a bottle of cold water on boarding the boat. On arrival as stated already our luggage was quickly taken to Reception, were we received a welcoming cold drink, and then on to our rooms.

THE WATER BUNGALOWS
were, although basic, far better than we had expected. They were very roomy and light, large bed, enough hanging space and drawers and the bathroom large and adequate. The cleanliness was excellent and continued to be so during the whole stay. We hired Beach Towels (just over 1$ aday for 2) which were replaced every evening. Glass panel in floor o.k. but you soon realise that there are fish etc. to see virtually everywhere on the island even beneath and in the water around the boardwalk from the bungalows to the island you can see sharks, rays, trigger fish, parrot fish, moray eels as well as many others large and small. Watching the sunsets from the balcony each evening was magical. See photos

MEALS
All meals are in the restaurant. You are shown to your table in the first instant and then you sit at the same table with the same waiter for all meals.

Breakfast.
We used the room service breakfast on the first day and it was as reported elsewhere, "don't expect it to be hot as it has to come from the other end of the island", but it made for a good start for our first full day. We used the restaurant for the rest of the stay which provided eggs cooked to order, beans, sausages (occasionally), toast, fruit drinks and tea and coffee.

Lunch.
We only had lunch once or twice and found it a bit wanting for variety.

Afternoon Tea/ coffee.
Self serve sandwiches, cake or biscuits were ample to take the edge off your appetite until dinner (especially if you didn't have lunch).

Dinner.
I enjoyed the limited choice as I like the local food etc. but the others in our party were not so impressed by the 5 or six ingredient choices but still managed on most occasions to put together something. Beef tough sometimes. The sweets were a bit samey? but once again were ample.

VEGETARIANS will struggle with the very limited choices!!!!!

DRINKS
Although locally produced (Male? India? Sri Lanka ?) they are of a reasonable standard, even the wines, and are palatable. Beware when having spirits, with or without mixers, the measures are massive, about a quarter of a pint with minimal ice !!! there are reservations however with spirits as they are not served in the restaurant and shopuld not be taken from the bar although most people do, we filled our mixer bottle to take back for a nightcap.

BEACH & OCEAN
Although not pristine in the true sense of the word they are some of the best we have encountered, if there are trees and plants all around you will obviously get leaves etc. on the beach and even though the staff are constantly clearing them it does not take too long before leaves etc. re-appear. the sand is white and just a little coarse but easily manageable even with sensitive feet. The pathways are all sand and any places where there may be a reduction in the depth by constant traffic (feet and barrows) this is remedied almost immediately.
The water is crystal clear all around so fish are completely visible even swimming around your legs in 1 foot of water. The jetty provides good fish spotting and the Tuesday and Friday feeding from the end of it produces masses of fish. The best snorkeling, without going on the daily trips is out on the reef.
Having your own designated cabana and sunbeds was invaluable as there was no early morning rush to "Bagsy" places.

Staff.
All the staff are friendly and helpful, Mr. Waheed being particularly good at P.R. for the country.

OVERALL.
Very basic but very chilled. The second weeks weather was changeable, overcast, wind and rain but it's a warm wind and rain and didn't detract in any way and was to be expected as it was the change time between the 2 monsoon seasons. On the sunny days the first week or so it was very hot. Entertainment virtually nil, Saturday disco and board/card games along with table tennis and darts. Cannot give an opinion on the watersports facilities as we didn't use them. Children and youngsters would become bored very quickly.
Would we go there again ---YES. All inclusive very good value for money, you can pay a small fortune on other more exclusive islands.
EXPECTATIONS EXCEEDED !!!!

Room Tip: All the water bungalows are good. There are some new buildings going up in the area around reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

excellent, very good value, excellent service, basic but good clean rooms, good food selection, although on this visit they had themed nights for evening meal and one or two evening were not to our taste, im sure they were still good, just not for us but we took the option to pay for a table on the beach where you can have lobster or steak at a good price, you can take any meal on the beach if you pay for wine too if you want a night out of the restaurant area,
less formal now than a few years ago when people used to dress for dinner,
i have no complains really, fourth time we have been and will go again, if you want a break and do very little other than swim snorkel dive or just sun, its ideal, we paid around £3000 for two weeks all inc, the neighbourly island( the one and only reethi rah) is around £16,000 for two weeks room only, of course you get what you pay for, but your sharing the same view as them.

Room Tip: rooms on the west of the island 53-68 are best for the size of beach area in front of your room also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Summer Island Village is a beautiful island and one that will hold many treasured memories to my wife and I. We enjoyed our honeymoon on the island in 2008 and decided to return in October 2011 to celebrate 3 years of marriage.

The island has not changed in appearance, it is still stunning and despite being a 3 star island, it has to be one of the most outstanding locations in the whole of the Maldives.

We flew Sri Lanka Airways and having read reviews we were wary but in reality we were pleasantly surprised.

We requested a room on the West Side of the island (the room we had for honeymoon) but upon arrival, Mr Waheed had upgraded us to a Water Bungalow for a couple of nights! Thank you!

In the end we decided to just stick with the Water Bungalow and pay the nightly rate to upgrade for our stay and whilst the bunglaows may not be as attractive as some islands, it was fantastic to sit out on the balcony and watch reef sharks, barracuda's and trigger fish in such close proximity.

Our dedicated sun loungers were on a remote stretch on the east side of the island which is close to the jetty where sea planes land and the boats are moored.

We enjoyed a few breakfasts in bed which is one of the perks of the upgrade but in the main we would go to the restaurant. The food was adequate if not outstanding and can become rather repetitive but you have to be realistic in the fact that you are on a 3 star island. If you want a-la-carte, then this is not the place for you. It's simple but effective. You are allocated a table for your whole stay with a dedicated waiter, ours was Ibrahim and he was a lovely guy who was witty and keen to learn.

The bar area consists of a number of tables seating upto 4 people and can become a little congested after dinner but by 10pm there are usually only a handful of people left in the bar.

Drinks and service were inconsistent to say the least. Spirits would be provided in what appeared to be triple measures and we would often end up with something totally different to what we ordered! The staff (with the exception of a young Maldivian lad who works at night), appeared grumpy and looked as if they didn't want to be there. It costs nothing to smile and ultimately goes against them because when it comes to tipping, they were well down the list when in essence they should be at the top!

There is an area set up for afternoon tea where you can enjoy sandwiches and tea from 4pm daily. This was always popular and the member of the catering team who oversees this is a lovely person, always with a smile.

The island is changing somewhat with the inclusion of the new bungalows on the north side of the island. They were being completed during our stay and the first week, we hardly noticed the building staff but by the end of our second week and presumably working against a tight deadline, they were still working away whilst we were having our evening meal which was a little off putting but it was not a major issue. I think the majority of these rooms have now been completed and whilst they are very modern looking, they are a lot smaller than the regular beach bungalows and with them being semi detached, there is bound to an invasion of privacy in comparison to the more traditional units.

We have enjoyed our two visits to Summer Island Village and the memories will stay with us, but in reality I think this is more than likely to be our final visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Island Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Island Village

Address: 08460
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ziyaaraiffushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Island Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the summer never ends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Island Village Hotel North Male Atoll
Summer Island Village Maldives
Summer Island Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Island Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.