We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not a five star resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas to your Saves list
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Male Atoll   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but not a five star resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Clean, comfortable, luxury rooms without insects.
Ocean view is amazing especially at sunset
Lack of food variety
"All inclusive" pocket is far away from as it should be. We couldn't eat wherever and whenever we want.
Lots of Japanese/Chinese/Korean people in the resort. They are speaking loudly :)

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms are sunrise rooms, odd numbered rooms are sunset,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

we lived in ocean villas.one of the best places i've ever lived.in the nature's lap with all the aminities.one of the best locations for honeymooners.we had all inclusive deal which came in very handy as u can drink as much and wherever on the island.water activities included scuba diving,snorkling,canoe,swimming,surfing etc.they also organise different activities including fishing trips,spl food festivals etc. etc.
staff very helpful and rooms are kept very clean at all times.proper 5star standards in ocean villas.
only problem was scuba diving was very very very very expensive.the instructors are rubbish.they may be good divers but bad bad impatient teachers.they charged us $600 approx for 2and a half dives.i must suggest don't dive here if u re amature.much cheaper and professional in europe or even asia or any where else in the world.
all in all awesome experience.food unlimited choice,from starters to desserts...so many choices for veges as well.lots of wines,cocktails ,spirits etc etc etc...
awesome guys.u'll love it...

Room Tip: take sunset facing villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've been to 6 other Asian countries, plus the Maldives once before, in addition to travelling North & South America, Africa and Australia (+ Europe). Done everything from camping, homestays, B&Bs, tours, 3*, 4* & 5* hotels. First time we've ever wanted to come home early!!

No private butler - a shared driver takes you to the one restaurant at the far end of the island that you have to go to for lunch & dinner. Up to 20mins wait, or scorching 1/2 hour walk. Only found out that this service is available at fixed times when we rang for a lift back from the island to our room, having spent an hour exploring after lunch, & were told he wasn't back on duty for 3hrs. Same person works as room boy (cleaner) & in kitchen at breakfast restaurant/sunset bar - not a problem, but unusual.

No Nespresso machine, no twin wash basins, no slippers; had to ask for dressing gowns - i.e. the special touches that 'make' a 5* experience special & that were specified. Nescafe instant & a mini kettle that any Holiday Inn Express would be proud of (no biscuits). Had to ask for replacement teabags 3 times.

No private beach - the island's beach is entirely circled by the beach bungalows, who have priority access to the beach. OV guests are only permitted if the residents of BBs aren't there & sunbeds are free!! You literally just have your 10foot square deck (no parasol/shade in the heat of the day, so we ended up in the room!). The rooms at the far end on the east-facing side currently overlook a building site on the next island, which is evidently under extensive development. Fortunately we were west-facing!

Breakfast - quite a bizarre experience. The chap we guessed was head waiter/restaurant manager (none of the staff wear name badges) moved us from the table we had chosen/been shown to, more than once, for no apparent reason. One day we were made to move outside, even tho I wanted to be in the air conditioning, because he said they were going to 'spray inside' & pointed at the skirting boards. No spraying occurred while we were outside!! Another day, we were told our table was dirty & moved to the next one, rather than him/waiter cleaning the previous occupants' napkins etc away... the next couple who came in were, however, allowed to sit there...
The cooked breakfast comprised 1 fried frankfurter, a couple of slices of streaky bacon, 1 tinned button mushroom, a 1/4 of a tomato and 2/3 reheated potato wedges. Choice of eggs, highlight of the meal. However, the side portion of baked beans was very generous! My husband asked for a side portion of mushrooms, which extended to the the sum total of 4. Several waiters might ask which 'cordial' we wanted, but we didn;t actually always get it! The bread/pastry basket was, however, very good, as were the pancakes and the coffee. I had the yogurt once, but it was served warm (left out in the sun?). Had breakfast in the main 3* restaurant on the last morning - vast buffet selection that appeared far superior to the 5* limited choice.

Lunch/dinner - ok-ish. Fewer tables than rooms, can't book a table, so arrive & often have to wait. Only a couple of sofas & chairs, so literally left standing. One of the sofas is under a dripping AC unit, rendering one seat permanently wet/unusable. Every nights guests pulled it clear. Every day, it had been pushed back under the drip. There are a couple of curries, couple of fish dishes, couple of meat dishes, rice/potatoes & veg and a pasta dish every time - all vary daily. Nice selection of mini cakes & a hot dessert. Nothing wrong but nothing special & have had better in 3.5/4* Asian hotels. Highlight was watching the bizarre table-dressing ritual. The waiters repeatedly laid/stripped tables, including with fancy drinking glasses that none of the guests actually used (tall wine glasses). Even if this meant we were left without drinks/cutlery on several occasions!! Only discovered on our penultimate night that there's an outdoor cooking station (BBQ but better) every night - NOTHING inside the restaurant told us what was on offer!

Bars - Surf Bar: went here on our 1st day. Fabulous view of crashing turquoise waves & surfers. Waited 10mins to be served. Weren't. Left.
Beach Bar: went here to watch sunset one evening. No free chairs, with the handful that were there all occupied. Went back to our room.
Sunset Bar (same place as breakfast restaurant) - went several times, lovely to watch the moonlight dancing on the water with a glass of adequate red wine in hand. Tried a mocktail, which was 2 cordials mixed with lemonade, so didn;t bother again!
Main Bar: On our last night, we went thru the main/pool bar to settle our bill at main reception on the island - cocktails were being served from coconuts... Again, the 3* resort appeared to be better then the 5* OVs!!!

Management issues - had to wait 3.5hours upon arrival before being allowed to check in to our room. When we very politely enquired if we could have a (cheap!) complimentary massage we were frowned at, told that the spa was managed separately from the hotel, and that we should have read our paperwork about their check-in policy. When we finally got to or room, 28 hours after getting up, we were THEN informed that they would need to take copies of our passports & fill in paperwork, causing another 1/2 hour delay. Quite the most appalling 'welcome' we have received, ever, anywhere in the world, in any class or type of establishment.
The boardwalk: OV 'Reception' is at the very far end, so a constant stream of electric delivery vans/beach buggies run up & down between here & main resort's reception, in addition to people arriving/departing throughout the day and night, & being taken backwards and forwards to meals. The near-constant rumble reminded me of London underground. Take earplugs if you're a light sleeper!!
Health & Safety concerns: Pedestrians on the boardwalk have to move out of the way of vehicles, by perching precariously on the edge. Pre-school age (& older) children in the OVs - I was concerned on a number of occasions that one toddler was rushing up & down the steps from his deck to the sea without supervision (or armbands/rubber ring) when the current was quite strong. Same child gleefully running up & down the boardwalk also woke us up at 6.30 am a couple of mornings... dangerous AND noisy! Poor maintenance has been repeatedly detailed - clearly the steps are going to be slippery, but an unattached, rotten handrail gives a false sense of security. Bizarrely, there is no bathroom door handle on either side - access is by standing on tiptoe to reach the tiny lock at the top of the door!!! Saw a rat up a tree on the west facing beach; heard reports of rats in the main restaurant, altho we didn't see any in the OV restaurant.
Reception staff - we approached both Main reception & OV Reception 2 or 3 times - on each occasion stony faced staff attempted to fob us off as quickly as possible. They didn't appear to be a happy bunch & made me feel uncomfortable for asking anything...

Reef life: we saw sharks up to 4feet long, stingrays, eagle rays, parrot fish, shoals of pipefish, lion fish, angel fish, butterfly fish, octopus, unicorn fish etc etc. from our deck & at the bottom of our steps. Jaw-dropping. I would, however, suggest there there are plentiful other hotels in the Maldives (& elsewhere) from which you can see the amazing reef life - you'll probably pay less, and have far superior service. I disliked the shark-feeding so didn;t go, as I understand it upsets the delicate balance of the reef's eco-system (what should the sharks be eating further down the food chain? There'll be a population explosion of them!! Then they'll wipe out their food source... etc)

To finish on a positive - one of the best Spas we've been to, anywhere in the world. Superb choice of treatments to the sound of the waves & separate Chinese Reflexology centre (we didn't try that).

Room Tip: Not grotesquely over-priced 'Prestige' OVs & especially avoid east facing at the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When I decided to book a trip to Maldives with my wife to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary we were looking for a hotel/resort that could offer both the commodities of an ocean villa and a good access to the surf breaks. The Adaaran Prestige is the resort that has the best of both worlds. The ocean villas are really nice and the overall resort facilities are very good. The island has its own surf break (Lohi's) that the guests have exclusive access, so you have good waves at a walking distance from your villa. Besides that, every two days they have a boat that can take you to the other nearby breaks like Sultan's, Ninjas, Chickens and Jailbreak. They water sports team have a good selection of surfboards (Rusty, Firewire, etc) and SUP's that you can rent. They also have a diving school where you can take your PADI certificate and offer several snorkeling and fishing trips.
Definitely the only two points that there are room for improvement are the food and the quality of the bathroom amenities. Since is an "all inclusive" deal, all the meals are on a buffet. The food is not bad but after three days the food is basically the same. They are very economic on soap and shampoo, so bring your own.
Besides this we had an amazing time at the Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas and I really recommend it for anyone who wants to enjoy this paradise island.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left side have a fantastic view of the sunrise meanwhile the ones on the right view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked this break as more or less a last minute job - having had a very stressful two months of the year - we decided to get away! Our usual carriers Virgin and BA had nothing that we really fancied so we trawled through the Internet and settled on this place - booked business class flights with Emirates and a three week all inclusive holiday in the water villas. Then.... oh my we read some of the reviews on here ( a little back to front I appreciate - but thats the way it was). Worry set in - some of the reviews where awful!
Flight was great - well looked after as we would expect by Emirates and their staff. No issues at the airport at Male on arrival. Downside - boat transfer from male to the resort was to say the least very uncomfortable - very bouncy and our seats at the front of the boat - awful - so avoid these seats if you wish to keep your spine intact!
Arrival at the resort - absolutely super - Abdul our butler arrived almost immediately and we were whisked away on a 'Golf Buggy' to our lovely residence for three weeks.
Bungalow and facilities were great complete with a four poster bed - mini bar (extra cost) great bathroom and a fantastic sun-deck with direct access to the sea - very private!
Food - great - just remember that this is (unless you choose the a la cart'e menu) a buffet menu - the meals are varied - but I noticed that people were tempted to put a bit of everything on their plate - well this can of course lead to complaints that the meals become 'samey' and boring - choose your meal and take just that! Our waiter was Ananan and he looked after us very very well - always a smile and very polite. You can eat outside on the 'sea deck' or inside - as a resident of the Ocean Villas you eat in the 'Sunset Restaurant.' Breakfast is also great - you eat at 'Breeze Restaurant' which is situated actually with the Ocean Villas - waiter service - sit outside on the water deck or inside in the air conditioned interior - watch the fish waiting in shoals for a snippet of bread!
There are many other facilities and I have to confess I didn't use them all - Tennis Courts look fine (I didn't use them) Great Fitness centre. Great Dive Centre and 'Yumi' will take great care of you!
The manager of the Ocean Villas came to see us on two occasions enquiring if we were OK - and impressed upon us that if anything was not up to scratch to speak to him immediately.
Well I can't leave this without saying that our sheets were changed every day as were our towels - the villa was cleaned and spotless everyday - many thanks to our room boy (did't get his name).
Last of all I have to mention the 'Coconut Spa' - now normally I wouldn't attend these treatments - just not my thing - BUT - the staff are absolutely lovely and my introduction to massage - well what can I say - fantastic - Ayu is the manager a lovely lady - Julia - Junia - Sari all fabulous - well done and thank you so much for looking after us.
Well to continue would maybe get a little boring - I can't comment really about the beach villas or other accommodation - this was our seventh trip to the Maldives - we have stayed in some very expensive resorts - I would rate this one among the top - don't be put off - go for the Ocean Villas and spoil yourself!

Room Tip: I would suggest an Ocean Villa with an odd number we had 213 - sun on the deck from around 10 am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Shabby place with damaged furniture, stained and sticky surfaces, poor hygiene and little comfort. No individual toilettries. No slippers. Shower gel is offered in a small bottle used by previous guests, which is hygienically unacceptable. Waste is burnt on the neighbouring island and you can see and smell it. "Juice" is actually diluted squash. On arrival guests are labelled with plastic straps and are constantly instructed to sit, to wait, etc. More cattle class than "luxury" and "boutique", and definitely far from 4 stars.

Overbooking mentioned in other reviews seems to be still an issue as hotel management tried to shift us to a different Adaaran resort for part of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this resort in Aug 2012 and took my parents over as a surprise holiday. When we arrived and saw the quality of where we would be spending 6 nights I was praying that the boat transfer would pass this resort, but unfortunately it did not! It was extremely run down and very 80's looking. No one greeted us, in fact, the staff were all sitting down talking as our boat pulled in. It took 20 mins for us to get off the boat as we were trapped behind a pile of surf-boards reaching above our heads. When we were herded to the reception we sat for an hour waiting to taken to our water bungalow. Eventually, when we got taken to the reception to check-in to the water bungalow we observed a football pitch in the centre of the resort and that the entire island was made up of a man made concrete road covered with a sprinkling of sand: this was not capturing the typical Maldivian beauty. The rooms: filthy, dirty, old and dilapidated. The stairs leading to the blue crystal water were covered in slime and algae and a potential death trap to climb. We complained and asked for the rooms to be cleaned and after being told they would be, we noticed no difference. The food: our all-inclusive package only allowed us to use one restaurant for lunch and dinner, the choice was extremely limited and over salted.The buffet breakfast that was advertised was in a modified water villa and was cooked to order, not what was expected however quite nice. Please be advised, when ordering be specific of how much you want, for example my husband ordered mushrooms but got one mushroom. The drinks: all-inclusive entitles you to house selected beverages, they gave the cheapest brands possible, spirits were foul, wine was like vinegar and the larger was the only thing drinkable, 'Lion' from Sri-Lanka. A friend from Sri-Lanka advised us its the cheapest larger available.
We were very disappointed in this alleged 4- star resort where the majority of staff were rude, unhelpful and not very accommodating. If you are looking for a resort that is tailor made for large groups and is all about the surfing then its probably ok for you. Having said this, we did speak to a group of Australian guys who were on a boys surfing holiday and though they loved the surfing, they were not impressed with the quality of food, drink and accommodation.
The only bonus to this holiday was the snorkeling, it was incredible and breath- taking, but when you think about it, this aspect had nothing to do with the resort.
In 2011, we stayed at Anantara Dhigu resort, where we had such a wonderful stay in all regards. It really puts Adaaran Prestige Hudhuran Fushi to shame.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas

Address: North Male Atoll
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Lohifushi Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lohifushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas Hotel North Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adaaran Prestige Ocean Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.