We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Destination!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thulhagiri Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Thulhagiri Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thulhagiri Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Lancaster
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon Destination!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon between 24 June and 5 July 2012. We booked this as a once in a lifetime trip and it certainly lived up to our expectations.

Good points:
* Transfer between the airport and resort by speedboat is very impressive. We saw dolphins on the way.
* When we arrived at the destination we were given a cold drink and cold towel which is very welcome after 10 hours on a plane + going through the airport in Male!
* Staff are very friendly, polite and take your luggage to your room. We noticed some negative comments on here regarding staff and can't understand this at all - they go out of their way to make sure you're looked after.
* Rooms are fantastic. They are cleaned twice a day and have everything you'd want in there and more - TV, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, beach towels, safe, life jackets, showergel, etc.
* The food was excellent. There was lots of variety and something for everyone, although fewer vegetarian options (not an issue for us but worth noting).
* Excursions were good but some have minimum customer requirements and are cancelled if not enough people want to go. We did the island hopping tour which was excellent although we only got to see 2 of 3 islands due to unpredictable weather.
* Spa is excellent but pricey. Had a 30 minute back massage that was $65. Generally everything on the island is expensive and they charge you for certain things you may expect to be gratis at such a resort (e.g. you pay for wifi).

Negative points:
* There are no shops or anything on the island other than accommodation/reception. Anything you can buy, including drinking water, is purchased at the bar.
* Evening entertainment is short and basic. They had a magician who was very good but other nights they just showed short videos advertising their activities. Entertainment is repeated on a weekly basis so there is nothing "new" after one week of being there.

Other points:
* Island is small and can be walked around in 20 mins. Little to do other than sunbathe/swim. BUT... this is great if you're after a relaxing break where you can literally do nothing. Would recommend the island hopping excursion to see other nearby islands.
* Weather is hot and humid but unpredictable. As well as blue skies/sun we had thunder, lightening, rain, cloud and wind.
* Sea is great for swimming and snorkelling. There are lots of fish and reefs to explore. Current can be strong but the rooms have lifejackets so you can wear these when going out.
* When we went (June/July 2012) we were one of the only English couples there. Most people were from China or Germany which meant conversation with other guests was limited (on our part!).

We went here for our honeymoon but this is not exclusively a couples place - families and groups of friends were also there. Overall this was a fantastic place to visit and a very memorable location. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    105
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
36
150
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moehlin, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

If you are out for a real maldives-experience/feeling and don't want to buy an island, book a waterbungalow on Thulhagiri Island. You get privacy, space, incredible views, private acces to the shallow lagoon (if you are lucky with some reef sharks, mantas etc....). It's an all inclusive island, and it's worth it. Additional meals and drinks might severely increase your holiday-budget!
The (poor) pool is just suitable for the kiddies. The A/C gym is well equipped - but who is going to the gym on the Maldives?!
Thulhagiri is just an 20 minutes ride by speedboat away from Male intl. airport. And yes, there is some air traffic going on. But compared to London Heathrow it's towards zero and not really embarassing! By the way, those who complain about the air traffic: how did they get to Thulhagiri? By rowing the boat - all the way from Europe, China?!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male'
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

As I live and work in the Maldives, I have been to quite a few of the resorts in the country. We just came back from a weekend at Thulhagiri. We had the unfortunate experience of dealing with some of the less trained members of staff, and on two occasions staff were plainly rude to us. Basic courtesy is simply not part of the package here. Indeed, this is one of the absolutely cheapest resorts at first glance, but then they have also cut costs to the bare bone - buildings are run down, towels are torn, and cushions have stains. They have also played revenue earning tricks such as withdrawing the typically complimentary drinking water, thus making money when people are forced to buy locally produced drinking water for about five times the price of the same water in a regular shop in town. None of this is really a huge problem, but if you only pay a little more, about USD 50 more per night, other resorts in Male' atoll will offer you a much more memorable stay. The water sports centre is very good (managed separately from the rest of the hotel). I have not had a chance to try the dive centre yet, but that is also managed separately, and may thus be much better than the rest of the resort. Thulhagiri has a nice house reef, but so do many other islands in the vicinity. Bottom line; pay just a little more, and you can get a lot more from several other resorts in both north and south Male' atolls.

Room Tip: Not all beach bungalows are in fact on the beach. So if you want to be able to walk out from your fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed in over a dozen resorts in the Maldives, from a Maldivian owned and managed B&B to a 5 star hotel, and we are sorry to say this hotel is not value for money. It's a beautiful island, but it is obvious that this hotel is trying to cut everything they can to minimize cost - for example, this is the first resort we stayed where free drinking water is not provided. Guests are forced to buy a 4 dollar bottle water, which is not environmentally friendly given the country's already massive and unsustainable waste management problem. Another apparent area where lack of investment is staff training. They are hopelessly untrained and simply rude. We arrived past the buffet dinner time. Since we had already paid for full board (BTW they make you pay in full before arrival, which makes it impossible for you to leave should do decide to do so) we asked the reception about what that works, and their answer was 'actually it is not our problem'. At first, we got taken aback so much that we did not mean what was meant, but we could not believe a hotel staff talks to clients like this. Then, we were give a beach villa, which provided beach chairs facing our room, not the beach. Actually, there was no place for us to sit on the beach. And their answer was 'actually, we did not promise you beach access.' According to them, a beach villa does not mean beach access. Lastly, when we raised concerns about this, they accused us of not asking for a room change earlier. So it was the client's fault and they even hang up on us! They also had a wrong information that they thought we were already checking out that day, hence too late for asking for a room change. The series of events that happened to us was so beyond our belief that we could not believe we were spending our holiday here.

Apart from the incredibly unprofessional local staff, the staff at the water sports were helpful and professional.

Room Tip: If you sign up for a beach villa, make sure you have access to beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here after a week's liveaboard diving and found it to be a lovely resort. The staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a Water Villa and what an experience - to hear the sound of the sea gently lapping, and being able to watch the goings on under our villa through the glass top coffee table was excellent. To walk out of your villa and down to snorkel was too easy. Lots of the usual reef fish, several rays and some juvenile reef sharks. The island has a character of it's own - with budgies making it their home and a myriad of hermit crabs. Hubby enjoyed the wake boarding and I lived it up in the spa - recommend their signature massage, again with an overwater villa as the spa, the room open to the water, it was heaven. A great short speed boat from Male - this was a great end to our trip.

Room Tip: Any of the water villas - if possible towards the end of the sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Absolutely beautiful! Greeted at the airport and immediately taken to the island by speed boat for approximately 20 minutes, a complimentary bottle of water and fruit cocktail on arrival. We stayed for 4 days in the water villa, which was very spacious and extremely clean. Only supplies in the bathroom were toilet paper, shampoo and conditioner and life vests are available in each room. I recommend using the safe for your valuables as it is better to be safe than sorry, the staff enter twice a day to clean your room, and on our last day a neighbouring guest accidentally went to the wrong hut and used his room key and entered our room! So I wonder how many other room locks and keys are identical on the island?!
The ability to swim with the fish right at your doorstep, and seeing sharks and stingrays was an experience you don’t have staying on the island in the beach huts.
There are sun lounges all along the beach to relax on if you don’t feel like staying on your water villa deck.
One of the night events was a magic show, it was entertaining to watch. Friday night was a live band. There is a spa facility available with very reasonably priced massage options. There are other water sports and equipment available also.
Food was fresh and tasty,with a variety of meat and vegetable options, if you are looking for gourmet then this isn’t the place for you.
The staff were very helpful when approached with a question; they were extremely professional and courteous at all times. We had a late departure but had to check out in the morning, we were lucky enough due to availability that we could still enjoy the sand and water all day as we had the opportunity of a room to shower in and get ready before leaving for the airport.otherwise it would’ve been a very long day sitting and waiting in the lobby!

The sand is white and soft, the water is crystal clear, the island was so small you could walk around it in a few minutes, and the sunset was phenomenal, it was truly paradise and loved every minute of it!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at this island during august, after reading the reviews were not sure what to expect but was glad tp see when we arrived that it really was a beautiful island. You are greeted with a cocktail upon check-in and the staff really are very friendly and helpful - maybe they do seem alittle aloof but my impression was they do not want to seem intrusive of your holiday but are very friendly if you initiate conversation or contact with them, also i probably would be alittle depressed if i was working on an island in the maldives while the rest of the world was coming here to holiday!!
We stayed in a water villa which was truly amazing, it was very good sized and very clean it gets serviced twice daily so you would expect it to stay clean. waking upto the maldives sunset is breathtaking and the views are unbelievable.
I think this resort is perfect if your criteria is to - stay on a smaller non-commercialised island
- if you are looking for a more authentic tropical island experience
- close to Male airport (only 25min by jetboat)
the food was buffet and was nice always fresh, they do mix up the food offered for their buffets with alot of variety however if you are picky with what you eat (like I was) after a few days it can feel like you're eating the same things over and over but if you like trying different things there is alot of variety.
the island also has a mix of people who visit, not all are couples, there were many families with kids, and very mixed backgrounds which was good to mix with.
all in all i would highly recommend this resort for a relaxing stay in the maldives on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: if you are looking to stay in a water villa, ask for one with a sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thulhagiri Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thulhagiri Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Thulhaagiri Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Thulhaagiri Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thulhagiri Island Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thulhagiri Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thulhagiri Island Hotel North Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thulhagiri Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.