We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay just a little more, and get a lot more” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thulhagiri Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Thulhagiri Island Resort to your Saves list
Thulhagiri Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Male'
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pay just a little more, and get a lot more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

As I live and work in the Maldives, I have been to quite a few of the resorts in the country. We just came back from a weekend at Thulhagiri. We had the unfortunate experience of dealing with some of the less trained members of staff, and on two occasions staff were plainly rude to us. Basic courtesy is simply not part of the package here. Indeed, this is one of the absolutely cheapest resorts at first glance, but then they have also cut costs to the bare bone - buildings are run down, towels are torn, and cushions have stains. They have also played revenue earning tricks such as withdrawing the typically complimentary drinking water, thus making money when people are forced to buy locally produced drinking water for about five times the price of the same water in a regular shop in town. None of this is really a huge problem, but if you only pay a little more, about USD 50 more per night, other resorts in Male' atoll will offer you a much more memorable stay. The water sports centre is very good (managed separately from the rest of the hotel). I have not had a chance to try the dive centre yet, but that is also managed separately, and may thus be much better than the rest of the resort. Thulhagiri has a nice house reef, but so do many other islands in the vicinity. Bottom line; pay just a little more, and you can get a lot more from several other resorts in both north and south Male' atolls.

Room Tip: Not all beach bungalows are in fact on the beach. So if you want to be able to walk out from your fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    116
    29
    16
    6
See reviews for
38
167
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed in over a dozen resorts in the Maldives, from a Maldivian owned and managed B&B to a 5 star hotel, and we are sorry to say this hotel is not value for money. It's a beautiful island, but it is obvious that this hotel is trying to cut everything they can to minimize cost - for example, this is the first resort we stayed where free drinking water is not provided. Guests are forced to buy a 4 dollar bottle water, which is not environmentally friendly given the country's already massive and unsustainable waste management problem. Another apparent area where lack of investment is staff training. They are hopelessly untrained and simply rude. We arrived past the buffet dinner time. Since we had already paid for full board (BTW they make you pay in full before arrival, which makes it impossible for you to leave should do decide to do so) we asked the reception about what that works, and their answer was 'actually it is not our problem'. At first, we got taken aback so much that we did not mean what was meant, but we could not believe a hotel staff talks to clients like this. Then, we were give a beach villa, which provided beach chairs facing our room, not the beach. Actually, there was no place for us to sit on the beach. And their answer was 'actually, we did not promise you beach access.' According to them, a beach villa does not mean beach access. Lastly, when we raised concerns about this, they accused us of not asking for a room change earlier. So it was the client's fault and they even hang up on us! They also had a wrong information that they thought we were already checking out that day, hence too late for asking for a room change. The series of events that happened to us was so beyond our belief that we could not believe we were spending our holiday here.

Apart from the incredibly unprofessional local staff, the staff at the water sports were helpful and professional.

Room Tip: If you sign up for a beach villa, make sure you have access to beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here after a week's liveaboard diving and found it to be a lovely resort. The staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a Water Villa and what an experience - to hear the sound of the sea gently lapping, and being able to watch the goings on under our villa through the glass top coffee table was excellent. To walk out of your villa and down to snorkel was too easy. Lots of the usual reef fish, several rays and some juvenile reef sharks. The island has a character of it's own - with budgies making it their home and a myriad of hermit crabs. Hubby enjoyed the wake boarding and I lived it up in the spa - recommend their signature massage, again with an overwater villa as the spa, the room open to the water, it was heaven. A great short speed boat from Male - this was a great end to our trip.

Room Tip: Any of the water villas - if possible towards the end of the sections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Absolutely beautiful! Greeted at the airport and immediately taken to the island by speed boat for approximately 20 minutes, a complimentary bottle of water and fruit cocktail on arrival. We stayed for 4 days in the water villa, which was very spacious and extremely clean. Only supplies in the bathroom were toilet paper, shampoo and conditioner and life vests are available in each room. I recommend using the safe for your valuables as it is better to be safe than sorry, the staff enter twice a day to clean your room, and on our last day a neighbouring guest accidentally went to the wrong hut and used his room key and entered our room! So I wonder how many other room locks and keys are identical on the island?!
The ability to swim with the fish right at your doorstep, and seeing sharks and stingrays was an experience you don’t have staying on the island in the beach huts.
There are sun lounges all along the beach to relax on if you don’t feel like staying on your water villa deck.
One of the night events was a magic show, it was entertaining to watch. Friday night was a live band. There is a spa facility available with very reasonably priced massage options. There are other water sports and equipment available also.
Food was fresh and tasty,with a variety of meat and vegetable options, if you are looking for gourmet then this isn’t the place for you.
The staff were very helpful when approached with a question; they were extremely professional and courteous at all times. We had a late departure but had to check out in the morning, we were lucky enough due to availability that we could still enjoy the sand and water all day as we had the opportunity of a room to shower in and get ready before leaving for the airport.otherwise it would’ve been a very long day sitting and waiting in the lobby!

The sand is white and soft, the water is crystal clear, the island was so small you could walk around it in a few minutes, and the sunset was phenomenal, it was truly paradise and loved every minute of it!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at this island during august, after reading the reviews were not sure what to expect but was glad tp see when we arrived that it really was a beautiful island. You are greeted with a cocktail upon check-in and the staff really are very friendly and helpful - maybe they do seem alittle aloof but my impression was they do not want to seem intrusive of your holiday but are very friendly if you initiate conversation or contact with them, also i probably would be alittle depressed if i was working on an island in the maldives while the rest of the world was coming here to holiday!!
We stayed in a water villa which was truly amazing, it was very good sized and very clean it gets serviced twice daily so you would expect it to stay clean. waking upto the maldives sunset is breathtaking and the views are unbelievable.
I think this resort is perfect if your criteria is to - stay on a smaller non-commercialised island
- if you are looking for a more authentic tropical island experience
- close to Male airport (only 25min by jetboat)
the food was buffet and was nice always fresh, they do mix up the food offered for their buffets with alot of variety however if you are picky with what you eat (like I was) after a few days it can feel like you're eating the same things over and over but if you like trying different things there is alot of variety.
the island also has a mix of people who visit, not all are couples, there were many families with kids, and very mixed backgrounds which was good to mix with.
all in all i would highly recommend this resort for a relaxing stay in the maldives on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: if you are looking to stay in a water villa, ask for one with a sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Boutique paradise, that has the potential to be excellent.

As per previous posts...would I come again/recommend ? Yes !

July = rainy season...4/4 sunny days !

Points to factor...
No complementary water...surely inhumane, considering location and the parent company is a bottled water manufacturer !

Staff are friendly, but only after you initiate dialogue...management need to initiate a customer service culture.. Eye contact, warm smiles and acknowledge guests.

Wi-fi -chargeable...But still hit and miss !

Curtains, bed and linen -needs updating.

NonMotorised watersport equipment needs to be complimentary.

Swimming pool is obsolete, you have a beautiful beach...!

Charge 10% more, and address these issues. You will then have an excellent resort, which will "punch" far above it's weight. Bear in mind it is one of the cheapest resorts, at the minimum have a HB package.

General- If transfers (extortionate ) are mandatory why are they not incl. in the resort rate, thus able to compare apples with apples etc...

Room Tip: Request Beach hut, but one that has a clear unobstucted view and located with small sandy area in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Thulhagiri from 7th to 14th May 2012 and had an absolutely awesome time. We were all-inclusive in water villa #225 and the views were stunning. Around the villa we had Jack fish, stingrays, eagle rays, black tip reef sharks and loads of other fish that we could see just by standing on our deck! The Jacks, in particular, would circle underneath the villa every day and, very skilfully, right underneath the glass-topped coffee table!

The staff were great and we had no complaints about any of them. In particular our waiter, Ali, was very friendly and we had a good laugh with him. He very quickly knew our requirements and would deliver without us having to ask. In the bar, the Sri Lankan guy (bar manager?) was also exceptional and all the bar staff friendly – always making sure we had a drink. Thank god we were all inclusive!

The island has a nice rustic feel – yes, it was a little tired in places but you have to temper expectations against the surroundings and the environment. Evening entertainment was perhaps a little basic but the ‘house’ band were great and, with the staff having discovered my wife & I are in a band in the UK, we were invited up on stage to play with them!

Other than perhaps wanting a little more in the way of evening entertainment (a very personal view) the only other ‘complaint’ (too strong a word) would be the cleanliness of the communal toilets near reception – could do with some regular cleaning especially on the floor.

Thulhagiri really is a paradise in miniature and lives up to ‘no news, no shoes’ - except for those toilets!

This was our second trip to the Maldives and it didn’t disappoint. Would we go back to Thulhagiri? Although our next trip is already booked to another island, yes we will definitely return.

Oh, just for the record, despite the weather in the weeks leading up to our trip, we did not have a single drop of rain all week!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thulhagiri Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thulhagiri Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Thulhaagiri Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Thulhaagiri Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thulhagiri Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thulhagiri Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thulhagiri Island Hotel North Male Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thulhagiri Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.