We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lily Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   20077   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Honeymoon
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and My husband travelled to Lily Beach from New York. It was a long way to get there but once we arrived it was amazing. We went for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We broke trip in Dubai for a couple nights first so arriving in the Maldives was a nice relaxing break.

We stayed in an overwater Villa and it was beautifulllll. There is no need to ever leave unless it is to eat. The villa had a pool and direct access to the Indian Ocean. The honeymoon amenities we received were great. The staff at Lily Beach were amazing. Abdullah at Lily Maa (buffet style restaurant) remembered our names from the first meal we ate there. He was very accommodating and always made sure to take care of us. Ari at Spirits (the bar next to Lily Maa) was also Soo nice. He made whatever drink we asked, whether it was on or off the drink menu. These people work so hard to accommodate guests that they deserved to be tipped by every guest. They had fish feeding everynight at 9pm was really cool to see. We also did the snorkeling excursion which was awesome. This resort is awesome for honeymooners. Staying in the overwater villa we were secluded most of the time (which we liked because it was more romantic).


The only negative things we can say about Lily Beach is the lunch at Lily Maa could of been switched up a bit. And the other negative thing that really was upsetting was we were denied a complimentary late check out.
It was bad enough we had to leave the resort 8 hours prior to our flight out of Male (which isn't the resorts fault, the seaplanes do not fly past sun down) but we asked to stay in the room for an extra hour past checkout. When we asked the front desk people said they would ask management. The management said if we were willing to pay $50 cash per person then we could have the extra hour past checkout. I would understand if they couldn't give us the late check out due to other guests coming to check in and they needed to clean the villa but this was not the case since they were willing to give us the late checkout... As long as we paid extra money. For the price to stay at this resort It seemed as though they were a little stingy/greedy. We were only asked to stay 1 hour past checkout. I was very upset they said only if we paid. It really made our awesome honeymoon end with a sour taste. I cannot fault any of the workers or the resort because I know it was not up to them. Everyone working here was so nice and the resort is beautiful. But if you're looking for overly nice treatment from the management this is not the place.

This would probably be the only time for us to ever get to the Maldives since it is so far from the USA and we really had an amazing honeymoon trip until that little incident on the last day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Curliq23,

Thank you for your constructive comments and for sharing your observations with us. We are also very happy to read that you have had a wonderful holiday, except the inconvenience on the last day.
As a result of your comments we would like to assure you that we will encourage our Operations Staff to be more flexible and accommodating to such requests and to give an additional value to all our guests, if availability and time allows us to do so. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by these procedures and we hope that you retain the good memories from our little island.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Our best regards,

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    130
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
197
766
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We absolutely loved Lily Beach! It was the most beautiful place I think we will ever stay at! We stayed for 4 nights in a Deluxe Water Villa for our honeymoon in May this year. We agonised over which resort to pick and from the moment we arrived at Lily Beach we knew we had made the right decision. The Deluxe Water Villa was amazing! Spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed... we think it was well worth the extra cost. The reef was a short swim from the bottom of our villa stairs and the snorkelling was great. We thought the food in the buffet was great - huge selection and very fresh. We ate lunch at the aqua bar each day and it was delicious. We were a little disappointed with our dinner at Tamarind restaurant though, it was still nice but not quite as good as we had hoped. The staff were all very friendly... special mention to Jaleel from Lily Maa Buffet & Sylvester from Aqua Bar. Both were so lovely to us and went above and beyond to make our stay special. We thought the all inclusive package was really good value. We hope to return to Lily Beach one day and would definitely recommend it to others. The Maldives is a truly amazing place!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sara5000,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. We are truly delighted to know that our resort is the most beautiful place you ever stayed.
Our Deluxe Water Villa is a unique over-water living experience and we are very happy to hear that this experience exceeded your expectations.
The snorkeling around the reef is certainly fantastic in the Maldives and we are very glad that you were so impressed.
We are happy that you liked Lily Maa Buffet & Aqua Bar and feel sorry in the same time that Tamarind dinner didn’t meet your expectation.
We’re constantly improving our food and beverage experience and your feedback will help us to learn and improve our services and products.
Your positive feedback and kind words about our staff is much appreciated. Jaleel and Sylvester were very happy to hear that you mentioned them in your review.

Once again thank you very much for your review.

We cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future!

Our best regards,

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

A Once in a lifetime holiday for us all. My complete idea of paradise. The bungalows were lovely with shower outside. Food was plentiful and varied and drinks were readily available. I cannot rate this island enough, if you are looking for a piece of paradise, this is it :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Rebecca W

We thank you so much for choosing Lily Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us on our paradise island.
We have no doubt that fellow Trip Advisor users will appreciate that you mentioned our Beach Villas bathroom experience and the variety of food on all our restaurants.

Once again thank you very much for your review.

We cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future!

Our best regards,

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We flew from Hong Kong to Male via Singapore, followed by seaplane transfer. We wasted a lot of time travelling because the seaplane schedule was not flexible at all.
We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 teenagers) and we stayed for 4 nights (June 21-25) in the Family Beach Villa in Lily Beach Resort.
This was our first trip to Maldives and I was worried about the weather before arrival because weather forecasted thunderstorm/raining everyday. Fortunately, it only rained once (in the middle of the night) throughout our stay.
I have chosen this resort given the high review rating in TripAdvisor and now I can confirm that the high rating (in terms of service, location, food, etc) was proven. Lily Beach Resort provides excellent service: everything was taken care of from the moment we landed in the airport until our departure.
We absolutely love the convenience of walking only a few steps out from our beach villa to the white sandy beach and swim/snorkel in the crystal clear water. The reef was so beautiful with lots of fishes and it was like swimming inside a fish aquarium with a 3D effect! After snorkelling, it was so quick to return to our room to take a shower and hang/dry our swimsuits in the open air bathroom. Since the in-house reef has so many types of fishes to see, we did not sign-up for the Coral Garden Snorkelling Trip. But we joined the Sunset Fishing Trip. A great experience although it is not easy to catch a fish! We also watch the fish feeding most of the nights at 9pm near the jetty.
Our family usually goes for quality instead of quantity in terms of food. The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet were very good enough (although not excellent) to satisfy us. The drink menu was excellent. The quality of the wines available was very good! We drank a bottle of wine on every dinner. We also ate some snacks such as cashew nuts/potato chips and drank soft drinks/white wine/red wine/coffee/tea in our room, which would be refilled every day.
Sometimes, we like to eat something light such as salad, sandwich, burger, pizza, etc and we opted to eat in the Aqva Bar. We extremely love the scenery, quiet atmosphere and service in the Aqva Bar. The waiter (I forgot his name) was so cheerful and funny. He could even remember our drink orders of our previous visits.
We did not encounter any problems throughout our stay except the minor housekeeping service. The housekeeper seemed not bother to refill our toilet amenities daily and we have to call housekeeping service for refill/replacement from time to time. On our check-out day, we were asked to complete the guest comment form. I rated everything very good to excellent except the housekeeping part. I was quite pleased to know that the management team did take the guest comment form seriously. When I returned to Hong Kong, I received an email from the management team asking for more details why housekeeping part did not meet my expectation. After my detained explanations, they apologised and proceeded to follow-up/improve on this matter.
Overall, the resort/room is very well maintained and clean. All the staff is very helpful. The food and drink is abundant and most importantly, the in-house reef is so beautiful.....so what more can you ask for.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear KarenKam,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful family holiday at our resort. The snorkeling around the reef is certainly incredible and we are very glad that you were so impressed! Sunset Fishing trip is very nice as well and we are sure that you had a lot of fun and maybe next time you will catch some big fish as well.
Also all our staff are very happy to hear that your holiday was so great and that you enjoyed all the activities on the resort.
Thank you very much for your constructive comment about Lily Ma restaurant as we are always trying to improve our guest’s gastronomic experience.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the housekeeping service.
Please know that this matter have been address and we are taking the necessary steps to ensure that will not happened in the future.
Guest comments are very essential for us as we always strive to provide a 5 star service to all of our guests, and your satisfaction is extremely important too.
We are reviewing all our guest comments each day in our morning meeting and we take care that all suggestions are taking into consideration. Also if there are any issues we try to resolve them as soon as possible.

Again, we greatly appreciate the wonderful review and your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another wonderful holiday.

Our best regards,

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After spending a considerable amount of time deciding where to spend our 1st wedding anniversary we almost stayed elsewhere in the Maldives and thankfully, due to an error on the part of out tour operator we found ourselves at Lily Beach. It was obviously meant to be.

We had a budget in mind and decided to go for the best resort and compromise by not having an over water villa, which we could have had elsewhere for the same money. This turned out to be a good decision. The beach bungalow was incredible and we didn't feel we had missed out by not having the overwater villa although they did look amazing.

From the moment we arrived at the luxury lily beach arrivals lounge we knew we were in for a fantastic experience and we weren't disappointed.

One of the criteria for our stay was an all inclusive resort (we like a glass or 2 of wine). The range of wine and spirits available is extensive and the cocktails are fantastic!!!

We stayed in a beach bungalow which was excellent and it was great to step outside your room straight onto the fantastic beach. Each bungalow has 2 allocated sunbeds on the beach, not that this was needed as there is probably 3 or 4 times the number of sunbeds, Balinese beds, hammocks, hanging baskets beds etc. dotted all around the resort than there were guests. There were also ice boxes with cold drinks placed along the beach so that you didn't even need to move more than a few feet from your sunbed to get an icy cold drink.

The food was excellent and we enjoyed both Vibes (the mussels were fabulous) and Aqva for lunch as they are quieter than the main buffet restaurant and both have waiter service.

The food in the main restaurant was also very good and varied with a different theme every night. Including Italian, French, Fish, BBQ, Asian etc. all of which were excellent.

We also dined at Tamarind which was excellent and beautifully furnished and decorated. If you intend to eat there (we had 2 complimentary meals entitlement) I would recommend you book on arrival. Unfortunately we left it too late for our 2nd meal entitlement and we were not able to make a reservation as it was full 3 days ahead, not surprising given how good the food was.

The watersports were excellent and we kayaked, went out on the pedallo's, snorkelled and had a windsurfing lesson (the instruction was excellent and completely free) You could also have catamaran lesson which we intended to do but ran out of time despite staying for 10 days.

The spa is excellent and we had a number of treatments. Look out for the packages as they are better value for money. One of the packages included facial, Balinese massage and reflexology treatment followed by a Jacuzzi. All of the staff are extremely professional and the spa itself is amazing with glass floors in the treatment rooms so that you can watch fish as you are massaged. If you can keep your eyes open that is!

The staff at the resort are fantastic everyone, without exception, was friendly, helpful and often anticipated our drinks order before we did. In particular our waiter Jaleel was brilliant and on our last night, without asking, he carried a table to the waters edge for us. Also the barman in spirit bar was fab (sorry I can't remember how to spell his name - probably down to his hospitality!) Always smiling and he even came and waved us off when we left.

Everywhere on the resort was immaculate with ground staff constantly clearing up leaves etc. without you even noticing they were there!

I could go on and on about how fantastic Lily Beach is and how incredible our holiday was. If you are thinking of going to the Maldives don't waste any more time looking elsewhere you may get cheaper but you will not get better.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 163 which was very handy for the main restaurant, watersports and spa although on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Nicola E,

Thank you very much for your invaluable feedback and for choosing our resort.
We are delighted to hear that you had an unforgettable experience with us. The Beach Villa is a wonderful experience with the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean only a few steps away.
We are very happy to hear that your holiday was so great and that you enjoyed all the activities on the resort.
Water sports is great and we are sure you had so much fun on trying different sports like kayak, pedals’ windsurfing and snorkeling in our amazing house reef.
Our fine gastronomic experience and our finest beverage are chosen to impress even the most refined connoisseur and we are more than happy that you enjoyed the buffet at Lily Maa, lunch in Aqua & Vibes and the Tamarind dinner.
All team are very enthusiastic and passionate about ensuring the happiness and satisfaction of the guests so it is always pleasing when we receive a positive review such as yours.
Your particular mention Jaleel is very happy to hear that you mentioned him. As well all our team is very delighted to hear that your holiday was so wonderful.

Once again thank you for your wonderful review.

We cannot wait to welcome you again in the near future!

Our best regards,

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If I could afford it, I would stay here 3 months every year for the rest of my life. WOW it is fabulous.
I especially liked that we could dive right off our front porch into the chrystal clear ocean and see fish immediately.

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear David T,

We thank you so much for choosing Lily Beach Resort & Spa for your honeymoon and for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience with us and we we would love to welcome you back soon.

Once again thank you for you kind review.

We cannot wait to welcome you again!


Our best regards,
Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lily Beach is an amazing location for a fabulous honeymoon. My wife wanted the beach outside the door experience and it doesn't get much better than here. Walk out the door, onto the sand and the tree lined beach is just off the veranda. The room was clean, as hot or cold as we wanted it, had a great outdoor bathroom and was well looked after by our house boys for whom nothing seemed too much.
For the last 4 nights of our honeymoon we upgraded to a deluxe water villa; an expensive but amazing treat. Bedroom with separate but huge (same size as the bedroom) bathroom; large private veranda with jacuzzi plunge pool and steps down into the sea. Looking through the glass floor in the entrance hall and seeing a crane standing on the villa's supports was quite special. While they might be a little walk away from the main restaurant and bar you can always ask for a lift from one of the buggy carts.
The food was great and we never ran out of choice in the main restaurant and had a great meal in the Tamarind. A special thanks must go to the waiting staff and bar staff who provided a first class professional and friendly service ensuring we had a great time.
We spent a very long time looking for the right resort for us and were very happy with our choice. If you want laid back, relaxed luxury, with the sand between your toes informality combined with some top notch facilities and service and that worry free all inclusive feeling then Lily Beach is perfect.
Apologies that this review is a little late as we have just had our first anniversary and I was reflecting on how amazing our honeymoon was and how Lily Beach deserved a strong positive review.
Thanks for making our honeymoon so great.

Room Tip: Deluxe water villas - expensive but worth it for a few nights. Ask the hotel about upgrades if your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear SiandDom,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property.
Please receive our warmest congratulations and sincere best wishes for your anniversary!
We are all very happy that you enjoyed so much our Beach Villa and Deluxe Water Villa and the great meal you had in Tamarind.
We would definitely pass your kind comment to all our staff that you mentioned above, they will be very happy to hear from you.

Thank you once again for the review.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Our best regards,

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lily Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 20077
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Huvahandhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvahandhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lily Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
---UNDERGOING UPGRADES--- In the deep blue sea of the Indian Ocean, among the scattered small Islands known as the Garland of Flowers (Maldive Islands) of indescribable nature, Lily Beach Resort is the island - Huvahendhoo at the South East Ari-Atoll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lily Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Beach Hotel South Ari Atoll
Lily Beach Resort And Spa
Lily Beach Resort All Inclusive
Lily Beach Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.