We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful places on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lily Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   20077   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Honeymoon
Luton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second visit as a family to Lily Beach and our expectations second time round were exceeded! The island is so beautiful and the staff and service is fantastic. The senior management is always on hand as well which makes a difference in knowing that if you have any issues you can speak with seniors direct. Nothing is a problem for the staff - they always endeavored to make you feel 'at-home' and will tailor certain events and excursions to suite you/your party...no negativity from anyone! very helpful and friendly staff...one of the most romantic places on earth.

If you have to visit one place in your lifetime...make it the Maldives...in particular, Lily Beach :)

...looking forward to going back very soon! ...Paul and Shelley Smith

Room Tip: Beach villas are great for families with kids, step right out onto the beach. Tater villas are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Paul and family,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you have found so many of the elements of your trip to be exceptional. We strive to maintain an excellent level of customer service as you said the team is very flexible and friendly.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Our best regards

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    130
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
197
771
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Werribee, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited Lily Beach Resort & Spa as our main travel leg for our honeymoon second week March 2013. A decision my wife and I made - to be the best travel decision by far, you cannot go wrong with Maldives as a choice. The whole experience living on a water villa looking out to the glossy blue ocean, the stairs down to the coral gardens at the back of your water villa to visit the marine life during high tide (after lunch), the soft white sand and the bright red sunsets was priceless and enticing.

Transport provided by Maldivian Air Taxi had already begun the gears for what was installed for our stay. On arrival to the entrance of our water villa, all the staff of Lily Beach we’re very welcoming to their guests. Their attention and service throughout our stay; Shiyam Mohammed @ Reservations, Waheed @ Room Serivce, Rashid @ Watersports and Venus @ Lily Maa – My wife and I cannot express enough our appreciation of the assistance from these staff members, kudos to all!

The water villa was attended to daily by Waheed whom made sure the room was of highest standards. Having glass flooring as your entrance is quite a surprise yet looking on the coral floor, it was amazing. I have never seen my wife so relaxed in my life. Stress free from all the wedding preparations, the above plunge pool and sundeck was very much utilized. On my end, I could not restrain myself from the garden corals and the back of the water villa, snorkelling every afternoon ( even 2 hours straight) was quite a treat for me. The outdoor showers and toilet, different experience, it is closed off from the public but it does give you the outdoor ocean feel.
We loved all the food at Lily Maa, Tamarind and Vibes, was a much treat – well done to the chefs.

We were complimented with two excursions as part of the platinum plan – I would strongly advise those who are looking at Lily Beach to add it to the budget, it’s worth every coin!!
1st excursion was the coral garden snorkelling tour out to another area not far from the resort, it’s always an awesome feeling swimming out open ocean with marine life I have taken some photos as I did take my DSLR underwater, that was definitely something I have never tried – underwater photography. This is excursion is worth doing thanks to Rashid and the crew for taking us out there! The 2nd excursion was the sunset cruise out the open ocean. This was a spectacular ride, sparkles, finger food and pillows on top of a Dhoni watching the sunset was truly amazing – cannot forget it.

All in all, this is a place my wife and I have strong plans to return. The platinum plan is a must for every visitor – don’t miss out on that. The Maldives is expensive, but it’s worth all the cents you put in!

Thank you to Pascal, Melissa, Shiyam, Waheed, Rashid and Venus for your surpass and delightful service – it has been a pleasure to stay and Lily Beach!

Room Tip: The view of the Corals from the Water Villa room are magical!! There are a set of stairs which you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Erick,

Thank you for the rave review. We are really happy to read that you had wonderful time with us in our small paradise.

We will give your special thanks to Shiyam, Waheed, Rashid and Venus and their team for their kindness and concern about guest’s satisfaction.

It is good that you tried two excursions included in our Platinum Plan. The snorkeling is definitely the one to do to see and enjoy the wonderful beauty of the Indian Ocean. The Sunset Cruise on the Maldivian traditional boat the Dhoni, is as you see really relax and you can enjoy the stunning sunset with a glass of sparkling wine.

We cannot wait to have you back!

Sincerely

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From your first greeting as your sea plane lands to the send off as you depart our 11 days was wall to wall paradise in an exceptional setting serviced by the most friendliest and efficient staff you are ever likely to meet - overall a honeymoon we will always remember.
We booked a lagoon villa which was very spacious and right on the sea - the villa benefited from the sunrise and good sun until middle of the day - the water villas at the other end of the resort would give you a Daily sunset to remember - but you can still achieve that at the aqva bar if you'd prefer more shade - some days you do need it.
The food is outstanding - the buffet like no other we have enjoyed and a different theme for dinner every day - breakfast also very good. The resort says it has two speciality restaurants but to be honest whist tamarind is excellent the other one the wave is a bit of a let down - one area for improvement - think based on a candlelight dinner we had as part of the honeymoon package at the aqva restaurant that is a definite option for a much better second specialty restaurant.
The all inclusive really is that unless you want speciality diving or water sports or additional treatments at the Spa - the drinks are premium and the wine list extensive - really good value for money. Free water sports are good and the gym and tennis court also good.
Now onto the real gems - the staff - the best! From Joseph and Rajans outstanding service at the aqva to the Spirit Bar team with their excellent pre dinner cocktails to the restaurant waiters I could go on and on........every member whether front desk or maintenance always greets you with a smile and good morning - as Joseph summed it up "we don't consider ourselves working here in a job - more inviting you to join us at our home" - they truly are the real reason why the resort is so good.
So just to ensure some balance a couple of minor negatives - the need for the second speciality restaurant and also a much better way of providing a room for late departures - we did feel we had to push for this - don't spoil the last day!
But as I say minor......Pascal the GM genuinely wants constant feedback and his Captains table dinners do solicit constructive comments but to be honest there are not that many - his attitude is refreshing - this no doubt goes right through the organisation.
Lily Beach thank you or an amazing honeymoon which the Doltons will ever forget!

Room Tip: Families who want to be close to vibes for the family pool would probably be better off with lagoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from Lily Beach after a magical two weeks spent with our three children,their partners and our grandchildren, ages ranging from 6 to 14,(twelve of us in total).
This is the second time we have all visited the resort, and the tenth time my husband and I have been to the Maldives. We cannot fault the service and attention to detail that we all received there and from the youngest to oldest members of our party we all felt the same. Although our children did not attend the children's facilities available there was plenty to keep them occupied from the safe, sandy beaches and crystal clear water, to watching the wonderful variety of marine life, aquatic birds and the magnificent large fruit bats that intrigued us all. The waiters knew our names and requirements after a couple of days making us all feel unique and the rest of the staff were always friendly, polite and courteous. All the management staff made themselves known and available to us from the beginning of our stay to the send off we received on our departure.
My husband has special dietary requirements and the chef made provision for this in the meals cooked for him including the bread. We will certainly return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jan and family,

All our team is glad to hear from you! We really appreciate to have your feedback about your second stay with your family. It is nice to see that the kids had good time even they didn’t visit our Kids Club, there is always something to do for them in our island. The marine life is beautiful here with our coral garden house reef.

Thank you for your kind words about our team members, they do an amazing job and are for sure very friendly.( the whole team is the golden part of Lily )

We are waiting for all of you to come back for a third time in our little paradise.

Our best regards

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a truly wonderful holiday at Lily Beach. I can only echo previous reviews:-
1. Stunning island with a well thought through layout - A true paradise that never feels crowded.
2. Unbelievable service level - Everyone is really helpful and friendly.
3. All inclusive - Don't hesitate, this takes out any holiday stress and meals and drinks are wonderful
4. Diving - Nice and relaxed team, boats are excellent, marine life fabulous (Whale sharks, clouds of fish, healthy coral, turtles, rays)
5. Water villas - A nice extra with the out door jacuzzi
In short, this is the place the go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYRSHIRE, SCOTLAND
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

There has already been so much written about Lily Beach but here is our take on it. As a holiday experience it is simply intoxicating. The beauty, ambience, tranquility and general feeling of space is unbelievable. Despite over a couple of hundred guests you hardly ever see anyone. We have still not figured out where everyone goes. There are small groups at each of the pools, a scattering of people on the beaches, another few snorkelling, some in the bars and many just enjoying their own space on their veranda or taking an excursion. No need for the early rise, like a European vacation, to book your space for the day as there is always plenty space pretty much everywhere. When we scoured the Lily Beach website it looked stunning, but nothing prepares you for the reality of it all. It is just so much more than the website or all the photos posted on TripAdvisor. This is an expensive place and we did wonder if it was worth it. On reflection, worth every single penny.

The all inclusive deal is just that. You can choose for a selection of over 80 Wines FOC and if you want to indulge in something more special they have a further selection for purchase. A good cocktail selection is also available at all the bars and again you can choose from an extensive list. Aqua by far make the best cocktails and their A La Carte lunch menu is heavenly. We went there every day for lunch, had something different each day and were never disappointed. As breakfast and dinner are typical buffet fayre, the A la Carte lunch is a great option as the quality and freshness of the food is so much higher.

Some previous TripAdvisor guests complained of the service. We had no issues, in fact we would go as far as to say it was first class. On the first night Jaleel showed us to our table and really looked after us. We made a point of seeking him out every night. He got to got to know our routine and looked out for us. Room boy was equally attentive and prepared the most beautiful feature on our bed on the day of our silver wedding and also did a feature in the jacuzzi on the day we left. He couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

Back to Lily Maa buffet restaurant. If there is one point where we agree with other guests is the Lily Maa buffet. If you go for the fresh food from the cooking stations it is fine, in fact very nice, but sometimes you fancy something else. The problem with buffet food is it can sit for a while and just get a little soft or soggy. This is a fundamental buffet shortcoming rather than a Lily Maa issue. For Italian night, do make sure you go to the cooking station. Pizza and pasta don't work unless they are pan fresh. The Lasagne at the buffet looked a bit congealed and worse for wear. We are nit picking, as the experience is so hard to fault.

We stayed in a Lagoon villa. No regrets here, as it is definitely the best option. We slept with the curtains open. Our bed faced straight into the ocean and that was a treat to wake up to. We often had tea for sunrise, and would swing our legs over the decking and watch the vast array of water creatures including varieties of fish, crab and even an octopus. As the deck is not too high, it's all easy to see. By contrast the beach bungalows are only marginally cheaper, but are all hidden by undergrowth, have less privacy and you miss the wake up treat of the ocean. The Lagoon villas are also large. If you are a couple, I don't think you would need more space. Also, life is a bit quiet here, however, as these villas are just down from the jetty, you get to see the odd boat passing or sea plane landing. No other villa offers this view, not even the more expensive deluxe villas which just look out to open sea.

If you go for the deluxe stilted villas, you get more space, a glass floor (I think this is more of gimmick, as it is better to go outside to watch the water life) and a bigger jacuzzi. There are shortcomings: they are higher off the water line, views are poorer, you have a longer walk to the attractions (a golf buggy acts as a taxi if required) and it is windy, sometime very windy. All the beach and Lagoon villas are sheltered. When we come back, we will select the Lagoon villa option again. It worked best for us.

We also enjoy a bit of a stroll, but wanted a couples retreat. Lily beach is a medium sized island and kids friendly, but for couples looking for a quiet life, the kids are rarely seen. Management encourage the families to uses Vibes bar and restaurant area and Aqva for couples. It works really well. Our pre breakfast stroll round the island and along the deluxe beach hut loop took about 40 minutes, which was about right, as it is hot. Pretty much 30C the whole time we were here and it only dropped by a couple of degrees at night.

For us, Lily Beach was just perfect and certainly our best holiday resort in 25 years.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Yall,

We are pleased to read this gorgeous review about our resort. First of all, let me try to reply to your question about the feeling to be alone here. The occupancy was really high during your stay with us so this feeling is sharing with all the guests! In Lily there are always excursions and activities that is why you don’t feel the pressure of the occupancy.

We like to make our small paradise quiet and relax for all our guests. As you said we are a friendly resort for family as we have a pool dedicated for them and facilities but for couple it is still a peaceful retreat in the Aqva Pool and the private villas.

Thank you for all the tips you gave to our future guests for the restaurant, villas and Platinum Plan and please you are most than welcome for your next holiday. Your kind words about us are very touching and all the team is thankful for that.

Sincerely

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having visited Lily Beach Resort for our Honeymoon in September 2012 my wife and I decided to return in March 2013.

My first comments are ignore that this resort isn't a 5 star or the nit picking others have found. I'm sure they felt justified in their comments but I can honestly say after having sayed on the island twice its pure paradise.

We were warmly welcomed at Male Airport by the Lily Beach Lounge staff who brought macaroons and refreshments. The lounge has now moved from 6 months ago to an area where the sea planes can be viewed from on the second floor and is immaculately finished. We had an hour or so wait as there were other guests that would be joining us on the sea plane that hadn't arrived yet. Although this sounds like a long wait, after sitting on plane for 10 hours it was welcome and it also gave us chance to check in to the hotel which sped up the process when we arrived at the resort.

When we disembarked the sea plane at Lily Beach we were greeted as returning guests and swiftly whisked away to out water bungerlow. We were given a full run down of how everything worked in our room and where all ythe facilities on the island were situated. I'd love to tell you about the rest of our holiday but it generally ONLY consisted of fabulous buffet breakfast, scumptious lunch at either Aqua Bar or Vibes, sunbathing, cocktails, loads of rest, the best snorkelling I've ever done, swimming with turtles and being well pampered.

Having stayed before many of the staff recognised us and on occassions remembered the cocktails we ordered from or last visit. Joseph, Raj and Ali at Aqua bar made us feel at home and Peter at Vibes also went over and above our expectaions.

Having stayed twice in 2 different types of accomodations we can confirm that the level of service and the standard of your stay will not be affected by where you stay. Our Lagoon Villa was fantastic with the best snorkelling on the island 3 metres from our terrace but the Water Villa had a glass floor where we saw an abundance of different fish including rays, a lion fish, sharks and a baracuda all from the dry confort of the villa. The decking on the water villa is much larger than a lagoon villa and gets the sun almost all day and the jacuzzi is great all day and night. If your budget allows the water villas are slightly bigger but you wont be disappointed in a beach villa, lagoon villa or water bungerlow.

My tip for the trips is to go on the Coral Garden Snorkelling Adventure especially is Rashid is there. 1. He's and amazing swimmer so the weakest of swimmers are in safe hands 2. he is happy to take under water pictures for you if you dont wish to dive down for close ups of the marine life 3. he took us to an area where there are Turtles and kindly spent 20 minutes with me while we took snaps of the friendly fella.

I cant think of anything else to put apart from ignore all the negatives comments. It is 5 star, it is luxurious, the food is fanastic, the cocktails are out of this world and ALL the staff are warm and welcoming. We will return at some point in the future as we cant think that any other island in the Maldives offers what Lily Beach does.

If you book Lily Beach have a great holiday. I'm Jealous!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IH_Management, and all team at Lily Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was a real pleasure to welcome you for the second time in our paradise. This time you had the occasion to enjoy our new Lily Lounge which is an Eden after a long flight!

We could not be more pleased your experience was so positive!

Your tips for the snorkeling are more than welcome to help our future guests which are not confident to try they will have as your experiment our Water Sport team like Rashid who can guide them and show the marine beauty just few meter from the beach!

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Best regards

Pascal Billon
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lily Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 20077
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Huvahandhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvahandhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lily Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
---UNDERGOING UPGRADES--- In the deep blue sea of the Indian Ocean, among the scattered small Islands known as the Garland of Flowers (Maldive Islands) of indescribable nature, Lily Beach Resort is the island - Huvahendhoo at the South East Ari-Atoll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lily Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Beach Hotel South Ari Atoll
Lily Beach Resort And Spa
Lily Beach Resort All Inclusive
Lily Beach Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.