We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect holiday hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lily Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lily Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   20077   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Almost perfect holiday hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting the Maldives for over 20 years now, and we have just returned from Lily beach.

It would be fair to say that someone who has never been to the maldives would be impressed with the location, but the resorts do vary, Lily beach is reached by a 25 minute flight by sea plane, an adventure in its own right.
We only had to wait for around 30 minutes before our flight, but the aircraft could not take the passengers and luggage, we were told it would follow as soon as possible, this was the first time we had flown without our luggage, but true to their word the luggage arrived after about another hour.
Lily Beach has its own lounge at the sea plane terminal, it was clean, cool and the staff were excellent.
The flight was as amazing as it always is.

we arroved at the island to be greeted by staff and shown to reception where the formalities were concluded and we then were shown to our room, room 201 a lagoon villa.

It was situated almost at the tip of the island near to the Vibes bar ( more on that later)
the room was clean, spacious and well appointed, and led onto a small lagoon, which in turn led onto the reef. the room was excellent, with a four poster bed, jacuzzi bath satellitetv, and tea coffe making facilities.A good start.

The island has three main dining areas, The aqua bar, vibes bar and the main dining area Lily mai, all three offer excellent food and drinks, aqua bar is quieter as children are not allowed, I can recommend all three.
Lily mai is a buffet resturant, but the food was excellent, the breakfasts are pretty much the same every day but is good quality, the evening meal is themed but again excellent quality.

the staff in general are very good, helpful and very enthusiastic, and that includes the gardeners, waiters etc.
I dont know if it was just our room but we had 4 different roomboys over 10 days, which i have never experienced before, you normally have the same person all your stay, room boys 1 and 2 didnt bother coming the first day and on the second day came and left within 5 minutes.
room boy 3 was more up to the work he came at set times and took over 30 minutes to clean and tidy the room, but he changed and we ended up with another room boy who again was hit and miss.

The above may be the reason for my title almost perfect, my wife and I awoke on day three of our holiday to find several large ants in our bed, and a cockroach on our clothes, we reported this to reception who got the room boy to spray the room, all was well until day 5 when I awake at 4 am to find several large ants walking up my legs in bed, the reception staff sent the head of housekeeping who arranged for a more thorough deep clean to be done.
Day 7 seven saw a return of ants and another cockroach to the room, but staff had tried so hard, we didnt bother to mention it again, but these episodes did tarnish the perfection of Lily Beach.
But I must say again that the staff did everything possible for us.

The only other niggle for us, was Vibes bar, on every Wednesday it has a live band from 8pm until 12pm, now I am not old and grumpy but if i wanted to listen to a live band I would have gone to a gig, we go to the Maldives for rest and quiet, we were very close to the bar so it may not be a problem for other rooms but it kept us awake until midnight.

The reef is one of the best I have seen, it was in very good health, snorkelling was brilliant with plenty of variety of marine life.

The island is a perfect getaway, the majority of the staff are fantastic, would I go again, yes I would without hesitation.

Would I recommend it, yes again without hesitation, its on par or slightly better than our favourite island of Athuruga.

Go and enjoy one of the best maldivian islands I have been to.

Room Tip: The odd numbered Lagoon villas have a larger deck area with a seperate seating area, I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    144
    40
    9
    9
See reviews for
225
847
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the minute we stepped onto the island we were amazed at the beauty of Lily Beach, we instantly felt relaxed and calmed by the soothing atmosphere of the island. It truly is wonderful!

We stayed in a beach villa (161) which was perfect for us - dedicated loungers on the beach and close by to all the amenities (literally directly across from the main resturant). I could talk for ages about Lily Beach but will keep it simple!
To take each point seperately:

Food
Lily Beach has the main restaurant (Lily Mai) which serves wonderful food in a buffet style. All Inclusives can sometimes get really boring, but every night had a different theme and there was always plenty to eat and something for everyone. The quality of the food was wonderful and each night you can try a different wine from the cellar or stick to a trusty favourite. You really are fussy if you can't find something to eat.
Tamarind is the A La Carte restuarant which you get 1 free trip per week to visit and it is well worth it. A beautiful setting and beautiful food again washed down with lovely wine or cocktails. As a honeymooner we also received a candle lit dinner on the beach which was truly special and the menu that evening was also fabulous - a real memory to take away.

Villa
We stayed in a beach villa which was just perfect for us. We didn't actually spend alot of time in the villa as we loved the pool areas so much but it was beautiful and looked after so well by Ali our housekeeper who made the room very special one evening with flowers all over the bed and a beautiful hot bath to return to after an evening of food and drink.

Pool
We stayed around the Aqva pool area which was the quiet zone and suited us perfectly on our honeymoon. The bar staff at the pool are brilliant and couldn't do enough for you. They brought us cocktails all day and a fabulous evening snack at 5pm before we went back to the room to get ready for the evening. Each morning the pool looked wonderful with all of the loungers arranged with towels and flowers, really special - its the little things that make Lily Beach so wonderful.

Overall Lily Beach is the perfect honeymoon/holiday destination. It is beautiful with everything you could possibly want. The snorkelling is fab too, try around the side of the main jetty though as we found this to be better rather than the spa side.

The team are brilliant and are a real credit to the hotel - we can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Any room here is good but we liked ours (161) as it was a perfect location for everything - really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I visited Lily Beach for our honeymoon in sep 2012, and all I can was that it was paradise on earth! We stayed in a deluxe water villa which is a must, they have everything you need and have fantastic views, including the glass floor.
All the facilities at the resort are excellent and all staff were polite and helpful. The food at all restaurants on the island was spectular! I can not fault the hotel in anyway, they really made you feel very special and I would definitely recommend this hotel.
If you do visit Lily Beach, be prepared to be amazed!

Room Tip: Chose the deluxe water villa, you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was definitely the highlight of our honeymoon. It is paradise on earth! We stayed in a water bungalow, it was amazing! Be sure to check the location of yours, since some get more sun in the morning and others in the afternoon and also, some have more corals in the water just adjacent and others get more of a sandy area.
Food was good but not incredible, as well as service. Everything else was incredible, including activities (we waterskied, snorkeled and had a romantic dinner in a private island!!), the spa, night club, and of course the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Amazing resort for couples, for honeymoon, anniversary, vacation, whatever. There're nice view, room, Spa, food, cocktail, coral, and all the friendly staff. The most exciting factors are the beatiful undersea world and these three bars with nice drinks and snacks. We spent most time in snorkling and the excllent AQVA bar, and enjoyed it very much. We will choose it again, abslutely.

Room Tip: the beach villas side got the better snorkling environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited Lily Beach in May 2012 to celebrate my 40th birthday. What can I say other than it was absolute paradise. From the moment we landed in Male and were whisked away to their private sea plane lounge to when we were waved off by the French manager when leaving it was amazing! The quality of the good was excellent in all restaurants and the drinks selection was fantastic. The beach was immaculate although the corals werent as colourful as Chaaya Ellaidhoo another island in the Maldives that we've been to. My hubby had to make use of the island doctor for an ear infection after diving and their was no charge for the service even with meds which was a lovely surprise. We stayed in a standard beach room which was amazing with the huge whirlpool bath at the bottom of the garden bathroom. Absolutely had the holiday of a lifetime and hope to return one day soon. Special mention to Joseph in the poor bar - he's a total credit to the island. Only one tiny critisim to make was the wine in the mini bar was awful. I asked for this to be changed but they advised that we would be charged for this which was a little disappointing as we were not asking for wine which was not part of the Platinum package. Think Management should consider accepting these requests whenever made as clearly not all will ask as its not everyone who drinks wine. That aside, we wouldnt hesitate returning to the island once we have saved enough money to do so. It's paradise!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lily Beach Spa Resort is an unbelievably beautiful place to spend a romantic holiday with the one you love.
From the minute you set foot off your boat ride from the seaplane onto the timber pier you are treated like royalty.
we were greeted by a delicious cocktail which continued right throughout our stay.
Food was amazing, breakfast, lunch & dinner.
Staff were more than helpful with special thanks to our waiter Jaleel & front desk supervisor Ashad.
this is a couples paradise, they cater for kids, but don't waste good money taking them!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe water villa, not the cheapest, but very private and felt like your own apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lily Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 20077
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Huvahandhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huvahandhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lily Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
---UNDERGOING UPGRADES--- In the deep blue sea of the Indian Ocean, among the scattered small Islands known as the Garland of Flowers (Maldive Islands) of indescribable nature, Lily Beach Resort is the island - Huvahendhoo at the South East Ari-Atoll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Lily Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lily Beach Hotel South Ari Atoll
Lily Beach Resort And Spa
Lily Beach Resort All Inclusive
Lily Beach Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.