We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our honeymoon....except for the staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Holiday Island Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our honeymoon....except for the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The transfers from Male airport to the island were scheduled well and ran smoothly, when we arrived at Holiday Island it was beautiful and we were really happy. That faded quickly when we tried to upgrade to all inclusive and were told it was going to cost a further $300 more for the week than we were advised in previous email correspondence (which I had a copy with me). The reception staff were very rude and we had to arrange a further meeting with the reservations manager for that evening to get it sorted, and thankfully we did but it still ruined our first day on the island. Having the same table for each meal was great, however it meant having the same waiter, and whilst he was pleasant when he spoke you could tell he didn't want to be there and was just saying standard lines in hope to get a tip. We could see that other waiters were very friendly and joking with other guests so I'm not saying all waiters were like that, but we were just unlucky.

The free transfers to Sun Island was great to break up the holiday, but the price of food and drink is quite high so you wouldn't want to be going over too regularly if you are already paying all inclusive on holiday island.

The beach and water was beautiful and the rooms were clean and had everything you needed (even if they are outdated). We stayed in room 177 which is a good 5 mins walk from reception and main bar but when you are eating so much nice food the exercise is good. These rooms were the quietest and the water was only 10 metres from the doorstep. Whereas on the other side of the island (jetty side) the water is 50 metres from your door, so it really depends if you prefer to be close to main bar or the water.

We hired snorkelling equipment for $20 for the day but the reef off the island is nothing spectacular, a couple of small fish and small sharks is all we saw. So if you are going to go snorkelling it is probably worth paying the extra to go on the excursion. The night fishing was okay but you were just handed a handline and expected to go from there, there was no conversation or introduction to the crew, I'm not sure if they didn't speak English or couldn't be bothered.

As good as all-inclusive is cost wise, you really have to know where and what times you can get access to all the benefits and the fact that the beach bar doesn't serve spirits is really frustrating -only beer.

We got married in Koh Samui the week before arriving to Holiday Island and the people in Samui were so friendly and amazing without expecting anything but a thank you. Coming to the Maldives where no one would go out of their way for you or rarely greet you with a hello. They look at you like you are bothering them before you even asked anything, and once they do their 'job' (nothing nice or out of the ordinary) they would wait around for a tip. I'm hoping that this was just a bad experience with the Maldivian people but I wouldn't be returning in a hurry because of that reason, even though the Maldives are so picturesque it is the people and the service that make your holiday enjoyable in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    159
    55
    19
    21
See reviews for
45
293
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Locarno, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We've been there because we knew the area already and we wanted to do great dives...and we did! Many whale-sharks, mantas and just amazing dive spots! So we were completely satisfy! Concerning the rooms, be aware to have one from nr. 140 to 169! This is the best side of the island. If you land on the back side, you will have a view on Maamigili Airport, airplaines landing very often, and work-on-progress during day&night! Not really what someone expect from "paradise".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hotelplan

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It is a nice resort to stay away from usual world. I was on my honeymoon and 4 days went so fast. Food buffet is good. Drinks are usually expensive in whole Maldives. try to pick a room near main bar or you got to walk 5-10min every time you wanna drink/eat. spa/water activities are expensive. avoid them unless you are a big fan.

Room Tip: try to take room near reception/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We arrived in male at 12, and was at the resort only at 4pm. The transfer time+wait time was longer than our flight to Maldives! So it's a pain in ur lower back to get here. When we arrived-all tired and exhausted it took us almost an hour to check-in though the hotel looked like it was full maybe 10%! Our guy was painfully slow, first he gave us twin bed room instead of double we booked. He can clearly see that we are husband and wife and why he gave us twin is a mystery to me! Then we had to wait for another room for half an hour on the other side of the island( not the one we asked for) -and hotel is empty! Rooms are desperately needing renovation as they are outdated. As there is no escape from this hotel I just hope ill enjoy the nature at least-but definitely not the hotel. At the end of my stay I'll update my review and ask my husband also to post one from different perspective.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Within 20 mins flying time from Male, Holiday Island though rated four star is as perfect a getaway as can be found for those looking for solitude, tranquility and the perfect sun tan. The island is covered by a dense mangrove forest interspersed with coconut palms, in the midst of which are the detached bungalows quite invisible from the sea and cleverly designed for optimum privacy. Quality of food and service is excellent. The establishment is run like a well oiled machine. For those looking for additional activities the Sun Island is a mere 10minutes boat ride away on the free shuttle service which runs three to four times a day. We saw a couple's names on the trunk of a palm tree with years 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014, presumably the years when they have visited Holiday Island, engraved below their names. We are probably going to follow suit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The nicest place of that hotel was the relatively new spa set in a lovely garden. Otherwise it needs a facelift rather quickly. The meal timings were too short and especially breakfast which they only served until 9h30. It was like being in a youth hostel. My stay at that hotel was not relaxing having had to get up early and rushing to breakfast. On top of it our waiter was grumpy and he even told us he didn't like us having breakfast so late. Food was good but nothing to write home about. Water was too expensive! I cannot recommend that place. We did not even see the sea from our so-called beach bungalow. It felt like a rip off to me.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the Western end have the best views. From the others you can see the airport and port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

At times, the island can be dead still, quiet and the warm blue sea and the white sand can make you feel like you are in the most serene place in the world. The shocker is, however, the noise that comes from some construction work on a nearby island or the hotel's diesel generator. Also, the objective of the hotel seems to be to extract the maximum amount of $ from everyone. Ridiculous rates for water. I would advise choosing another island any day. The good points - nice rooms with the open air shower, good food.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, choose a room close to the reception or you'll have a 10 minute walk u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Island Resort & Spa

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Maamingili Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maamingili Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Island Resort & Spa, the rush of time slows. The crystalline seas and soft, sandy shores remain as nature made them, beckoning guests to one of the world’s last unspoiled paradises. Shape your dream holiday at this secluded Maldives beach hotel, where pristine beauty, personalized service and modern indulgences have formed a retreat of unparalleled allure. Explore the underwater treasures of one of the world’s premier dive locations. Sip a cocktail on your private terrace as you watch the sun dip below the horizon. Or simply lounge on the white coral sand and soak up the radiant sun. Escape to this tranquil, wonderfully relaxed choice of Maldives beach resorts, and discover a tangible embodiment of your ideal tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Island Resort And Spa
Holiday Island Hotel South Ari Atoll
Hotel Holiday Island
Holiday Island Maldives
Holiday Island Resort Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.