We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LUX* Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added LUX* Maldives to your Saves list
LUX* Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Dhidhoofinolhu, South Ari Atoll, Republic of Maldives (Formerly Diva Maldives)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 25-35% off + more !!!
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great start to the New Year and Maldives is always a favourite - its coming home to the island life, as it has many wonderful places to stay at, each special in their own right, but recently stayed at LUX* and had an amazing time exploring the Island life. Amazing and friendly team made every effort to assist in making my stay more comfortable - awesome first impression! Rooms was kept clean and the small details that the team did each day was much appreciated as it made a big impact. From room attendant to the Rooms director and Resort manager that introduced themselves and followed up along my stay - was to me a WOW moment when they made the time to talk about culture and cool things to do each day - the team are truly friendly and everyone greets as you walk passed them with a hello or how you doing. Have to mention the fact that I like the quirky items found on the island made it fun to search for (freebies such as cold drinks or fresh coconuts). Especially The mysterious secret bar that changes locations that makes any adult think of the younger days of hidden treasure come alive. The island is bigger than expected compared to those that I have visited - so the complimentary bicycles at every corner are a clever way to get around and stay fit (there is a buggy service that travels the island every 10 minutes if you lazy). Was spoilt for choice on what to do to occupy my time, so most days just sat and enjoyed the terrace looking at the open sea. One day was spent out, exceptional day of snorkelling and chilling on the catamaran (thanks to the Captain and crew for making it so much fun). Yoga early morning is highly welcomed and was superb for getting the day started. From start to finish the resort is Top class and so many reasons to go (my favorite coffee moment was knowing that they roast their own coffee on the island which was a lovely treat a the Cafe). Never a day to go hungry as there was plenty of choice of restaurants. Enjoyed eating at East restaurant most days for breakfast and dinner (as their was a band playing some soulful tunes). Have to mention that Allegria was a treat as I had one night that I tried the recommended Spinach gnocchi dish (so delicious - the plate was left clean). I will be back and will recommend to all. Thanks to all that made the trip so fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* Maldives, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for such detailed review as to your stay at LUX* Maldives. All of your comments are much appreciated and help our team to maintain their motivation in providing great service.

I am truly glad to see that you also got to know the LUX* culture and reasons for staying with us. And, the most exciting thing to know is that you really liked it and enjoyed our little surprises.

I would like to say thank you to you again for staying with us on the island as your pleasant holiday experience is certainly the most valuable reward to all the LUX* team members.

Please come and visit the island again. I am very much looking forward to welcoming you in the very near future, perhaps for a longer stay?

Best regards from the sunny Maldives,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    151
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
337
799
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We got to a bad start from the moment that we arrived in the island, the de a mistake with the times that we were arriving in the island and consequently they booked us at the wrong times with the sea plane, we had to wait for almost 5 hours to get to our destination, the same was in our way back, with the sea plane that we never used n paid for. The internal flight was delayed as well, n little or no information was given at the time... we missed our flight back to Doha.

The chalet itself was wonderful n an idyllic place to stay, the main bar had a fantastic bar n entertainment with an excellent singer, we spend a lot of money there...

The room service was of a very poor quality food/waited a long time n the food arrived cold..
the management compensated this by gives us a bottle of bubbly n one nite free as well, the manager himself was very understanding and helpful that it was a plus..

The weather was good for me as we had some welcome rain n thunder n but not good for my husband as he had to cancel his diving tour due to bad weather, the sky's open from nite time.. so we did enjoyed the weather n the beach during the day.

An expensive trip to be honest but a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: for couples to ask a chalet away from children if you want complete privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* Maldives, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and comments. It was good to know your stay with us had overall enjoyable despite the unstable weather condition.

I am truly sorry for your arrival and departure experience as it did make a great impact on the entire holiday experience. We always remind travel agents that reservations for seaplanes need to be confirmed 72 hours prior to departure. After your experience we once again, communicated with the tour operator and addressed the issue in order to avoid such inconvenience to other guests in the future. Moreover, with the very unstable weather conditions at that time, for the safety, flying with seaplanes was not recommended therefore the domestic flight was arranged upon your departure. I deeply regretted to see that you had missed the experience of flying with seaplanes.

As to your mentioning on the room service, the point you highlighted has been noted with great concern and our procedures have been reviewed in order to better our service and dining experience for the guests.

I would like to thank you once again for staying with us and I am glad that for teh most part you enjoyed your stay. We do listen to suggestions of improvement and I would very much welcome the opportunity to welcome you back so that you may experience the further improved quality of service. should you consider a return visit, please do contact me at any time.
On behalf of all the team members, we wish you all the very best.

Warm regards from the tropics,


Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A wonderful, wonderful place! We stayed at Lux Maldives for 2 weeks at the start of December and had one of our best ever family holidays. Every aspect of the holiday was 5 star. We booked through British Airways and flew direct to Male with a same day transfer to the island. On the island the staff were exceptional, food delicious, facilities excellent, accommodation luxurious....just wonderful. We didn't want to leave. In particular, Aman and Araf at the Island Kitchen, Salma at the Kids Club and Adam and Abbie at Watersports made our holiday extra special.
The only thing travellers to the Maldives should be made aware of (so that they're not shocked) is the problem that the Maldives has with rubbish disposal. Whilst Lux spend a huge amount of time cleaning the beaches and do invest in waste reduction schemes like bottling their own water in glass bottles, there is rubbish in the sea which occasionally gets washed up onto the beaches. I understood from other people on the island that it is often dumped by passing cruise ships.

Room Tip: The 300 side beach villas see the sunset, the 200 side are on the lagoon which is calm whatever the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* Maldives, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I would like to thank you for the review and your comments. It was a pleasure to know that you and your family had spent a good time at LUX* Maldives and our services had successfully managed to achieve your expectations.

I appreciate that you had noted our efforts to reduce the unnecessary waste for the environment, and bottling water on our own is one of the many tasks we have been doing for the past years. As we believe, while we are enjoying the beauty of nature and using the sources from it, it is also our social responsibility to protect and take care of our surroundings in return.

It was good to have you here with us for two weeks. Aman, Araf, Salma, Adam, and Abbie were glad to hear from you here on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your compliments. On behalf of all the team members, especially the ones you had mentioned above, we wish you a Happy New Year filled with joys and success.

Best regards,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lux was the 2nd hotel we stayed at in the Maldives over Xmas 2014. From the moment we got off the sea plane, we were stunned by the beauty of the island.

Mohamed Ali Mamoun - the general manager, was superb and looked after our every need. We stayed on both sides of the island and there is little to choose between either. Food was AMAZING, as was the service.

I cannot rate this resort highly enough. A tremendous holiday and we will definitely return.

Thanks Mohamed!

Mark Wilson

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* Maldives, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for writing the review and sharing it to the readers on TripAdvisor. It was great to see your Christmas holidays at LUX* Maldives had surpassed your expectations. Moreover, it was good to see that Mohamed Mamoun had looked after you during your stay. I am truly glad to have him as he is a wonderful colleague and manager who is always around and makes sure our guests are taken good care of.

Once again, thank you for visiting our resort. On behalf of Mamoun and other team members on the island, we wish you a prosperous 2014 full of happiness and joys.


With our sunny regards,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spend a week in this outstanding resort last july. Our two girls (3 and 5y) had a great time. The island is quite big and there are different restaurants and bars, it´s not getting boring. Our Beach Villa with the great outdoor shower was simply perfect. There are so many small things to explore, so many nice details like fresh coconuts under a group of palms.
It was not the first time that we enjoyed our vacation in a nice resort, but we never had this family like atmosphere. The service was so lovely and helpful, in every aspect outstanding. So i want to send a very big thank you to the manager Mr. Mamoun, he was the guy who made everything possible, and finally he is the one who is responsible for this friendly and very special artmosphere at LUX. We plan our next trip to LUX and we are looking forward to spend some days in this paradise again. Thank You LUX and thank you Mr. Mamoun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* Maldives, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with the travelers on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to see that you are still remembering the good time with us, and the most exciting thing to learn is that you will be visiting LUX* Maldives again, welcome back !Mamoun and I are very much looking forward to the return of you and your family. Please do contact us if we can asset with any special arrangements.

Until soon!

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Trip from 28th December 2013 to 4th January 2014. Room very good (Water Villa on SW tip of the island), food fantastic, bars well stocked, great home-made ice cream at the Lagoon Bar, but as always, a break like this is made (or not) by the staff. We spent most of our days around the centre of the island, on or near the beach by the Veli Bar, Island Kitchen Restaurant and the Island Bar (if we weren't out on one of the many snorkelling trips); we found the staff second to none; we saw many comments to this effect before we went out and found that these were all true. A special mention for the staff at the Veli bar: Khan, Maasud, Sinaan, Zaheer and others, and Hussain and Rafi and their colleagues at the Island Bar. If we had to single-out one member of staff for a positive mention it would be Abbas at the Island Kitchen Restaurant: he is a lovely man and looked after us with great kindness and attention to detail. The Yoga classes were of high standard; the island is very well maintained and kept spotless. The staff are without fail very polite and attentive and there is a real culture of customer service, quality and attention to detail, tat percolates through right from the top, from Mohamed Mamoun, the Resort Manager and Dominik Ruhl, the General Manager at the resort. The resort truly caters for an international audience and there are members of staff at hand from a large variety of nationalities to serve the customers' needs. The island is fairly long, by Maldivian standards, around 1.8 km from NE to SW, which is fine to walk from time to time, but if one feels lazy golf buggies are laid on on a fairly regular basis, on one can hire push bikes; only minor gripe: it took about four days for bikes to becomes available to us. A great trip, great resort, great food, great people.

Room Tip: we had a water villa at the southeastern tip of the island; lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* Maldives, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
It was a great pleasure to have you with us celebrating the year of 2014. Mamoun and I were very pleased to know your vacation on the island was delightful.

Thank you for sharing your review and giving the compliments to our food and beverage team, Khan, Maasud, Sunaan, Zaheer, Hussain, Rafi, and Abbas. From your comments, I could really learn how much you had enjoyed your dining experience with us. It was great to know! Our apologies for the delay in delivering your bicycles. The demand for bicycles over this period surpassed even our anticipation and due to our remote location it took us 3 days to have additional bicycles shipped to the island in order to cater to everyone. I hope that you enjoyed your rides through the island after that.

Once again, thank you for choosing LUX* Maldives to be the destination for celebration. We were very happy to have you here and welcoming 2014 together. May I use this opportunity to wish you a great year filled with happiness and joys.

Yours sincerely,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for a week in August, and loved it. It was my first trip to the Maldives so i do not have anything to compare it with, but I had a great experience.

Rooms were cleaned twice a day, and often creative towel designs greeted us when we returned to the room. There are several restaurants offering a range of cuisine.

I recommend the spa, whale-shark trip, jetski and snorkel trips. We did a deep sea fishing trip which was a waste of money as the actual fishing is all done by the staff.

Room Tip: cant go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLUX, General Manager at LUX* Maldives, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I would like to thank you for giving the feedback and comments and sharing your holiday experience online. I am very pleased to learn your first visit to the Maldives has overall achieved your expectations and that you still remember it fondly several months later. However, I am sorry to hear that the fishing trip was not able to meet your expectations. We usually try to assist as much (or as little) in the actual fishing as per our guests preference but am sorry to hear that the team took over too many of the tasks. The point has been thoroughly looked into and plans for bettering guest experience will definitely be implemented.

Thank you once again for the review. May I use this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year. We remain looking forward to your second visit to the Maldives and to LUX* Maldives in the very near future.

With regards and all the best wishes,

Dominik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LUX* Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Maldives

Address: Dhidhoofinolhu, South Ari Atoll, Republic of Maldives (Formerly Diva Maldives)
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Indian Ocean's Leading Beach Resort', 2014 World Travel Awards and 'Leading Family Resort', 2014 Maldives Travel Awards A luxury resort in Maldives, with 4 km of beaches, charming water villas and a world-class diving centre Above or below the waterline, the Maldives presents a kaleidoscope of colours, flavours, nature and activities that never fails to delight. And LUX* Maldives is no exception. As the only settlement on the island of Dhidhoofinolhu in South Ari Atoll, this luxury resort in Maldives offers real insight into unspoiled island living. A spontaneous atmosphere provides delights at every turn, with anything from impromptu cinema screenings on the beach to pop-up musical performances. The lagoon is ideal for snorkelling and whale shark spotting, while two pools and a spa at this idyllic Maldives resort offer a welcome break from the beach. Follow secret pathways through tropical gardens and taste authentic island cuisine at our numerous restaurants. Wherever you venture at this luxury resort in Maldives, expect to be pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your LUX* Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux* Maldives Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diva Maldives Hotel
Diva Maldives South Ari Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LUX* Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.