We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel... dream island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Retreat & Spa Maldives

Save Saved
You added W Retreat & Spa Maldives to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Retreat & Spa Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fesdhoo Island
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel... dream island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I visited the w madlives on our first year anniversary and it was a honeymoon all over again! Every detail is perfect, the service, food, rooms, faciltities... the rooms were a highlight, the w touches add joy to every day, the suncream, the beach towels, the icecream & refreshments stops on the island all guests are welcome to, the spa... the w is always a step ahead of guests... we felt absolutely loved and special during our stay! I think this will be our holiday of a lifetime!

Room Tip: All rooms are fab... from the water villas to the vbeach villas with pool and chill areas which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferWMaldives, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing W Maldives for your first anniversary, great to read that you had such a fabulous time with us!

Trust we will see you again.

All the best,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    61
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
398
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our first time to Maldives. We stayed 11 days, 10 nights. It can be mind boggling to book a resort in Maldives, so many options. Since we were going to be in an island, service is what set apart a resort from another.
We decided to go with W Retreat, we always liked the brand, and did not disappoint.
The service is very good, warm and personal.

We stayed at the Beach Oasis. Beach front spacious villa, direct access to the beach, 2 levels, main level: bathroom, bed, sofa area, outdoor lower deck (118 square meters) with a plunge pool and a circular daybed, absolute privacy.

42” plasma TV, BOSE sound system, (which my husband loved by playing our own tunes while swimming in our pool or in the beach) complimentary wifi in the villa and all through out the resort, king-sized bed, super comfortable mattress, and pillows.Wine fridge.
Bathroom was cool, it's open roof bath area with standalone bathtub, rainforest shower and Spa bath amenities. (strong blow dryer, and magnifying mirror)

2nd level, double daybed, fridge and BBQ area, ceiling fan, perfect for a siesta and a good book unobstructed ocean views.(this level has sound speakers, too.. you can still enjoy your own music)
The villa has a strong AC and different settings for room lighting.

W Resort is in Fesdu Island, you can walk it in 15 min,from end to end, not once we felt bored. The island has plenty to do, a gym, library, pool table, plenty of table games, the staff organize plenty of activities to keep you fit and entertained, from daily yoga, crab races (hilarious) as well as volleyball and water sports. If you are like us...with a hectic job, we were looking forward to catch on sleep and leisure reading. Find also 6 'sweet spots', complimentary icecream, water, soft drinks and towels.
Food? Good quality and good variety.
Options:
Fish Restaurant open every day, fresh fish, set on stilts, great views.
Kitchen Restaurant. (Great breakfast served every morning, included with accommodation Western and Asian options, from freshly squeezed juice, to all variety of cereals/muesli, to freshly made bake goods. Salads, cheese, eggs however you want them done.... etc, etc.... was very good) Tip: Look for Pastry Chef Phoebe Donko Hanson, she is the culprit for all the temptations you will find at breakfast, if you don't see what you are craving, ask her, she will make it for you, she baked us key lime pie and vanilla cheese cake,for us..... my husband was transported to Florida when he was 8 years old, and his grandma used to make it.... Phoebe totally nailed it.

At lunch and in the evening times 'Kitchen" have a la 'carte menu', including home made pizzas, btw they call it 'flat bread'. The resort organizes theme dinners and theme nights (Istanbul cousine one night... or wine pairing dinners, if you like wine take part, its a good deal ,350$ US. per couple, food and wine included, and the Somali-er Prashan will offer you good options)
Fire Restaurant: Open every other day. Great food, from Indian curries to meat and fresh Seafood bbq, this restaurant is on the beach. Flat buffet rate. Come hungry!

Another option? BBQ in your villa, they have 3 options (American, Mediterranean or Asian BBQ) they will bring the meat you choose for you to BBQ yourself, and whatever side dish.

Drinks? in your room, or at the Pool bar, or at Sip (bar where you can enjoy the sunset, Shisha or also called Hookah, is available). During the day, you can get fresh coconut with a straw right by the beach.

Children younger than 16, not allowed in this resort...truly romantic.

Snorkels and fins are provided for free, at the shop 'down under' just return them before you leave, At the shop they will explain where to swim along the coral reef surrounding the island, this was truly amazing, just put your head under water and be amazed at gorgeous marine life, Fesdu island has at least 4 marine resident turtles, we saw manta rays, millions of fish... and one baby shark... which BTW they are not bother with humans, don't be scared.

Another detail, the resort has a small clinic, the doctor treats you for free, I had a soar throat that was gone in 1 day. :)

We were one of the fraud victims of Atoll Paradise, (the largest Travel Agent in Maldives, they took off with our money and cancel our booking) our original Hotel, just wash off their hands, they just said it was not their problem,we were very frustrated, so since we had no more options than rebook and pay again, we chose W , whom were the first ones to answer our emails to book, when we told Jennifer Buhr the general manager about our case, she was very nice, she personally helped us get info that can help us with our case against Atoll, she also went out of her way to make our stay even more pleasant than it already was, so Thank you very much!
So in summary, we will come again.

Room Tip: Beach Villas, private, direct access to the beach. Quieter than "on stilt villas", special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferWMaldives, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review and for your great comments on our Talents.
We're delighted to know that you had such an amazing stay with us at W Maldives.

We look forward in welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It was a 5D4N anniversary getaway for us and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves here. Opted for full-boarding which included all meals.

The W brand has successfully cemented itself as a brand to go to or at least research on while deciding on accommodation wherever we stay, and we weren't disappointed at all. I would recommend this place again and again.

The W talent made us feel very, very welcomed, highly commendable. Food & beverage served at The Kitchen was excellent. Water, pool and evening activities were well thought out and we had fun trying out different things at different times.

Our resort had private pool, we faced the sea instead of the cove and could snorkel out to sea if we wished to. Very secluded, very private and we fell asleep under the Maldivian sea and stars.

Well done!!

Room Tip: Resorts facing the Sea is better than the Cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferWMaldives, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing W Maldives for your anniversary, great to read that you had such a fabulous time with us!

Trust we will see you again.

All the best,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When flights to almost every where were fully booked during the long weekend holiday in Singapore, we decided to go to Maldives for a relaxing weekend and I am glad we chose W, as the short get-away was just perfect.

The check-in at the seaplane lounge was nice and smooth, and the guests of W are able to enjoy all kinds of drinks and refreshments in the lounge while waiting for the seaplane to get ready. You can make reservations for your activities and meals there too if you have already planned your itinerary, or you can just do it on the island. The seaplane ride was nice, albeit slightly noisy, W has provided guests with ear plugs, but the sound does not really bother me as I (and most of the guests) was busy taking photos of the amazing view outside.

Upon arrival, we were welcomed by the staffs and Jennifer the GM. Anne was the person I corresponded with before our arrival and it was nice that she was there to welcome us. She also made the effort to check with us if everything was ok during our stay and send us off on our departure with a little token from the hotel which puts a nice end to the holiday. Can't thank her enough for all the helps.

We stayed at the lagoon view water villa, it was nice and bright. Nothing much to complain about except there there were quite some ants around. We have to keep rubbing them away when they climb to our bed, and on our arms sometimes, but I guess it does not bother me too much when we are out in a resort. Very comfortable bed like most of the W hotels, the pillow was a bit too soft for my liking but again not a big issue to me. From the villa, we had a fantastic view of the lagoon and the sky. At night if you lie down on the day-bed and off the lights, you will be treated with a stunning view of the milky way (if weather permits).

I was told by the staffs that just before our arrival there were storms for the past week, and I was quite worried when I read the weather forecast that there would be storms during our stay. But we were blessed with fantastic weather during our stay and enjoyed every minute of the day and night. We tried diving and speedboat snorkeling, both were amazing experiences. The staffs at down under were nice and helpful. Our diving instructor Wang (apology if I got the name spelled wrongly, as I forgot to ask how to spell the name), who is from the Caribbean, is very helpful and made sure we were comfortable with everything. We enjoyed our first diving experience very much. The speedboat snorkeling is another must try, as we hopped from one island to another to snorkel in the open sea. It was amazing to see all the different marine lives. The only set-back was the camera during the snorkeling trip. We were given a good camera during our diving tour (a Canon Powershot S95 I believe), but during the snorkel trip we were given some lower end camera (Ixus 120 IS) as compared to the diving trip, although we were charged the same amount. We were unable to capture video during the snorkeling trip and the pictures (when I opened the files at home) were with very low quality (640x480 which is 0.3 mega pixel only!). The resolution is even lower than any phone camera now days. It is a pity, as there were really some good shots but due to the very low pixel I am unable to enlarge them. I believe it was due to the setting of the camera, so hopefully it will be properly set-up before renting to the next guest.

Food was ok, we enjoyed the Kitchen and Fish, but was quite disappointed with Fire. The islands have limited food resources, so my expectation was not that high in the first place. As a serious wine lover, I find the wine price a bit too high compared even to Singapore. Sweet spot is a daily highlight for me, as I do have a sweet tooth.

I really appreciate that the hotel gave me a late check out until 6pm on my departure date as our flight is rather late at 11pm. We also arranged the speedboat transfer to the airport, which was very nice. There are, drinks, snacks and ipads loaded with movies for you to kill the 2 hours ride.

Overall I am very happy with the stay. I think the great services make up for most of the short comings. I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferWMaldives, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review and fabulous pictures shared on Trip Advisor.

It is great to read that you had a perfect holiday with us, I will share your comments with our Talent here at W Maldives! Sorry for the inconvenience during your snorkeling trip, we will make sure this do not happen again in the future.

We really look forward to your next visit!

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and i had the time of our lives at the W. Thank you everyone for making this such a memorable honeymoon. The staff were very attentive to our needs and would address us by name - even the kitchen staff who we had never met. Ill admit that the wait at the W lounge in the airport isnt what you want to do as soon as you arrive - especially if you have to wait for an hour - but you are in paradise and it didnt really bother me. You are greeted as soon as you land at the W by a long line of staff, and someone is assigned to you - they give you a tour of the island - which isnt that big and are then whisked to your room.
We booked a list of activities as soon as we arrived. We did a snorkeling trip, spa treatments, parasailing, deep sea fishing, sunset cruise and booked a coral terrace dinner. We also arrange before we arrived with the hotel to have a photographer come and take pictures of us in our wedding attire as we didnt really get a chance to have a proper wedding. The pictures were phenomenal.
We decided to splurge on our honeymoon and splurge we did! its quite expensive here especially if you want to do a lot of activities. But it was a once in a lifetime trip. The food was excellent - i recommend the oysters with the cherry vinegar and the lobster burger.
Breakfast is heavenly (order some eggs benedict) and enjoy the drinks at the pool or order your own bbq to the room and enjoy the wine bar theyve provided for you in your room.
we stayed at the lagoon view rooms - it was absolute paradise. we took a peak at the club on the island but it was empty as i dont think a lot of honeymooners wanted to go clubbing.
We booked some spa treatments and got to use the steam room beforehand however it seemed a bit rundown to me - there was a broken tile in the middle and rust on the door handle - we filled out a feedback form informing them of this and the next morning at breakfast we were greeted by the spa manager who invited us to a free treatment for 2! its truly a romantic and magical island. I didnt want to leave but we had to otherwise we'd be broke!

Room Tip: if you are booking a room over the water - make sure you book one that is further away from the outl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferWMaldives, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We're delighted to know that you had such an amazing stay with us at W Maldives.

Again, congratulations on your wedding and we look forward to welcoming you for your first anniversary.

All the best,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is on a nice small island. For maldivian standards relatively big. Very romantic atmosphere and nice sea , what ofcourse all the islands in the maldives are famous for. The hotel failed to stand out as the service was ok but not amazing and we felt slow and at times we had to repeat ourselves a few times to be heard.

The food was good but limited and the island felt a little crowded when we were there, especially araound the pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferWMaldives, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing W for your tropical escape to the Maldives. While we're glad to read that you had a romantic and memorable time with us, it is disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations in terms of service.

We hope to see you again,

Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is an amazing hotel on an amazing island. From the free ice cream stations located through out the island to free bug repellent. The pool with star lights that light up at night and the direct access to the beach from the beach bungalows. Definitely go for all the buffet options! The one at fire has all you can eat lobster! Also they had a lunch buffet one day with all you can drink champagne. Also, the BBQ in the room was really nice too, but do it early because the smell will make all the cockroaches come out. They weren't in the room but they were on the deck and eating our soap in the bathroom (which is outdoors) the staff quickly moved us to another room when we called. They also fumigate regularly but I don't know if they can get rid of them. Not sure if this is a problem on the overwater rooms. We were in a beach room. That's the only bad thing about the resort. Everything else was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferWMaldives, General Manager at W Retreat & Spa Maldives, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Fabulous to hear that you had such an amazing stay at W Maldives!

I am sorry to hear about your BBQ experience but I am glad that our team has quickly fixed this issue.

See you again,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Retreat & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Retreat & Spa Maldives

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Fesdhoo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Fesdhoo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Retreat & Spa Maldives 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bi-level beachfront and over-water retreats let indoor and outdoor mingle; roofs with peek-a-boo views of the sky and glass-paneled floors that reveal lagoon fauna below. Privacy is paramount - enjoy your own plunge pool, sundeck, and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your W Retreat & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Maldives
w Retreat & Spa Maldives Hotel North Ari Atoll
w Retreat Hotel Maldives
w Retreat Resort Maldives
w Hotel Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Retreat & Spa Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.