We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good vacation place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beijing, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good vacation place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had a great vacation at this resort with my friends at Oct. 2012
The view sight of this island is fatanstic!Perfect swimming pool is fun! There are two restaurants at this island, one is called "sunrise restaurant", the other is called "sunset restaurant". You can choose one as you place-to-stay at the "sunrise/sunset" time, it's pretty good.
The most impressive thing is the service of the hotel/restaurant, the service people never use any standard service action to their customers, they care each customer individually, I promise you will have the same idea with me about the service once you spend your vacation on this island & resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guests,

Warm Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, Maldives!

Thank you for choosing our resort on the occasion of your vacation in the Maldives and we are grateful that you have shared your experience here. We are very pleased to read that you had such a great time at Olhuveli. Your generous praise of our accommodation, facilities, and service are very gratefully received.

We appreciate your comment which is very important and instrumental for us in our desire to continue to improve and enhance our service and we look forward to the opportunity to once again make your stay with us a memorable one.

Kindest Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    329
    89
    32
    25
See reviews for
169
887
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled in august 2012 for our honeymoon the transfer from male to Olhuveli
Was no more than 50 mins by speed boat where we where given water and life jackets. Upon arrival we were given cold towels and a welcome drinks this was most refreshing. We had booked a double room for 14 nights but due to an error with one of the rooms above they moved us to a beach villa for the duration of our stay Abdulla sorted it all out very quickly for us. This really was paradise the staff was very friendly the food was excellent pasta made fresh in front of you with your choice of filling and spices to your personal taste. Drinks are branded e.g. Smirnoff Vodka if AL you just need to ask. We tried snorkelling and went on a cat with the water sports centre.
And visited the spa twice value for money was good we also had a painting done for us. we did a day trip to the whale submarine and male. fantastic place would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Beach villas are quieter with baby sharks swimming close by for you to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guests,

Warm Greetings from Olhuveli Maldives!

Thank you for your wonderful note. We are delighted that we were able to create an everlasting memory of your honeymoon at our wonderful island. We have communicated your words of encouragement to the entire team at the resort who have conveyed their appreciation to you.

Olhuveli Maldives is well-known among the honeymooners, couples, watersports lovers and also famous for its breathtaking natural beauty; the abundant sandbanks and beautiful beaches not to mention the magnificent sunset.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Olhuveli Maldives for your 1st wedding anniversary!

Warmest Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is the second time on this amazing island that is the hotel. They continue to evolve in a positive way and the service is excellent.
Spa facilities are expensive having a captive audience.
Speed boat trip from the airport to the island (50 minutes) equals some of the rides at Alton Towers!!!!
It is a long way to go (15 hours travel) and other than spa and water sports, main appeal is relaxation and min 28*c. Weather a little unpredictable.
Would we return? - absolutely!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for returning to Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort for your holiday in the Maldives and for sharing your experience with us. It has certainly been a pleasure indeed having you with us at the resort. Guest’s feedback is very much important for us so that we can continuously review and address our quality and services, which will help us to improve our performance and to thoroughly delight our guests all the time.

Once again thank you for your recent visit with us and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

With warm regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This must be the closest thing that there is to heaven.
From the moment you step off the boat onto the Island and are welcomed by the beating of drums by the locals you know this place is different from anything else that you have experienced.
You are relaxed right from the start and it gets better.
The rooms that you stay in are spacious and nothing short of luxurious.
The food on the Island is top class with such a wide variety of choice you really do think you have died and gone to Heaven.
You spend no money here, you just pay your bill when you leave, there are day trips if you want them, snorkelling, diving, you name it you can experience it and you are really downhearted when it comes to leave, but like all good things the do eventually come to an end.
It is an expensive holiday but an experience you have to go through at some time in your life, I personally can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, Maldives!

It gives us immense pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us and have returned with many beautiful and happy memories, further, “This must be the closest thing that there is to heaven” as you have mentioned above, thank you very much for the lovely note indeed. The Chef are glad to have learnt that you enjoyed their gastronomic offerings.

May we take this opportunity to thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our magical paradise island.

The entire team at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort eagerly await your return and look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful island for another memorable experience - relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Warm Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon,and was just perfect. I couldn't of wished for anything better for the start of our new life together.The island was beautiful,like something out of a dream. The staff were very friendly. We had a water villa on stilts in the ocean,they were lovely and clean,the only thing was we had one right at the end,and was quite a walk down the jetty(but a beautiful walk).it had a bath with opening large windows over looking the ocean,also a hot tub on the private balcony with stairs that led straight into the sea. The food in the resturant was ok, it was very large,so didnt seem over crowded. We went with Thomson,and was told we'd get a speed boat to the island-i think we could've swam there quicker,the boat was OLD and I didn't know if we would actually make it! that aside it was a beautiful place,and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are very delighted to read that you had an amazing honeymoon on the whole and found the accommodation, food, staff and ambiance of the island very pleasant. As you rightly mentioned, “The island is beautiful, like something out of a dream”. Thank you very much for your kind compliments. Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your 1st wedding anniversary!

Best Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Upon arrival at Male there is an exhillarating speedboat ride to the resort taking about 45 minutes. Once at the resort we were given a refreshing towel and an absolutely ghastly "refreshing" drink and I did have a doubt as to what else to expect, but generally my fears were unfounded.
After short briefing by the very helpful staff we were taken to our room which was a deluxe room. These come in blocks of 4, 2up and 2 down and are more than adequate. The one big moan was the bathroom which apart from being a bit small had a terrible smell of drains. They tried to cure it with various chemicals but it kept returning and other people said they had the same problem. It then seemed to spread to the whole room.
We did try to upgrade to a water villa but they said the island was at full occupancy. It certainly didnt feel like it and there was always plenty of space and sunbeds available on the beach and around the 2 pools.
We particularly liked the Sunrise pool where Shaun who ran it was an absolute star and the resort is very lucky to have him. They do a great pizza if you fancy something different at lunchtime, although that doesnt form part of the all inclusive deal.That side of the island is very hot though as it does not seem to get any of the nice breezes you get on the other side.
The main Sunset Restaurant was pretty good with always plenty of choices and a special mention to Iman and Azim our brilliant waiters and the 2 charming hostesses who always greeted us with a smile and warm welcome.
We did try the Four Spices Restaurant one night and although it is a very beautiful restaurant the food was dreadful and one of the worst meals I have had for a long time. Other guests we spoke too who had the misfortune to eat there had the same opinion, so I would strongly advise anybody thinking of going there not to do so.
Also we were told that a big plus on the resort was that they did serve premium drinks such as Gordons, Smirnoff, Bacardi etc as part of the all inclusive deal. Unless you actually insisted and watched them pour the drinks though, you were invariably served the local cheap stuff.
Entertainment was pretty dire but thats not what you go to the Maldives for, so it didnt really matter.
The snorkelling at the house reef was excellent with a massive array of sea life and even manta
rays visited some nights after dark at the end of the jetty. The lagoons around the island, however, were almost completely devoid of life and no good for snorkelling.
We went on a couple of dive trips and these were very good, as was the excellent diving school.
Lots to see, Turtles, Mantas, Sharks, Morays etc even a large pod of dolphins swam by the boat at one point. The corals are magnificent.
Overall a very good holiday, lovely,lovely people but I still keep thinking of that horrible smell in our room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort!

Thank you very much for choosing Olhuveli Maldives as your holiday destination, and for your feedback. We are of course pleased that you have enjoyed your stay despite a few things you have pointed out which will be looked into. We constantly strive to enhance our services and facilities.

Moreover, we are delighted to receive your compliments on our team members especially Shaun, Iman and Azim, which will motivate us even more to continuously strive for perfection and to thoroughly delight our guests at all times.

It is our hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

With warm regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The Maldives have always been a dream holiday destination and this resort made our dreams come true!! The speedboat ride from Male to the resort was fantastic.....however Im glad we had to wear life jackets as he went very fast!! We stopped in a deluxe room seconds away from the beach. The room was kept spotless and our room boy made us elephants and Manta rays out of towels. The sea was so blue and clear that my husband spent ages just watching the fish and the baby sharks which swim only inches past him. In the evening we walked to the end of the jetty to watch the Manta Rays feed. it was so beautiful. The resort staff were amazing, so polite and helpful especially Azim our favourite waiter. He looked after us very well. The food was amazing, in 2 weeks we never had anything duplicated.....have come home now to try and lose weight!! We snorkelled daily which was amazing but the best bit for me was the dolphin safari!! 1000's of dolphins out in the Indian Ocean swimming alongside the boats!! It was very emotional!! The resort itself excelled what the brochure had to say about it....and the brochure photos did not do it justice!! We are definately going to visit again....hopefully in 2014 for our 10th wedding anniversary. The only downside we had was booking with Thomson they cancelled the direct flights so we had to fly from Manchester to Dubai to Male and the same on the return flight. It made the journey lengthy as a lot of time was spent waiting around in Dubai airport!! If you are looking at the closest thing to paradise for a holiday then pay Olhuveli a visit.......it won't disappoint!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBSR O, General Manager at Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

Greetings from Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, Maldives!

All of us at the Olhuveli Maldives would like to thank you for your praise of the resort and the staff, we endeavor to have friendly, attentive and efficient staff at the resort. We have communicated your lovely feedback to Azim. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic time at the resort and as you quoted “…and the brochure photos did not do it justice!!”

Further, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed our food and are impressed with our service and to learn that our chefs could tantalize your taste buds with their varied gastronomic offerings at the main restaurant.

As you have rightly pointed out about the abundance fish here at our house reef, the island sits at the edge of the atoll and is privy to spectacular marine migration of big fish and other creatures. The house reef is teeming with multicolored fish and corals and is perfect for a first dive or snorkeling experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our magical paradise on the occasion of your 9th Wedding Anniversary!

Kindest Regards,
Abdulla Thamheed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Olhuveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the tip of South Male Atoll, 34km from Male International Airport is the idyllic Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, famed for its beautiful beaches and abundant sandbanks. The resort is reached by a picturesque 45 minute speedboat journey.Step into your new home for the next few blissful days, and choose between deluxe rooms, beach villas, water villas, honeymoon villas or the presidential suites. Each of the 164 villas have been crafted purely with comfort, relaxation and elegance in mind, taking the classic materials of nature, blending them with contemporary chic and open-air living, intended to make the most of the Maldivian sunlight and tranquil views. A choice of outdoor sunloungers is provided in all villa categories to ensure that guests can soak up the best of Maldives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olhuveli Beach Hotel South Male Atoll
Olhuveli Beach And Spa Resort
Olhuveli Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olhuveli Beach & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.