We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maldives but with a twist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort

Save Saved
You added NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Olhuveli Island
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maldives but with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We travelled in April 2012, originally we had booked a one bedroom water pavilion but since the hotel was still not fully complete we ended up staying in a Deluxe water studio.

We arrived tired and weary from our flight and it was a great touch to have a lounge at the seaplane port. It set the tone for the holiday that we were going to be looked after! Our Thakuru was helpful, he organised a romantic beach dinner with a private chef...sitting listening to the ocean and watching the hermit crabs scuttle around us while eating beautifully prepared food was a highlight.

Food -The food in Tribal was excellent with so much to choose from, I loved the informal atmosphere and being able to pick your meat which was expertly cooked.
Breakfast was delicious, from their famous bircher museli, huge selection of tropical fruit to freshly cooked pancakes and waffles...loved it all! Celcius in the evenings had some good buffets, the maldivian and bbq were the best. The Edge and Subsix weren't open when we visited which was a real shame. Also I loved going to Fahrenheit for sundowners and canapes while watching the heavenly sunsets.

Rooms-Beautifully appointented rooms with lavish baths, housekeeping and maintenance was excellent and quick to rectify any problems. The in room deli and popcorn machine was a great idea for midday/evening munchies.

Pros: The spa is a must,nestled in the trees you can chill in a day bed nibbling on fruit skewers while waiting for your treatment .The spa staff are really helpful and friendly and Jason the spa manager is a hoot to chat with!
Make use of the free acivities/snorkelling trips, the reef further out is stunning and we saw two sea turtles while we went out. The gym and Lair/games room were good, plenty of activities which were free of charge to keep you occupied during rainy showers.

Book a private trip to the nearby uninhabited island, we were 'stranded' there for a few hours with nothing but a seafood platter, drinks and snorkelling gear...magic!

Cons: Since the hotel was bedding in we did have a few teething problems the first couple of days, we had to wait a while to access our room and since the rooms were brand new there were a few issues with the jacuzzi, wifi and electrical sockets. However when management were informed they did sent people out quickly and within 2 days everything was sorted.

Also food at Celcius was a bit hit and miss at lunch time and the pizza oven wasn't working at the time we visited (boo!). Since it was a new resort there were a lot of mosquitos and flies about which were a pain, I'm hoping this has improved as in Huvafen we didn't have any problems with bugs.

I would love to go back and experience the resort now everything has opened and settled in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    25
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
144
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, Herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very excited to be visiting Niyama from all the reviews and marketing we had seen prior to visiting. To be No.1 in Tatler was no mean feat as there are many islands to choose from. We were expecting big things. As our flight was delayed for 4hrs things didn't start so well, but on arriving in Male and being directed to the Niyama Lounge, things began to look up very quickly. The lounge was large, bright, airy, very well appointed and very cool with aircon, drinks, food and an array of reading/ TV material. Alternatively you could kick back on a day bed, or go on the balcony to watch sea planes arrive & depart.

The seaplane took 40mins to get to Niyama and the on-board views were amazing. On arrival we were greated by the management team, cool drinks and ice cold flannels embalmed with Lime, their signature scent. This was a lovely touch and greatly appreciated. Our Thakuru was present to greet us (Shihaz) and we couldn't have wished for a better guide and lovely person. From that moment on every need was taken care of and nothing was too much trouble (more on this later...)

There was no check in or administration, just straight to our rooms on a golf cart that meandered through the well manicured fauna until we arrived at No 47.

The room: We booked a Beach Studio which was the most basic room at Niyama. It was simply stunning. All mod cons, electric blinds, auto aircon & old school fan, Bose surround system, SMEG fridge, decent TV. The doors opened onto our very own secluded piece of beach. We could not see any of our neighbours and within 30 paces you could be in the sea. The bathroom was approached through large doors and what a bathroom. I've been fortunate enough to stay in some really nice hotels, but this was the best bathroom by far. Only the Langham suites in London compared to the size and proportion.

The service all week was second to none. As soon as you told a staff member you liked something, it magically appeared every day which was a nice courteousy, from breakfast titbits to dessert sweets. The food was varied and you couldn't get bored as it changed daily. The food was so good in Epicure (the main restaurant) that we ended up cancelling most of our reservations.

Edge was a luxury approached offshore by speedboat, the ambience was amazing and the underground club sub six was well worth a visit.

Management were always on hand to ensure everything was blissful and we had special praise for Shihaz and Jihad who couldn't be more helpful. At the lower levels all staff seemed pleased to be there and acted like they were working at their dream destination. Many we spoke to had wide experience of other resorts, some very famous ones, but on balance all felt Niyama was the apex.

All rooms were fully booked, but it never felt busy and was always peaceful. The snorkelling in the warm, translucent ocean was great fun and we did this everyday.

If you are looking for laid back elegance, peace and quiet and a place to recharge your batteries, then Niyama will provide it all. If it's action and partying then probably not the place for you.

As a side note, Niyama will remain exclusive due to the price which we felt was quite expensive. However for a first time Maldiv experience we have no reference points to compare.

We would thoroughly recommend Niyama as a must do destination. Bear in mind it's only a year old. In a few years I think many will be priced out, so go now while you can.

Thanks again to our Thakuru Shihaz who made the week the best it could be.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach studio (No 47) right at the top of the island, where it is very quiet with litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

is an amazing resort island i had soo much fun..people were nice are really friendely verry kind everybody. service amazing. food was amazing im not type person who eats everything but the food in niyama was really nice they have everything halal meat and non halal whatever u wish for they have like sandwish shop it was also nice you can have fun at the club relax do watersport well i liked everything is relaxing island was sad to leave it but ill come back to niyama for suree

Room Tip: rooms are niceeee everythinggg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over valentine's day for 10 days, fullboard. The staff were very helpful and funny at times, GM Nigel was nice & professional. The food was very tasty with lots of variety of choices especially the fresh fruits. Water sports was great, we used the jet-ski for 1 hour. Spa was enjoyable, both of us made use if it, we bought Afew products from them. Island picnic was absolutely amazing, we went on a dhoni boat with 3 staff, they even let's us snorkel. Same boat & staff for the sunset trip, we even saw dolphins which was amazing. Overall, great stay, lots of activities, excellent staff and gm, lots if great food AND spend a little more for extra activities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just finished a one week stay at the over water pool villa at the Niyama and had our expectations exceeded. Very quiet with no motorized vehicles except for the electric golf carts the staff use to escort guests and service the resort. The entire island is easily walkable and there are no other resorts within many miles at the far north end of the atoll. Despite there being around 90 rooms, we felt the resort was very quiet and crowding was never an issue.
The rooms were gorgeous and it is hard to beat opening your automatic shades and staring out directly onto the ocean each morning. There was a great large refrigerator in the room with complimentary daily ice cream, coffee, chips and some snacks and unlimited bottled water. Alcohol and food are expensive but the quality of the food was surprisingly good and varied. All the facilities are new and modern. The Bose sound system was nice although we never bothered with the tv. We could snorkel straight from the room, although at low tide it was so shallow you couldn't clear the reefs. Housekeeping provided many nice touches as well. One mild drawback was that the outdoor shower and bath were really nice, but when it rained or the wind blew steong, which often happened at night, everything including the toilet was soaked and showering could be quite chilly. I heard no noise from our neighbors from the room.
On our one rainy day, way played on the indoor golf simulator and nothing was better on a rainy day than their outstanding spa. All the therapists we had were outstanding. Windsurfing was complimentary and there was no shortage of wind. We also tried the f4, which was exhilarating but painful. The overwater restaurant and underwater nightclub are definitely something worth seeing. The gym is decent, but not great and it was a bit hot in there, but provided nice touches as cold towels and cold water. The dive shop was tremendous with complimentary snorkel gear for the stay and great dive masters. Kudos to Brett who held my wife's hand (literally) and led her on two dives after I mentioned her fear of scuba. She had been certified but had a fear of depth and had never made it more than 20 feet before. Our second dive, we went to 100 feet and some a beautiful reef. All of the staff were great. Couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The title says it all good not great it is a five star resort but there are some small things that could be improved upon.
The location is beautiful and on a remote southern atol 40 minutes south of Male by sea plane all good fun if you have never done it before .
The island itself is one of the larger resorts one will find in the Maldives and immaculate with rooms tucked away amongst the foliage .
The bedrooms are large well equipped (sound systems large fridges coffee makers i pads and complementary ice cream)and very comfortable that said the design is the same of any five star hotel one would find in London or New York albeit with a different view. THe bathrooms however are unbelievable well designed big beautiful and outdoors.
The staff throughout the resort are firstly very friendly well trained and always willing to help .The butler service offered by many hotels is the only place I have seen it work ,our butler sought us out every day to make sure we were happy and didn't need anything .The front desk staff in the restaurants are brilliant and engaging and the sommeliers very good and fun to chat to ,do try the wine tasting experience.lastly I must mention the beach bar staff they were good company and fun to be around and Goofy the yoga ,kick boxing entertainer what a man my wife cried when they said farewell a real gentleman who even got me to relax!
With regards the restaurants epicure the main offering is very good with well trained staff ready to help and chefs on site to freshly prepare all manner of dishes.Our view was that the restaurant lacked atmosphere due to its terrible design as we felt it had a corporate canteen feel to it!
Edge is another restaurant a short boat trip away and worth visiting but be warned few venture out and again it's a shame because it effects the overall atmosphere.
Lastly there is tribal which is the best great atmospheres fantastic original and wonderfully cooked food make sure you go at least twice!
The spa facility is very good and all you would expect from a Maldivian spa.
The dive centre one of the main reasons for our visit was well equipped with very professional instructors however if you are an experienced diver I am afraid you will be a little disappointed as the resort has a limited number of sites (which will I am sure improve as time goes on )and only one boat so open water divers dive with advanced and very experienced divers which is a problem.I should state the dive crew persuaded the owd's to stay home and rest on two days and we subsequently dived the better sites and really enjoyed ourselves.
This is a lovely well run island which is due to a very professional GM (Nigel) however I am not sure I would return due to the restrictions on the diving and the modern feel to the island .This was my 10th year in the Maldives and 7th resort visited if you like a modern feel go you will love it but if like me you want a Maldivian feel try somewhere else.
E C D
London

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our 4th time in the Maldives and first time to Niyama. The resort is fantastic, our water villa was spacious and excellent, service was friendly and helpful etc etc. My only main comment is that we came away feeling a bit 'ripped off'. The room rate itself was pretty high, even for the Maldives. However the 'extras' - food, wine, activities etc were to my mind sometimes extortionately expensive and not always that good. Dinner at the fine dining 'Edge' was pretty average quality, it was too dark to actually see what we were eating and the price was more than I would expect to pay for 2 Michelin Stars in London. Buffet dinner in the main restaurant was $80 per head and again only really average quality. We didn't do any trips or activities, but they all seemed extremely expensive. We have stayed in various idyllic boutique island resorts around the world and expect to pay for the location to a degree, but at Niyama I feel they take full advantage of their captive audience. We had a great time but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhuveli Island
Vilu Reef Beach & Spa Resort 4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews Angsana Velavaru 4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 2 hotels in Olhuveli Island, ranked by popularity

Been to NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Olhuveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Olhuveli Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NIYAMA, which opened in March 2012, is Per AQUUM's latest addition to an award-winning resort portfolio. This hotly anticipated resort is turning the Maldives upside down with a plethora of options to get guests active and incite a sense of discovery, stimulation and fun. This exciting new concept is, of course, paired with the natural beauty and tranquility of the Maldives so those who just want to sit back, chill out and relax can do so in style. Try the games simulators, enjoy yoga, tai chi or zumba, kick up your heals at Subsix the world's first underwater music club, or simply relax and watch the sunset from Fahrenheit rooftop bar. Located in the South Western Atoll of Dhaalu, NIYAMA is a 40 minute seaplane flight from the Maldives capital Male'.Innovative dining options include Tribal, which brings a new unique concept to the Maldives. Designed like a modern day campsite, guests sit in specially designed pods surrounded by live cooking stations with dishes influenced by tribes from South America, Africa and Asia. Cooking methods include hot rock grills, asados and open flames. Per AQUUM's Deli-In presents an a la carte menu of gourmet deli items such as ice creams, cheeses, olives, cold cuts and wines all pre-stocked in each Studio and Pavilion. The in-room popcorn makers with complimentary corn kernels add that additional element of fun.Fahrenheit is perfect for refreshing drinks throughout the day transforming into one of island hot spots at night with spectacular ocean and sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NIYAMA Maldives, a Per AQUUM Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.