We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gangehi Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gangehi Island Resort to your Saves list
Gangehi Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gangehi Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The first thing that you have to realise about Gangehi is that it is an Italian resort. For 30 years it has been just Italians who have been visiting but they opened it up to British (and other) visitors in September 2011. For the first couple of days, the overwhelming "Italianess" of it is a bit disconcerting, especially when you have travelled many of thousands of miles to be in the Maldives, but once you start to relax, the beauty and the tranquility of the island takes over.

We had 2 beach villas which were right on the lagoon and just about 50 metres from the reef with its amazing snorkelling. The rooms were recently refurbished and of a high quality as were the bathrooms. The veranda looked out onto the stunning lagoon and the pier where the (sometimes rather noisy) dhonis docked.

The staff are a mixture of Italian and local (with a couple of Sri Lankans) and are all committed to ensuring that everyone has an amazing holiday. The food had a distinctly Mediterranean feel, but with with fresh fish, chicken and beef it was always wonderful. The range of choices will satisfy anybody and the pastry chef worked wonders with a dazzling array of cakes, desserts and home made ice creams every meal. The Entertainments team were also all Italian and were trying very hard to include us in their events, however they did acknowledge that they will have to bring in some better English speakers if they want to develop this market. After a while we realised that being two English couples made us stand out from the crowd and made our stay even more enjoyable. Everyone made a special effort to talk to us and we were made to feel like VIPs wherever we went.

However if you are going to the Maldives you really want good weather, amazing beaches and spectacular snorkelling. In this respect Gangehi has it all. It is such a small island that you can walk around it in just over 5 minutes. The lagoons are beautiful and the reef is easily accessible for even the most basic swimmer. The stunning sand spit threads out from the island like the tail of of one of the many rays that you will see and even at high tide makes for a pleasant walk. At low tide, you can walk for about 15 minutes out into the ocean as you gaze back at the island.

We previously stayed at Komandoo for our honeymoon and my brother and his wife who travelled with us had stayed at Coco Palm a few years ago. We all agreed that Gangehi was a fabulous holiday destination and is definately worth a visit. The food, location and staff are all superb and this was a really relaxing holiday.

Get over the Italian feel of the resort and embrace the fabulous location and you will have the holiday of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are excellent, however some of them are close to the bar. Try learning a few words...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gangehi, Resort Manager at Gangehi Island Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time and writing such a detailed review about our Island. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Gangehi, and most of all we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the good sides of the resort being strongly influenced by Italians. One thing everybody can be sure about is that, if the Italians are happy about the kitchen, then everybody is likely to be :)

It was our pleasure meeting you and we sincerely hope welcoming you to Gangehi again in the future.

With very best regards

Anja W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    124
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
67
359
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a nightmare journey to the Maldives, with cancelled flights etc. I was in tears and knackered by the time we arrived and was wishing we had cancelled the holiday. After sitting for five mins with a welcome drink, the staff instantly made me smile. The staff took us to our amazing deluxe water villa (I would recommend paying to upgrade to this room) and sent some food a drinks free of charge to the room. The view into the ocean is amazing and the attention to detail in the room is second to none. You walk down the stairs into a reef teeming with all sorts of fish.
The resort is amazing and beautiful, I recommend it to anyone, its an experience in itself. Its tiny, you can walk around it in 5 mins but its lovely, quiet and remote.
The resort is mainly catered to Italians but I liked this. However the staff made so much effort to make us feel included. The food was good, a nice selection of fresh fish and meat but it did get a bit repetitive - the chefs were on hand every night explaining all the dishes. On the last night we had dinner in the Thari restaurant, this was very good and I wished we had of gone earlier in the holiday. As we were all inclusive our wine was included and the meal was very reasonably priced. The chef came and found us talked us earlier in the day to plan our meal which was a nice touch. The service in the evening was perfect.

On our last day we didn't leave till 4pm and check out was 10am, so we were moved to a garden villa as one was available, I thought this was a kind touch.

All the staff were wonderful especially the rep who doesn't even work for Kuoni, Raffaella. Without her calming me down I may have went mad, she went out of her way for us. My only problem was Kuoni, they are useless and when we return we will book it ourself through the resort.

This resort is actually better than the pictures, postcard perfect! enjoy x x x

Room Tip: - upgrade your room - the seaplane only operate in daylight so dont book a late flight thinking you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Sat in a rather dreary Heathrow hotel, Gangehi seems a million miles away. I've just returned from the best holiday I've ever had. The island is beautiful and the attention to detail is second to none. We were treated like royalty as soon as we stepped off the sea plane.
We stayed in a deluxe water bungalow which was just beautiful. The reef right outside was teeming with all sorts of fish.
The resort is mainly catered to Italians but the staff made so much effort to make us feel included. The excursions were brilliant and great value for money. Marco impressed us with his knowledge and he made us feel very welcome. He went the extra mile virtually tailoring an excursion just for us.
The food was fantastic - buffet in the main restaurant and the chefs were on hand every night explaining all the dishes. There was loads to choose from. Dinner in the Thari restaurant was an amazing experience. The chef talked us through various options earlier in the day and the service in the evening was perfect. The food was delicious.
The island is small and quiet, never feeling busy or crowded. It's just stunning everywhere you look and the snorkelling was superb.
We loved every minute of our holiday. All the staff were wonderful but special mentions well deserved for Raffaella, Marco, Sealan and Ende (not sure of spellings - sorry!)
We never usually return to the same destination twice but are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Spacious, comfortable rooms. Great, mainly Italian food. There is always fish, meat, plenty of vegetables, salad, fruit. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The Island is beautiful, green and peaceful, the reef is varied and well populated. We saw Dolphins, Manta, turtles, Eagle rays, Stingrays, sharks on the house reef.
We were able to relax in peace, though there are plenty of excursions / activities. The few we tried were really good, the staff making a real effort to make them enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The best advice that I can give is: Go to www.gangehi.com and check the pictures. If you are impressed by the pictures you are going to be more impressed when you arrive. It is even better than as it looks in the pictures.
Staff: very nice and friendly
Food: very very good (good qualty and very tasty)
Room: spacious modern furniture and very clean

If I want to be very picky: bed linen could be better quality and that the resort is very orientated to Italians but staff made all the efforts to understand and speak in English with us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Wir hatten das Glück zwei wunderschöne,ruhige und erholsame Wochen auf Gangehi zu erleben.Dies war unser 4-ter Malediven Besuch.
Insel:
Die Insel hat durch ihre "kleine" Grösse einen enormen Charme und Flair und ist stets sehr geplegt. Das Personal ist sehr,sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit, ja sogar herzlich, ohne dabei aufdringlich zu wirken.
Küche/ Essen:
Die Küche war einfach fabulös. Geschmachklich eine Freude sehr Abwechsungsreich und hat unsere Erwartungen übertroffen.
Getränkepreisen:
Die Preise sind für maledivische Verhälnisse i.o. und fair. Klar, etwas teurer als in Europa, aber wer nicht gewilt ist, das zu bezahlen, soll zuhause bleiben.
Bungalows:
Die Bugalows sind sehr geräumig und geplegt. Zwei mal im Tag kommt der "Roomboy" vorbei und schaut zum Besten.
Wir hatten ein Water Deluxe Bungi. Zugegeben...äussrerlich nicht das Vorzeigeding aber drinnen..einfach der Hammer! Wenn man mal keine Lust hat an die Strandliegen zu gehen, ist die Bungi Sonnenterrasse einfach herrlich. Privatsphere pur.
Tauchen:
Das Tauchcenter "Albatros Top Diving" wird sehr professionel und kompetent geführt. Das ganze Diveteam macht aus jedem Tauchgang ein wunderbares Erlebnis. Das Equiment ist auf dem neusten Stand und perfekt gewartet. Irgenwie haben sie das Motto "Tauchen bei Freunden" denn man wird vom ersten Tag wie in einen Freundeskreis aufgenommen.
Fazit:
Wir haben uns so richtig wohl und aufgehoben gefühlt. Fast so wie zu hause.
Obwohl wir uns die Regel aufgesetzt haben, immer wieder eine andere Insel zu nehmen, so werden wir wohl bei Gangehi eine Ausnahme machen und kommen wieder.

Herzlichen Dank für die schöne Zeit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberentfelden, Switzerland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice little Island for a relaxed holiday.
Most guests are from Italy and therefore most people on the Island speak better Italian than English.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gangehi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gangehi Island Resort

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Gangehi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gangehi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gangehi Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gangehi Island Resort is an ideal place of stay for travelers seeking privacy and comfort of luxury resort in one the most wonderful reefs in the world. This resort is situated within easy reach of the Male airport only 20 minutes. The hotel also offers a pleasant stay with the graceful and stylish villas as well as a gourmet Italian cuisine. Guests can enjoy the main attractions of Maldives diving to see the manta rays and whale sharks. The resort offers guests a wide range of activities, including spa, massage, fitness center and water spots (non-motorized). Shop, bar/pub, room service, laundry service/dry cleaning, restaurant are just some of the facilities of this property. Gangehi Island Resort ensures great hospitality throughout your stay with the efficient service and wide array of features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Gangehi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gangehi Island Hotel North Ari Atoll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gangehi Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.