We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit but definately not the last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu to your Saves list
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu
4.0 of 5 Resort   |     |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First time visit but definately not the last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had an amazing five days at Coco Palm - right from the moment we arrived in Male the attention to detail was second to none. I've travelled to a lot of places in the world but this is by far my favourite. The level of service was just amazing! The whole place just has such a relaxed feel to it. The food was absolutely perfect as was the weather the accomodation. We flew British Airways direct to Male and were whisked away upon arrival to the seaplane port on the other side of the airport. Checking in for the resort was done in the nice air conditioned Coco Palm lounge before setting off on the 30 minute sea plane ride to paradise. The accomodation was oustanding clean and spotless and they had nice little touches each day. All the staff were really really friendly always with a smile and a hello ! Razi from the Cowrie Resturant looked after us from the word go - Top Man. The entire five days felt like you were on your own Island ... quite simply the best holiday I've ever ever had. Really didnt want to leave (it all seems such a long time ago now ... sigh) I'd like to recommend Angel Fish Travel who made the whole holiday seamless and stress free ..Till the next time !!

Neil Judd/Julie Hollingsworth-Judd

Room Tip: Had to move from Room 10 to Room 4 as I struggle with my walking but we were asked for a move and go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host D, Operations Manager at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Warm greetings from Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment of your stay with us at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu.

I am very happy to hear that our associates had been very welcoming and you had such a memorable experience for your holiday from the moment you were received to the time you left.

Thank you for your loyalty and please do not hesitate to contact Peter or myself when you wish to return it will be our pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation’s arrangements.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan

Jonathan Payne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    154
    58
    17
    11
See reviews for
65
651
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having missed last year we have returned to C/P after two years, wondering what if anything had changed. Booked with Destinology as was the best price at the time,and received very good customer service from Paul, have travelled previously with Hayes and Jarvis and Kuoni.
This time we flew with Qatar from London Heathrow via Doha, with only about 40 mins to spare to get through passport control etc which worked out fine and means you not having to hang around at the airport, having previously flown direct with BA and Thompson and Emirates via Dubai this was a very comfortable flight, and our second favourite next to BA, no delays, good comfort in seats and good legroom, would definitely recommend.
On arrival at Male, we were whisked away to the private C/P lounge where we given nice cold drink and awaited the seaplane, we did have quite a long wait this time.
On arrival at C/P we were welcomed back, Island was still as stunning as always, although there is a lot of sandbagging which is more prominent at this time of year due to the changes, this never bothers us as they are working tirelessly to protect the island, they do not want to put in a sea wall as they want to keep it natural.On arrival at our Beach Villa there was a wooden sign with
our names on instead of the number and a bowl of fruit and champagne which was lovely, thank you to Peter.
We had excellent weather as normal one thunderstorm in the late evening, as repeaters we ate in the Cornus restaurant on the beach for breakfast, which is fabulous, eggs cooked how you want by the chef, fruit, juice, muesli, pastries etc, we also ate in there during the evening having giant prawns ,lobster, pad tai etc, lots of flavour and although expensive was very good, there is the Cowrie buffet, the largest restaurant and although we didn't eat in there this time other travellers did and said it was excellent.
We ate in the Conch bar where you can get Club sandwiches, Salads, Fish Tempura, Pasta etc.
Night Life which is as expected in paradise is Low key, and wouldn't want it any other way, staring up at the gorgeous night sky full of stars on the beach drinking a cocktail, they did have Maldivian dancers one evening, and Cinema night on the big screen.On the 22nd April which is our wedding Anniversary, is there Earth Day where they plant trees, corals, and collect any rubbish etc., that washes up in the sea, members of staff and tourists alike lend a hand on this day.
We saw previous members of staff again hello to Raazi and Anas and a new Island Manager Peter, thank you to all of you for making our return once again so special.

Room Tip: Do need to check at different times of year as island changes so much, sand etc, so what is a good r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host D, Operations Manager at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Warm greetings from Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment of your stay with us at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu.

It is very pleasing to have such valued returning guests such as yourself returning for a fith visit and that you appreciated some of the touches for returning guests such as the personalised name plaque with champagne & tropical fruit upon arrival.

I am very happy to hear that our associates had been very welcoming and you had such a memorable experience for a special occassion and holiday.

Thank you for your loyalty and please do not hesitate to contact Peter when you wish to return it will be his pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation’s arrangements.

Kind Regards,

Jonathan

Jonathan Payne
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Having worked solidly including most weekends since February 2012, we needed a holiday where we could completely relax, get sun on our backs, eat well, and with no pressure to do anything we did not want to. CPDK ticked all the boxes completely from the moment we arrived until the time we left 2 weeks later, we have no complaints. The food was excellent, fresh, well prepared and never bland. The staff always went out of their way to make our stay a good one and the manager of the island was always at hand if there were any issues. We were in the Lagoon Villas and the the feeling of euphoria never left us, surrounded by warm sea, soft warm clean sand, Manta Rays, Sting Rays, Sharks, Dolphins, Turtles and a plethora of wonderful colourful fish and sea life that will live with us forever. We highly recommend this resort

Room Tip: As with all the Maldives it is not cheap and there are always hidden costs, even if you are 'All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host D, Manager at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of Coco Palm,

Warm Greetings from Dhunikolhu!

We thank you for your beautiful comments in trip advisor and glad you enjoyed your 2 weeks with us. i have shared your compliments with the team and everyone of us is happy to hear from you.

We look forward to welcome you back to our little paradise soon.

With Kind Regards

Peter D'souza
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ok so its taken a while to write this review ... and why now ... cos we're thinking of going back again for our anniversary so we thought it was time to add our views to the many others on this magical island. We've already been back in contact with Angelfish travel - who recommended the island and did such a fantastic job making our honeymoon really special

We visited Coco Palm in November 2012 flying in from India rather than directly from the UK. The island is more traditional Maldivian than some, but all the more authentic as a result. From the minute you arrive you know you're being treated as special - and we were amazed how many of the staff knew who we were / what room we were in so quickly over the first couple of days.
They pay great attention to detail, not just in the rooms and in the shared areas but with how tidy they keep the island regularly sweeping paths and the private beach areas. We loved the natural side of the island ... and we've still got the recyling bag they sent us home with in our kitchen as a regular reminder.
There are many trips you can take (at a cost) but dont miss the "little things" they also offer, like the trip round the kitchen garden with headchef Pong (which is actually a trip into the centre of the island you just dont know is there where the staff live), or the beach cinema (curled up on a beach lounger together sipping cocktails under the stars). Without a doubt the ultimate trip is the private island - which you can have for a night or a day - we had the most amazing day, king and queen of our own personal paradise !
Ok so this is an atoll and there is sea erosion. The island (all of them) changes shape on a seasonal basis and the team are doing their utmost with natural optoins to minimise the impact to their guests, but "the tide stops for no man". The current beach bar was once the lagoon bar, need I say more.
That said the beaches are amazing and we have pictures that look just like those glossy brochures you think someone airbrushed to perfection. The near shore snorkelling (they loan you snorkelling gear for a deposit, so dont waste your luggage allowance) is fantastic, we always see something different when we snorkel each year, this time we swam with a turtle 20 yards from our room.
We were recommended half board which, with the selection at breakfast and amazing evening meals, was more than ample. There is the conch bar option if you want a snack at lunch (though its not cheap) and there is the a la carte restaurant or beach bbq/pagoda options if you want to push out the boat in the evenings - and memorable experiences they are too.
No money is needed on the island but you could end up with a nasty shock at the end of your trip if you dont keep an eye on drinks and other expenses - not that we're complaining, just be aware.
It was nice to be invited to a guest reception on the beach (return visitors, honeymooners etc), and we were stunned when Peter (the General manager) introduced himself and knew not just who we were but all about our trip in India before coming onto the Maldives - fantastic personal touch.
Thanks to all at Angelfish travel for their recommendation, making it simple (patiently answering all our questions) and for making sure it all went smoothly.
We cant wait to go back :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host D, Manager at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of Coco Palm,

Warm Greetings from Dhunikolhu!

We thank you for your beautiful feedback in trip advisor! rightly said our staff is our biggest asset and everyone here strives to take care of our guest with utmost care and details, i have shared your feedback with the team and everyone still remembers both of you and so do the local guide who escorted you to our local village trip.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and please do not hesitate to contact me for anything for your next visit.

With Kind Regards,

Peter D'souza
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Felt welcomed from when we meet the Coco Palm rep at Male airport for our 9 day stay. Our first trip to this part of the world, and all our expectations were met or exceeded. The room and restaurant staff, and all those working around the resort were very friendly and efficient.

We considered the food in the Cowrie buffet restaurant outstanding, and for us half-board was more than sufficient. We drank the 2 litres of 'Coco water' provided each day in our villa, and were happy to pay for more at dinner, plus a few drinks and glasses of wine. There was a wide and different variety of dishes each day, ranging from spicy local dishes to more 'english' roasts.

We did not try the spa, and there is no swimming pool (hence average ratings below). However no swimming pool is needed with the white coral beach gently sloping away, and the sea lapping almost up to our villa. We had snorkeled previously in the Med, but this was something else, which different coloured fish almost wherever you look, and different experiences each time we went - early morning, afternoon, evening. It is awesome to see the edge of the reef and the deep water beyond after swimming out as little as 150m.

For the first time I tried Discover Scuba Diving, a 2 hour session (+ video intro), finishing with a dive to 10m and exploration of the reef. Staff were very professional and friendly, and I would now like to do more...

We treated ourselves to the 'night on a desert island' and really enjoyed being "cast away" (with emergency mobile phone!) Again very well looked after for our evening meal and breakfast. Our only criticisms would be that we could not eat all the BBQ of seafood, fish and meat, and that we would have liked longer on the island!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host D, Manager at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest of Coco Palm,

Warm Greetings from Coco Palm Dhunikolhu,

We are glad to hear from you and thank you for such wonderful comments in trip advisor. i have shared your compliments with the team and all of us are excited to hear from you and happy that you enjoyed your first holidays in maldives with us.

Congratulations on your first scuba diving! thank you for highlighting our picnic island and i am glad that you enjoyed your overnight experience cast away on your own.

We look forward to welcome you back and serving you much better!

With Kind Regards,

Peter D'souza
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

WHAT A PLACE !!!!
Its paradise,the entire honeymoon was fantastic from start to finish.The staff were better than sensational,each member of staff was kind,helpful, lovely,attentive,friendly.The service they provided was first-class.
The island its-self is the most beautiful place I've ever experienced.
The white sand, the clear blue lagoon, the wildlife, the sunsets, sunrises. the entire island is beautiful.
The food in the cowrie restaurant was amazing and the chefs are all so lovely and kind, Loved talking to them all :)
The live station was great to watch, all fresh ingredients and produce used.(you can tell) the taste is so fresh.
The waiters are wonderful and have a fantastic memory.
We enjoyed every second of this trip and we were looked after every step of the way, from Male airport to sea transfer to the island and then departure.
The snorkelling was amazing for me (1st timer) saw some amazing fish,sharks,squid,rays and turtles.
The lagoon villa Room 90 was amazing, clean,tidy,air-con was amazing :) plunge pool was wicked. the view from the room was fantastic. Well worth the money.
All in all its 10 out of 10, me and my husband loved every second.
Defo a recommend and hope to return in the future :)
Thank you coco palm Dhuni Kolhu and all staff you made our first holiday the best.

also....
Angel fish travel were fantastic from start to finish and all staff worked so hard and I'm so grateful for their hard work Thank you all :)
Mr and Mrs Locke

Room Tip: lagoon villa 90 was amazing, pretty close to sunrise view ;) magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host D, Manager at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Locke,

Warm greetings from coco palm dhunikolhu!

We thank you for your wonderful comments in trip advisor and we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your first holidays with us, i have shared your your compliments with the team and everyone is happy to hear from you.

We look forward to welcome you back to our little paradise.

With Kind Regards,

Peter D'souza

Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Never written a review before,but this holiday justifies one!!!!
This was our first maldivian holiday and we obviously wished to make it as perfect as possible,so i must pay the highest compliment to all of the staff at Angelfish travel,who gave us superb advice regarding resort choice,timings of the holiday,and a very hands on approach throuhout the build up period as to flight details and lots of info as and when requested,knowing that they were just a call away even when on holiday was very reassuring,so thanks one and all.
The resort as you will read from others is a magical island with a beautifully kept beach,and lovely winding paths joining the villas to the main restaurants and bars,the snorkelling was fantastic,albeit like many maldivian reefs a little sparse of corals close in,but this is a natural problem that is being addressed,and they hope to have the reef back to its former glory within a few years,that said the selection of fish on show was very impressive,and if you swim out a few meters to the reef edge then its really great with lots more fish and many more corals.The staff are very courteous,and attentive,the beach bar for sunset beautiful,and the manta ray snorkel trip a must.
We had just 7 days ,5 in a deluxe villa and 2 in a lagoon villa(do this if only for a couple of nights).
We are returning next year ,probaly for 10 days, and already looking forward to it.
THANKS coco palm,and THANKS ANGELFISH

Room Tip: we loved villas70 AND 71 great beach access and private.and the lagoon villas 95 AND 97 were far eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Host D, Manager at Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Valued of Coco Palm,

Warm Greetings from Dhuni Kolhu!

We thank you for your wonderful feedback in trip advisor and thank you very much in choosing coco palm for your first holidays to maldives. we are glad you enjoyed your holidays and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Since the arrival of our inhouse marine biologist on board we have taken some important steps in restoration and maintaining of our surrounding marine life. i have passed on your compliments to our team and all of us happy to hear from you.

We look forward to see you soon

with Kind Regards,

Peter D'souza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu

Address:
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Dhunikolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhunikolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beauty of the islands that make up the Maldives live up to all that has been written about them. The blue lagoons and dazzling white beaches fringed by swaying coconut palms challenge the scope of any camera, and Dhuni Kolhu is said to be the most stunning of them all. Located in Baa Atoll, 124km from Male’ international airport, and easily reached by a 30 minute seaplane flight or a domestic flight followed by a short speedboat ride, Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu captures tropical magic in abundance, beautifully balancing the island’s bountiful vegetation with the resort’s architectural charisma. Inspired by the flourishing sea life and local customs, the resort has been built in harmony with the natural environment. Guests have their own luxury villa, either dotted among palm trees offering peaceful tranquility or on stilts over the lagoon, with spectacular views of the ocean and nearby desert islands. Wood, rattan and cotton furnishings complete the picture of laid-back tropical elegance. The 32 Beach Villas, 25 Sunset Beach Villas, and 27 Deluxe Villas have a Maldivian charm and paradise appeal, whilst the 12 Lagoon Villas offer a refined experience of exclusivity and indulgence. The 2 Sunset Lagoon Villas feature the height of luxury with a separate bed- and living room, Jacuzzi, and wide sundeck with private pool. There are two relaxed bars and a choice of tantalizing dining options, both indoor and outdoor under a canopy of Banyan trees. For the more adventurous, Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu has a variety of Uniquely Coco experiences on offer, including private overnight stays at a near-by deserted island, snorkeling excursions with the resident Marine Biologist to swim with Manta Rays and Sea Turtles, sandbank picnics, scuba diving, island hopping, and sunset fishing. Relaxation can be found at Coco Spa where guests can experience Asian-inspired treatments or participate in Yoga lessons at the beach. Creatively conceived and superbly designed to blend into the natural environment, Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu is the ultimate authentic Maldivian hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu Hotel Baa Atoll
Coco Palm Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.