We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocoa offers everything you can wish for with a friendly smile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoa Island by COMO

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cocoa Island by COMO to your Saves list
Cocoa Island by COMO
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cocoa Island, Makunufushi   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cocoa offers everything you can wish for with a friendly smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

It was our first time in Maldives and we just loved every minute we spend on Cocoa Island! We were searching for a small romantic island that offers pure relaxation and definitely found it on Cocoa! Our travel agent and the many reviews on TripAdvisor draw a beautiful picture of the island so we expected something special – yet it was beyond our expectation!

Transfer & Welcome
We were greeted at the airport by the ever-smiling Zara who guided us and another couple to the speedboat where we were refreshed with scented wet towel and bottled water. The transfer by boat took about 40min and although the sea was quite rough it was enjoyable. We were greeted by the manager Felix on his day off (!) and could enjoy a fresh coconut drink while checkin – what a perfect welcome, we felt at home right away! On the way to our dhoni suite we were guided to have a look at the whole island with spa retreat, dive centre and restaurant/pool area. Cocoa Island is very small but wonderfully designed so that it was a great joy to walk around every day. The staff members clean the beaches and every spot of the island so that you can always enjoy the pure white sand under your feet while wandering around.

Accommodation
We stayed in the Dhoni Suite first and moved to a Loft Villa for the last 3 nights.
What a wonderful idea to use the design of the traditional Maldivian boats, it’s just beautiful, couldn’t get enough of this sight! Dhoni Suites are very light and friendly, a combination of white and dark wood, very nice design. Beds are very comfortable and come as twin or kingsize (ask for your preference when booking). The living area is not too big but was more than enough for us, loved the day bed indoors! Complimentary fresh fruits and lots of bottled water every day, great with coffee making facilities! Private terrace with 2 comfortable sun beds, umbrella and sitting area…sun all day, direct access to the lagoon and perfect sunset view. There is a spacious bathroom with all you need - loved the spa products, Cocoa flipflops and the soft comfortable bathrobes!
In the Loft Villa the bedroom is upstairs with an extra bathroom and kindsize beds. Living area therefore bigger, very spacious with nice couch area. Very elegant design with dark woods, big window front to the terrace. We loved the huge terrace with a kingsize sunbed. The main bathroom downstairs leads to an outdoor shower area which is just a wonderful experience, and with direct access to the lagoon! Overall the Dhoni Suite was our favourite – smaller but lighter and cozier.
We heard that the One bedroom Villas that are located on the one end of the long row of villas are very nice as all rooms on Cocoa but that there is little water left around the villa when it is low tide.

Restaurant/Bar
Excellent!!!! We booked halfpension with breakfast and dinner which was enough food for us with the fresh fruits in the room as snacks during the day. It`s “only” one restaurant but it`s all you need!!! Many dishes to choose from for breakfast, plus buffet with pastry, breads, cereals, joghurts and lots of fresh exotic fruits! In the evening first-class food à la carte: halfpension includes a starter, a main course with side dish and dessert, plenty of food! The menu varied and there were theme menus 3 times during our stay (thai dinner, seafood bbq, indian dinner)! Everything so delicious and it definitely is not getting boring! We didn`t try the mediterranean dishes on the menu but had a lot of seafood and regional dishes plus the wagyu steak – best quality and highly recommended! Service was first class also – friendly, attentive and very skilled…loved to hear the origin of dishes and to get recommendations about wines fitting best!
The bar offers very nice cocktails that come with some snacks and it is the best place to relax when the sun went down and your evening starts! Try Bombay Smash and Kiwi Daiquiri…so good!
There is room service of course if you prefer to have your meal in privacy and they set up private dinner on the beach too but we preferred the restaurant! The room service is not offering the same range of dishes and it was a bit too windy during the time of our stay for us to really want a private beach dinner! But it looked very romantic how they set up the tent surrounded by lamps! ;) Anyway you can be very private in the restaurant and it was such a cozy atmosphere with a brilliant view over the swimming pool out to the sea – it was amazing, loved every meal!

Services
Excursions - We didn`t book anything but they offer lots of trips if you are searching for some activity
Dive center – You get snorkeling equipement that you can keep for the whole stay! Even dioptric googles if you want! Great instructions on where to snorkel…that gave us some breathtaking underwater experiences! We heard that the reef is supposed to be one of the best in the Maldives!
Sunbeds - Lots of sunbeds and umbrellas on the windless part of the island close to the swimming pool. Great service, as soon as you choose your spot a staff member comes to offer you fresh water!
Spa area - a beautiful spot on the island! Very relaxing just to go by! There is the yoga pavillion (complimentary yoga classes in the afternoons), the well-equiped boutique and of course the spa retreat. They offer a wide range of massages and treatments by very skilled and friendly therapists! Tried it, loved it! Had our spa day exactly when it was raining, perfect timing! Also enjoyed the hydrotherapy pool and steam room, and a perfect way to relax afterwards with a hot ginger tea! The gym is small but modern and has everything you need for a good work-out!
Library - Great with the library of books in different languages and the opportunity to borrow DVDs.
Laundry Service – brilliant in case you need it! We did and it was super-fast!
All guest services – You can`t wish for more! Every staff member was very helpful and efficient in fulfilling every request…very fast and always best service!

According to a couple who travelled to several islands in the Maldives before Cocoa Island really is the best place to stay and very hard to beat! As first-time visitors we can`t compare but for us, Cocoa Island was the absolute paradise – the scene with the turquoise ocean with fishes in all colours and the perfect white beaches combined with the top quality service and friendly faces of the staff is something we`ll never forget! It was a wonderful experience in every aspect…everything we dreamed of and even more!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    43
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
95
628
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We came to Coco Island from Singapore to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The location is lovely, with a large shallow Lagoon, incredibly clear blue water, and decent reefs available for easy snorkeling directly from the room. The resort is small, with only 30 or so rooms, well maintained, spotless and clean. Snorkeling gear is mostly new and well maintained, and given for use during the stay. Soaps, lotions and poitions were of excellent quality, and water was plentiful and included in the accomodation. The staff were uniformly kind, courteous and willing to go the extra distance to meet our needs. Spa services were very good, with a good variety of choices of treatment. Dinners were excellent, with a good variety of choices and an excellent Seafood BBQ one night. We had scheduled a tented dinner for a night but the weather did not cooperate, so it was cancelled. The staff were very apologetic and brought us a special aniversary cake and did their best to make that nights dinner special. The next evening, we showed up and lo and behold, they had taken the initiative to set up the tent and serve us our anniversary dinner. My wife and I have traveled extensively, and stayed at many places in many countries. Cocoa island would have to rate as one of the best places we have ever stayed. This is due in no small part to the Manager, Felix. He greeted us upon arrival, touched base frequently during our stay, and came out to say goodbye. As our flight was late in the evening, they moved us on a complementary basis to another beautiful room, so that we could wait in comfort until the time to depart in the evening. Felix was modest, crediting his staff fully for the excellent treatment we received. But it was evident that he was relentessly prowling the facilities, ensuring that everything and everyone was up to par for the guests. Inevitable in these reviews is the question of value. Its not a cheap place, food and drinks tip the scales on the high end, but at the end of the day, you get what you pay for; a beautiful, peaceful, well serviced resort with strong and attentive management and staff, in one of the most beautiful places on earth.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

to say cocoa island is paradise would be exactly correct.

my husband and I had been travelling in India for 3 weeks and we had covered more that 2000 kilometers travelling through the north and the south of the country and the highlight of this trip for me was our visit to the beautiful cocoa island resort.

this is an extremely small island with a HUGE heart. Upon arrival at Male Airport we were whisked seamlessly to the jetty to embark on on of cocoa islands yachts where we were greeted with cool towels and water and smiles. The best welcome we could have imagined.

The trip to the island was breathtaking but it was when we reached the island itself that my jaw hit the deck.

We were welcomed by name by Felix who is the General Manager of the Island but I just stood paralysed as I looked at the pristine white sand and the turquoise sea..... this was enough for me I could definitely say they could have laid a towel out on the jetty at that point and left me there.

However, we were greeted with a drink and a fabulous welcome, as if time had stood still and was not an object to worry about any more. Felix made us feel as if we were visiting for the 100th time.

Our water villa was spectacular and I have to say that we had decided from the begining NOT to do as we usually do and go for the biggest villa we could afford but to choose the most reasonable villa and it was delightful in every aspect. It was clean, it was bright, it had a beautiful bathroom and most importantly we were above the water and our first sight every morning was of the sea.

We were told immediately about the snorkelling equipment and were shown where to get kitted out and every day after 1.30 when the tide was high we snorkelled to our hearts delight straight from our beautiful villa down the steps and into the reef.

The food was spectacular, the service in the restaurant was above 5 stars, the breakfast was unbelieveable, you name it they had it and NOTHING was a problem.

The service all round was above 5 star without giving you the feeling that somebody was watching your every move so you never felt uncomfortable.

Dress was totally casual and you could really stay in what you wore in the morning and dine the same way in the evening.

The spa services my husband tells me were unbelieveable, he had massages and said that he was shocked at how good they were as he always says Thailand is the best place for a massage because they are not only good but reasonable but he did not make one grumble about the price at cocoa island he said it was worth EVERY penny.

Within the spa area there was a water spa with every conceivable type of water massage including this enormous TAP which gushed water out and massaged your neck area, you have to try it!!!

Cocoa Island although small has everything, even this amazing sandbank that comes up in the afternoon and allows you to walk for 20minutes and when you see people walking along it it is as if they are walking on water.

There were honeymooners, couples and young families which should have combined to make a fabulous mix, unfortunately 99 per cent of the people kept to themselves and were not overly friendly in fact the honeymoon couples were the friendliest occupants so you have to go to Cocoa Island and make sure you love the one you are with!!! But to go to this type of place you would certainly be in love with your partner, maybe even fall in love all over again.

There is a lovely little boutique, and although some things are lets say on the higher side of the price, what do you expect, you are in a very very exclusive place and the quality of the merchandise informs you of this as does the quality of the staff. I must say at this point the staff in the boutique were fabulous and showed me loads of discounted kaftans which were exceptionally beautiful so you can even get a great deal if that is what you want.

We took the option of a sunset cruise to see the dolphins at play..... we were not disappointed and we felt blessed that we were able to come and see this wonderful sight and to be blessed to go to one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen in my life and we have seen many many beautiful places.

Thank you to Felix and his wonderful staff for making our stay on your beautiful island so very very perfect, we cannot wait to come back....... I would still sleep on the jetty!!! but failing that a villa will do perfectly well.

Oh, a word about room service...... the quickest I have ever had and beautifully presented.

Thank you once again xxx

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This was out first time to Maldives. We decided to try Cocoa Island Resort after reading all the positive reviews here and we were not disappointed. The resort is very homey and beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, we had our own butler (Jaya) who is excellent and made our trip so comfortable that we seriously didn't want to leave.... EVER!!

I highly recommend this resort, every picture you take will look like a true postcard.. out of this world.

There is only one restaurant here, however, the food is excellent and the chef is very accommodating to any special request.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

wow! So, Beautiful and so nice resort in Indian Ocean. Excellent Hotel,..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This place is exceptional - it's really hard to pick fault with anything.

Location - 45 mins from Male Airport. The transfer was very smooth and easy - the perfect intro after a 10 hour flight.

Staff - very, very friendly and helpful - excellent.
Felix the manager was very good and was a pleasure to talk to.

Food - the Indian, Sri Lankan & Maldivian dishes were superb. Very fresh & tasty. The western food whilst good, was not in the same league. Some of the salads were surprisingly innovative and would not be out of place in a fashiobnable restaurant in London, Los Angeles etc.
The fish is amazing - I ate it twice a day.
The FB tariff is tolerable due to the quality, although if you enjoy eating - you may put on a pound or two!

Diving - the DM's in the shop were excellent - French, Japanese and Maldivian. Friendly, helpful & made diving a pleasure. The house reef near the over-water bungalows is the best I've ever seen so close to accommodation - morays, hundreds of different fishes etc. Very, very nice.

Accomodation - the beds were so comfortable, we slept like hibernating bears. The rooms (Dhoni Suite) were tastefully decorated - you feel like you are in The Maldives - not Bali or some James Bond baddie laire with uber high tech design.
TV and DVD was easy to use. Lavazza coffee machine was tempermental - this is surely the "Betamax" of coffee machines since Nespesso achieved world-domination with coffee cartridge machines?
Bathrooms were great - girlfriend happy with all that stuff.

The other guests?
- largely European couples who kept themselves to temselves - to the extent of not even wanting to say "hello" - this is not a resort that makes being sociable easy.
- Brits, a group of Japanese business men on a dive trip - with their girlfriends, not their wives ;) & a film crew on location made up the rest.
The bar is nice to hang out, but a combination of making cocktails from scratch and the slow pace of the barmen - it can take 20 mins to get two drinks !! We would have spend more time (and money) had things been a little snappier.

Spa - incredible.....blew me away. Very good treatments and the therapists are from otrher COMO properties in Bali and Bhutan.

A wonderful holiday - we had a fantastic time. It really is a special hotel - perfect for a celebration, honeymoon or just a bit of r"n"r away from colder climes.

Go if you can.

PS. NO MOSQUITOES either !!!!! Not a single bite in a week.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We have been travelling to Cocoa Island Resort for quite a few years and have decided to choose another destination as of now. The resort is supposed to be the top resort of the Maldives, and it probably is. However, in comparison to (for example) the Aman hotels around the world, they just don't get it (except the rates). There is no sense of true hospitality, the staff shows a lack of impeccable service, and overall, there is a "Sheraton/Hilton hotel chain" kind of vibe around the place. There seems to be a lack of investment in maintenance (noisy generators, old AC systems) and the interior decoration of the rooms and public spaces is more suitable for Holiday Inn kind of hotels. In terms of decoration and design, our room could have been anywhere in the world. We guess the place misses a "heart", and therefore guests may not feel at home. In the long run Cocoa Island Resort should really upgrade itself to a much higher level in order to attract visitors willing to pay the top-end room rates.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cocoa Island by COMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Island by COMO

Address: Cocoa Island, Makunufushi
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cocoa Island by COMO 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cocoa Island by COMO is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 27 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Escapio, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cocoa Island by COMO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocoa Island by COMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.