We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Kani

Save Saved
You added Club Med Kani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Kani
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 2051, 2051   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great for relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We thought we would try club med thinking we would want for nothing. Lovely island and the majority of people were helpful. The food was good, however the menu rotates weeekly so if you are there for more than a week you will see the same specialty.
Great place if you enjoy everything done for you.

Entertainment is fun, but starts late, not that we were in rush, but if you eat early and don't drink a lot there is little to do. We were on our honeymoon, and it should be relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    864
    308
    58
    35
    21
See reviews for
247
684
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have stayed at Club Med Albion Mauritius before in a beach suite and it was amazing! I think we expected the same from Kani seeing as the over-water bungalows are also rated 5 trident and we were quite disappointed.

First of all I would like to say that the Maldives are absolutely stunning and it should be on everyone's bucket list. We stayed in a over-water bungalow for seven nights. The experience of staying right on the water, going out for a early morning swim/snorkel right from your room (bring your own snorkel gear, the coral and fish up to the break from the suites are amazing), chilling on your little deck, the view from the bath, seeing the rays and sharks beneath and having breakfast with the most amazing views was an unforgettable experience that we will always treasure.

The resort however did not live up to our expectations at all. First of all we booked a year ahead and our only requests were an end of jetty bungalow and a late check-out. On arrival we were informed that we could get a end of jetty only for our last two days and that the resort was full. If we book a holiday so well in advance we most certainly expect the room we requested!! They also said that they could not confirm a late checkout seeing as all the rooms were full. For the late check out they moved us to a club room nr 1. If this room category suits your budget, please look at other resorts seeing as it was horrific! Very noisy from the beachbar and reception and your neighboring rooms. You can even hear the people talking in the room next door! The shower is tiny with only a curtain and afterwards the whole bathroom is flooded.

Secondly the food was not average but actually terrible. The menu at Kandu is the same every second day and at the main restaurant they mainly cater for the masses of Asian guests. I expected a lot more seafood and on the odd day that they had, you were only allowed to have two tiny prawns!!! Is this 4 trident??? The alcohol that they use in their cocktails and at the main bars were low quality. Even at Manta lounge they didn't have all the premium brands as expected.

The daily snorkel trips are wonderful and we saw the most amazing sea life from sea turtles to sharks, rays and every possible kind and color of fish. We also went on a deep sea fishing trip and it was lovely seeing all the islands from the ocean. We caught a Sailfish and a Barakuda, fantastic experience. Due to the masses of Asian guests, you have to do a swimming test for every activity in which you would like to partake. Your test for the snorkel for example doesn't count at the kayaking. The resort should look into this as it is very time consuming to stand there and wait for everyone to pass the test before anything can begin.

If you want to get away from the crowds, go and enjoy the beach at the far end of the island, they have a beach bar there as well or otherwise chilling on Manta' day beds are lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent a week in a water bungalow, zone 5T. The bungalows are very spacious, clean and luxureous. You have a mini bar, nespresso machine and breakfast in the room in complementary. You have your own terrace a step to the lagoon, life jackets are in the room. Next to champagne and delicious appetizeres in your own lounge you can enjoy all the facilities of the club (zone 4T) on the island. Food is excellent with a broad choice: italian, continential, indian, chinese and japanese. House wine is complementary but for a normal prize (30 Eu) you can get a nice bottle (pinot grigio...). The atmosphere is very relax, the GO very nice. Shows were good (we loved the diva show), crazy signs energetic. Club med is always a little like being at home (comfortable and cosy). We planned this holiday for our 20th wedding anniversary and enjoyed every minute of it. Thanks to Kiki, Miranda, Stephen, Kannie and many more for again making this an unforgattible trip. Just don't forget your mosquito stick at home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Totally cool. However food could be better especially at the Kanda restaurant. Remember to bring along a tube of insect repellent & mosquito cream/balm. I was bitten quite a bit on the leg as I was wearing shorts quite often. It was really itchy, keeping me awake at night. The hospitality is superb.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have many opinions for Club Med Maldives. Firstly, All staffs are excellent in service mind. Now we miss one Japanese staff - Aya. Here located in good location. All rooms are very close the sea.
I think the best room in Lagoon suite is the room number 123, it's in the best view point. But anyway there're somethings I don't like, the first, an extra bed is too small...it's very bad. Another one is all food are distasteful (I think especially for Thai people).

My suggestion is you should prepare some electronic cars for using as transportation in your hotel because we have to walk very far from the room to the lobby.

Room Tip: All rooms are very close the sea. I think the best room in Lagoon suite is the room number 123, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We’ve been to Club Med Kani for our honeymoon (03.2009).. And it was like a dream, the island was beautiful..Gorgeous colours, awesome view…You feel like you were in heaven…Club med Kani is one of the best place for an exceptional vacation and also Maldives is a place that everyone must go once in a lifetime..Everything was perfect..
The GO team was excellent, do everything for your happiness and comfort.. Food was perfect, especially sea food and also wine :) Many thanks to Rasheed for making our meals special with his big smile.. And I have to add that I could not forget the massage time :) This is my first Club Med experience and I'd recommend Club Med to all couples.
Thank you so much Club Med for a wonderful, amazing, unforgettable honeymoon.. We sincerely hope to see you all again one day :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Club Med Kani as a group of 6 families with children (7-10 years). Everthing was simple, natural and well organized, as expected from Club Med. The island is just an hotel, Club Med, as in all Maldives islands. It takes just 30 min to walk around the island, surrounded by white sandy beach. The sea, especially under water is amazing. The trees, flowers, etc, a real piece of heaven. The transfer from the Male airport is convenient. Just 30-40 min boat ride.
The rooms are simple, functional, evertyhing in place. We stayed at 2 connected rooms. Having enough space both for children and parents is great.
The food was great, any time of the day :-) Especially the dinners were very good. Different dishes from different cuisines, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Italian and European. Even it is self service open buffet, chefs are preparing fine dining level of dishes.
The hotel is missing a kids club or similar facility for kids. But if you are a group, like us, and kids have their friends, there are many things to do for them. They let you to enjoy your time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Kani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kani

Address: PO Box 2051, 2051
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Kanifinolhu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kanifinolhu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kani 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Kani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kani Hotel North Male Atoll
Kani Club Med
Club Med North Male Atoll
North Male Atoll Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Kani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.